Shida ya hii gari ni moja tu. Mkifika mwanaume nne, mnakuwa suspects at every police roadblock
Peugeot partner
I understand your point but we have a fleet of about 27 and they used to do Mombasa Nairobi route. Trust you me that engine can not take that long continuous journey everyday without over heating. But generally it’s a very good car. But hata ukanipea bure siezi taka. Sitaki urafiki na polisi.
I have a VW Passat Turbo Diesel. A very nice car. You just need to fuel at reputable stations, otherwise utachange hio engine. Power and economy ziko juu-est.
If its overheating, there is something you are not doing right.
…how much was the cost of acquisition…n what its consumption?
Not just one vehicle but a fleet of 25+
Really depends on driving style. If your style is pedal to the floor, and you regularly do long distances, even your petrol engine will complain. Case in point; prior to michuki rules in 2003, the biggest issue among toyota hiace matatu owners was blown or bent cylinder head. Reason; you carry 18 pax and push that vehicle at crazy speeds uphill you got to change your cylinder head every 3 months. Nothing wrong with the engine. The moment the speeds were limited, some matatu owners now dont even know what a cylinder head is. If your driving style is sensible and you dont overload the car, you will really enjoy the low cost motoring.
It was an ex-writeoff. Someone fixed it and sold to me at 580K (KBY). Havent had any issue except some light jamaa walinishow its something on the exhaust (apocalyptic converter). Consumption is kitu 16km/litre average.
Catalytic.
…
…its catalytic converter…what would happen if you were to remove the catalytic converter on the diesel car like we do on the petrol ones? will it smoke more ama?..n do all diesel cars kama yako remove that black smoke ikiwa gear one wakati imekanyangiliwa ndio i pick?
If you do, I think you’ll have to also retune to get any (real) benefits.
Vehicles typically have the highest emissions in the first few minutes after ignition before the converter heats up. Some manufacturers have attempted electronically heated converters to get around this.
Why are diesel personal cars not popular if they that kind of fuel efficiency?
…i think its because in far away countries…petrol is cheaper than diesel…they are stricter with emmisions which diesel is notorious for…n the kenyan beliefs…kama vile watu wameamini gari ni toyota
Until relatively recently, diesel engines were too noisy, produced too much vibration (necessitating a stronger/heavier body) and returned worse fuel economy as compared to petrol engines. Some of these and other issues have largely been addressed with varying degrees of success amongst different manufacturers.
imagine vw polo 1.4 tdi …blue efficiency achieves 80mpg meaning 37 km per litre…it makes hizi vvti zetu zikae mchezo
that car is the end of the world
Kenyans dont like trying new alternatives. And have little knowledge about the diesel cars. And i also believe our motoring 'experts’mislead us. Eg. That our diesel is sludge. FYI no fuel refinery is done locally. Whatever we import is what is standard in other parts of the world. Out of 4 saloon cars i have owned, three are diesels. Cost and interval of service are similar if not cheaper than petrol engines. I currently clock 10k kms on total rubia diesel oil with no worry at all.
BTW if you browse diesel saloons in UK they are quite popular, from nearly all manufacturers.