Luther et al, the Nation Media Group, Alex Madaga and the Stupidity of the Native Africans

(WARNING: LONG READ - SLOW SUNDAY)

You know the story of the late Alex Madaga, who was buried yesterday in Vihiga.

According to the moralising but intrinsically hypocritical, populist and outright mediocre Kenyan media, the late Madaga died of professional negligence. To wit, hospitals both public and private refused to admit him, either because they did not have the capacity OR because those accompanying the unfortunate sod did not have the money to make the requisite deposit.

In consonance with the media, the general public has been railing against hospitals in general, and the private ones in particular. Hospitals, the stupid Kenyan-African mass says in between breeding like rats, should not ā€œprioritise money but always save lifeā€ (sic!).

This is exactly why the African, including supposedly educated journalists, will always remain in the Dark Ages for years to come. It seems, to me at least, that most of in this sub-species are unable to fully conceptualise and process an issue, and to pro-offer credible and sustainable solutions. Instead, finger-pointing, scape-goating, superstition and allied ujinga ndiyo zenu. Oh, and breeding like rats.

In the case of Madaga, consider the following:

Private hospitals are PRIVATE enterprises established fully for the benefit their investors, shareholders AND PAYING PATIENTS. Just like hotels, media groups, farms, factories, schools, kiosks, supermarkets, etc etc ad nauseum.

How come when you get hungry in the CBD you don’t just walk into a restaurant and demand for food? Would the NMG entertain you for one moment if you walked into their reception and asked for free copies of the DN, Business Daily and The East African (total cost: Sh200)?

To establish a basic HDU/ICU with four beds costs about Sh50 million. A patient there directly costs a hospital at least Sh10,000 a day. Yet the same NMG that cannot give you papers worth Sh60 wants a hospital to admit a random patient who gobbles up bedspace worth Sh10 million. A restaurant owner will lament how hospitals have become profiteers but he cant feed you with free sukuma and ugali (worth all of Sh40) even if you were dying from hunger.

Get it idiots, PRIVATE HOSPITALS ARE EXACTLY THAT; PRIVATE.

When you were passing your stupid Katiba guaranteeing everything free under the sun, THAT DID NOT INCLUDE PRIVATE BUSINESSES. TAFADHALI!!

Now, is that to say that the poor late Madaga should have been allowed to die? NO!

Ideally, he should have had medical insurance. Public health services should have served him better.

Well…

Medical Insurance = Personal responsibility.

Better Public Health Care = Greater Investments.

A good starting point to stop other Madagas from dying is to do away with this the bullshit of free this and free that. Let people take health insurance and PAY for health services to enable greater investments in health.

Otherwise I, and all other private health care providers, will still turn you away, ukakufie hukoooooooooooooooooo---------------------->

Because, if you didn’t know it, MIMI SI MAMA YAKO.

Am in business. Just like NMG. And The Standard. And Citizen. And Kanyari.

13 Likes

Guka uko na private clinic eeh? any way it sounds inhuman but you are most likely correct

Bookmarked.

Phweeks! Let me go and grab some lunch before I require treatment or admission to hospital due to hunger related complications.

it is sad inhuman but its true

I have an enduring interest in healthcare

Hapo Guka umeongea kama Tu-Guka kumi.

Crude but sadly on point…

Damn cold but factual… I guess he’ll get a free coffin

You served the truth, cold. Its hilarious

@FieldMarshal CouchP are you getting angry as you age? I thought people calm down as they age. the height of their anger being middle age.

Unaanika mtama hivi kuka?

word. people open businesses to get money to feed their family

Mabs and TM, you know what irritates me the most? The media will like you believe that private hospitals have a special duty to keep random strangers alive, a duty that does not somehow apply TO THEMSELVES.

So, when kids are dying in Turkana of hunger, for example, the Intercon has the right to throw perfectly good food down the chute, but ngoja one accident victim awe turned away even for very good reasons fom St FiudMasho Maternity, Dento, Obs/Gyn & ENT Inernational Clinic in Githurai usikie maneno

I concur with everything except the repetitive phrase, even to a boring extent, breeding like rats. Human life is not equal to rat’s.

Guka, straight to the point like an arrow.

Private hospitals are exactly that: private. I have, on occasion, stepped into some of them and the one enduring question in my mind always is: kwani hawa watu (the owners/shareholders, that is) wana pesa nyingi kuliko serikali? If not, how then are they able to afford all the quality facilities for their clients while gov’t seemingly cannot (or won’t)?

On the issue of medical insurance, spot on yet again. I’m quite a kawaida guy and so, in my free time, you’re more likely to find me interacting with jua kali fellows fielding all sorts of questions from them. My friend, I can tell you for free: NHIF, the most basic of health insurance for a Kenyan, is a tough sell. People have such huge misconceptions about the whole (health) insurance thing that often, educating them feels like I’m teaching those basic business education lessons I was given on insurance way way back in primary school. But I try and win some over. It’s not easy. To some extent, the recent rolling out of ā€˜free’ (well, NHIF pays for it) outpatient services for their contributors has helped.

Thirdly, though I myself work in healthcare, I’m not a great proponent of free healthcare services. There’s nothing free about it by the way, someone (the taxpayer, obviously) eventually picks the tab. Kenyans, for whatever reason, do not value free services (gov’t issued condoms -Sure -anyone?) and often there’s the issue of quality to contend with. Like right now the rolling out of such services at no cost is obviously going to see a deluge of patients. Did anyone anticipate that and therefore hire more healthcare workers to cope with the numbers? Your guess is as good as mine. There’s a study that was done by some (British, I think) that compared how people value free vs. subsidized healthcare services (I don’t quite recall which country the study was done in) and the results were eye opening: where antibiotics and other drugs were given for free patients did not bother to complete the dose. But where a nominal fee was charged, sometimes as little as 20cents, people valued it and ALWAYS finished the dose. The reason? There’s a direct personal cost to them plus they value it, having paid for it.

Fourthly, for quite a while now, services at health centers and dispensaries have been free. Has anyone done any comparison of the state of affairs before (when they charged rather nominal fees) and after (when all’s free)? I guarantee you you’ll be shocked by the level of deterioration and regression. Another thing: this free maternity program (the MoH actually reimburses the charges/costs incurred). Find out from a gov’t hospital near you when they last received these funds. While at it find out, too, when they last received funds for the NHIF-funded civil servants outpatient medical scheme. Utashangaa.

15 Likes

Very informative read Dagitare

The situation in public hospitals is simply refusal of authorities to equip and hire personnel. One thing people dont know about the elite is that they dont care about the health of the poor. After all the poor are vermin who do not deserve to live at all.
While those 300Million shilling radiotherapy machines are two in a country where cancer is an epidemic, the government has money(1.2b) to pay fictitious golden-berg companies in your face. money to bail out non performing companies(1b) run by thieves rather that prosecute and repossess. money to pay water bills(1.2b) as if there was no one liable for the bill.
The truth is: its not that leaders are poor managers, they just consider the common man a subhuman and they have no interest in poor man’s prosperity. In fact, the worse it is for the poor the better.
It is funny how people look for salvation in the devil

Your rant against NMG is unnecessary. Other media houses asked the same questions if not more stupid questions.

There’s a lot and I repeat, A LOT, that’s going wrong and that I could write but it’s all out in the public domain. Some I can’t write without looking over my shoulder for the rest of my life. And so we soldier on and when we feel like we can’t take it any more, we don’t fight the system. We leave.