Magoha Forces Teachers to Collect Garbage in Front of Students

Education CS George Magoha on Friday November 6, 2020, expressed his disappointment with the pathetic state of Langas Primary School compound in Eldoret, Uasin Gishu County when he arrived at the institution to assess its level of preparedness.

The visibly irritated CS forced teachers to collect garbage and clean the school which had been littered with dirt.

Students, who were in classes at the time, had a rare debacle as they watched their teachers deal with the embarrassment.

Magoha reiterated that the hygiene of any school was paramount especially with Grade 4, Class 8 and Form 4 students continuing with their studies ahead of sitting national exams.

[ATTACH=full]332594[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]332593[/ATTACH]https://www.kenyans.co.ke/files/styles/article_inner_mobile/public/images/media/Langas%20Primary%20School%20Eldoret.jpg?itok=LMrHTh77
Magoha at Langas Primary School in Eldoret, Uasin Gishu County

The CS further warned cartels colluding with headteachers and officials from his Ministry to frustrate the government’s Ksh 1.9 billion desk project.

He disclosed that school heads were splitting and diverting deliveries meant for public schools.

The medic issued them a 24-hour deadline to reverse the processes they had undertaken.

“I want to warn them in public during daylight that every desk meant for public schools will go to the students in those institutions.”

“For those teachers in Migori County, who are colluding with some of my officers thinking that they are smarter than the government, I want to give them 24 hours to rectify,” Magoha warned.

On September 11, he stated that the government instituted various risk mitigation strategies against corruption in the project.

The CS is expected to revise the academic calendar and syllabus to protect students from having a whole year.

The process will also ensure no student repeats a class and will also prevent double intakes.

this behavior is uncalled for. instead iyo hasira apeleke kwa bibi amuonyeshe how much of a bully he is kwa bedroom. totally uncalled for

Magoha is a bitter man.

siwes clean

Colonial mentality

Siwezi kufanya hiyo ujinga mbele ya students. I would rather be fired

He should have dealt with those in charge of supervising schools. His action undermines the authority of the teachers.

Hii si kazi ya mwalimu

Magoha is a bully from birth, you can’t change him. Lakini those seats really bother me, these kids will have bad posture and hunchbacks in future because they have nowhere to rest their young backs. :frowning:

That’s much better than the ills our youth go through…if you make it from here you actually deserve a Gold Medal! :mad:

[ATTACH=full]332660[/ATTACH]

Yaani hadi there are cartels colluding to make money off of desks? Ata watoto hamtaki wasome??

Enyewe Kenya isn’t likely to change for the better any time soon.

that’s the Kenyan way of doing things.
we are all cartels in one way or another.
some deal with billions, others with thousands.
and its one of the reasons we will subconsciously note vote any “good” leader.

Kenya Union of Post Primary Education Teachers (KUPPET) Uasin Gishu Secretary General Elijah Maiyo has challenged President Uhuru Kenyatta to fire Education CS George Magoha.

Maiyo was speaking in reference to a viral video in which Magoha was seen insulting the County Director of Education Gitonga Mbaka.

He further demanded an apology from the CS in an incident where he (Magoha) ordered teachers to pick rubbish at a school as children watched.

“It is embarrassing for the CS to ask teachers to collect rubbish. The mess was there because there is ongoing construction at the school.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7tit6acTnj8:11

“We are asking the CS to issue an apology immediately, failure to which we are going to seek legal redress because it is unbecoming for a man of his stature to refer to an Education Director as a fool,” stated Maiyo according to Citizen TV.

“He insulted the County director in front of students, parents, teachers and visitors. This is wrong, and will not be tolerated,” he added.

Magoha faulted the official for the poor state of the school during his tour of the region on Friday, November 6.

In the video that made rounds online, Magoha is seen reprimanding the grey-haired senior citizen before dismissing him.

Mbaka tried to respond to the Cabinet Secretary’s query on the matter noting that the issue would be handled and report prepared.

“I am not talking about a report, I am talking about what is here on the ground,” Prof Magoha retorted.

While at Langas Primary School on the same day, Magoha asked teachers to collect garbage around the school arguing that hygiene was paramount especially with Grade 4, Class 8 and Form 4 students in school.

Education Cabinet Secretary George Magoha has responded after a video of him insulting a senior education official went viral online attracting backlash.

A report by Daily Nation on Wednesday, November 11, indicated that the CS had affirmed he would not be changing the way he does things because of the video.

Magoha reiterated that his job entailed protecting children and parents and that he was ready to step aside if he was not meeting that goal.

“Nobody should be surprised at how I do things. I was in KNEC (official)… I made things work and now I am here to protect the interest of the parents and children…If I cannot do that I have no business being here,” he stated.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7tit6acTnj8

The CS also took the time to speak on cartels that had reportedly infiltrated the Education Ministry.

“If you have 30 schools in your area, and by the end of the month you have not visited even 10, then you have no business getting your salary. Those who implement policies must conform or I will make them do the job.

“We need to give justice to the children and government that is spending colossal amount on them,” he added.

His response came a day after Kenya Union of Post Primary Education Teachers (KUPPET) Uasin Gishu Secretary General Elijah Maiyo challenged President Uhuru Kenyatta to fire the CS.

Maiyo demanded an apology from the CS in an incident where Magoha was seen insulting the County Director of Education Gitonga Mbaka.

Magoha faulted the official for the poor state of the school during his tour of the region on Friday, November 6.

In the video that made rounds online, Magoha is seen reprimanding the grey-haired senior citizen before dismissing him.

Mbaka tried to respond to the Cabinet Secretary’s query on the matter noting that the issue would be handled and report prepared.

[li][ATTACH=full]334220[/ATTACH][/li]While assessing the government’s desk project in Yumbisye Secondary School in Kitui Central the CS regretted the incident where he was captured insulting a County Director of Education. on Friday, November 13, he responded to PSC’s decision to delegate his duties to his Principal Secretary Dr. Belio Kipsang.
[li]Magoha has dismissed the withdrawal of his human resource authority by the Public Service Commission, insisting that only President Kenyatta can issue such an order.[/li]
[li]
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7tit6acTnj8
[/li]
"I thank all officers within the education sector for their diligence and continue to persuade the few who are left behind to join us in delivering for the Kenyan child as a team.

“Unless otherwise directed by my appointing authority, I shall continue to perform all my duties and responsibilities with zeal and commitment and ensure that all officers in the Ministry of Education perform their duties for the benefit of the Kenyan child, parents and all education stakeholders,” Magoha stated in a statement sent to newsrooms on Saturday, November 14.

"I would like to state without any fear of contradiction that in my life, which is not very young and not very old, I have learned that nobody is perfect.

“If anybody has seen a perfect person, you should tell me that person. What drives me is practicing Christianity,” the CS stated.
He further advised all public servants and Kenyans to undertake their duties with zeal and passion. Magoha added that God should be the center focus of any endeavor anyone sets their eyes on.
“What I want to tell you and those who have seen us elsewhere is that if you have a job to do please ensure that you do it and you do it in a timely manner. Once you have done your best leave the rest to God,” Magoha said.
PSC Chairman Stephen Kirogo addressed the circular directing changes in the Education Ministry to the chairpersons of Public Universities Councils and copied to the Head of Public Service Joseph Kinyua on Friday, November 13.
The PSC chair noted the commission was exercising its powers of protecting public servants against undignified and unwarranted attacks, reiterating that the execution of delegated authority is designed to foster public confidence and maintain the integrity and dignity of the public service.

Reports alleged that President Uhuru Kenyatta was not impressed by Magoha’s conduct and is also dissatisfied with the way the CS has handled school disruption due to the Covid-19 pandemic.
[/ul]