Ctrl C + Ctrl V
Difference Btn A Mechanic…
And A Makanika.
Mechanic;
Generally presentable. Has a clean rucksack with handy auto-tools. Asks the matter with your car. Opens bonet,connects a diagnostic kit as he checks out the engine with recommendations. Quick trouble-shoot. Diagnosis, prognosis, and estimated cost. Asks for go-ahead to fix. Does a short testdrive with you once done, and guides on how to mitigate the problem in future. Sends you a related link on WhatsApp.
Makanika;
Has a black oily coat,that was originally blue.A 3/4 dirty jeans and black trouser poping at the ankles. Walks with an old pliers and ‘tester’ bulb. Claims he repairs ‘all vehicle makes and brands’ and yours is the least expensive of them all.
Spots you approaching, as you park,he shouts “Hio ni sensor ya gearbox inawachilia. Nimeskia ukikuja”
Signals you to open bonet, dips his head in,and begins ordering instructions;
“Kata reft! right! right kabisa! indicate left! akisha gari!Dim! Weka newtro! Kanyaga brakes! indicate reft!weka hazard!Brakes na usiachilie!”
You try to interrupt him in vain.
He then pops his head from the bonet, spits some petrol he’s sucked, licks his index finger raises it in the air, and declares “pia fuel pump imeenda hii!Ata sijui vile umefika apa!”
Then he calls out a ‘young intern’ wearing an oversize (but abit cleaner) dura-coat kabuti.
“Kiarie! Nipatie twerof haraka!” (spanner size 12)
At this point you physically intersept,close the bonet and tell him that all you wanted was your wipers changed.
He starts a laid-back search in his oily coat, before finally removing a quater cigarette (he had saved) lights it up,puffs and points you with it and asks
“Bona unanibebaga kiufala ivi I say??bona hukusema ni wiper?Ntakuitia Oti wa wiper, lakini hako kalabour nimefanya wee jua vile utaniangalia…”
what i do…is i have like 3 mechanics…i have them all do their diagnosis…
juzi benz yangu ilikua ina miss-fire…mekanic mmoja akaniambia gear box ikona shida… i later logged into a benz forum, was adviced to change my plugs…i bought the plugs at ksh.500 each…and had my mech replace them… the miss-fire stoped, and i paid labour ksh.500.
As you are leaving Kisumu on your way to busia mekanika pia wako, hao husema hio tire yako ya mbele left haiko poa, usipite airport kama unajipenda! Steering arm au bearings zina shida.