Loan Sharks

Quick question:- Is shylocking really legal in Kenya? I gave out my camera worth 250k because i was in a bad situation for a 10k loan. Long story short, i defaulted for 2 months and they sold my camera. Then i got the money and called them only to be told that they sold the camera to stay in business. Is there a way i can recover the camera? I am willing to pay for the two months but these guys don’t want to listen. Anyone?

:eek:

Quick question:- Is shylocking really legal in Kenya? I gave out my camera worth 250k because i was in a bad situation for a 10k loan. Long story short, i defaulted for 2 months and they sold my camera. Then i got the money and called them only to be told that they sold the camera to stay in business. Is there a way i can recover the camera? I am willing to pay for the two months but these guys don’t want to listen. Anyone?

Hizi story loans on household items huwa naziangalia tu.Kumbe hawa watu wana wateja.

A fool and his money parted ways

250k camera for a 10k loan? Jeez, what voodoo math were you doing there. Ulicheswa.
That said, I don’t think there’s a remedy there. Just suck it up, call it a loss and move on. Such is life.

You gave out collateral expensive than the loan amount?

Why do you have a brain?

Kuna mtu hapa gari yake ilienda vivyo hivyo. Anaionanga tu huko kwao ronga ikipelekwa roundi mwenda

I once used to be as judgemental as you are right now. But life changes people. Maybe someday you will learn that. But in case you don’t, you’ll be one of the lucky ones.

It’s called life. And as long as you’re alive, anything is possible. The reason i said i was in a bad situation. It’s was the ONLY option i had at that particular moment. I tried to get more, they could only give 10k.

Watu wataambiwa mpaka lini to value what u give a loan shark in exchange for money
If cam is worth 250k take nothing less than 200k . Utter stupidity !!

There is a reason why they are called sharks

wueh! hapo ni pole tu juu ni friendly agreement

Two moths default is alot to be honest. They sell these things when you default on the first day.
You’ll only make unnecessary enemies and likely not get your camera back. Move on.

Ivyo ndio kunaendaga :smiley:

You have a chance of filing a complaint at the Small Claims Court.

[SIZE=5]Kenya[/SIZE]
The Kenyan Small Claims Court was established in 2016 under section 4 of the Small Claim Act No.2 of 2016. This court is a subordinate court as per Article 169(1) (d) of the Constitution of Kenya, 2010 and its geographical jurisdiction covers sub-counties or any other units of decentralization under the Constitution. [32] Each Small Claims Court is presided over by an adjudicator appointed by the Judicial Service Commission. The Chief Justice can also designate any qualified person to act in as an adjudicator (section 6(1) and (2). [33] To qualify under section 8 for appointment to be an adjudicator, a person must: [34] a) be an advocate of the High Court of Kenya with three years legal experience, or b) be trained as a paralegal at the Kenya School of Law. The court deals with civil cases provided for under section 12 which arise from: [35] a) contracts for sale and supply of goods or services; b) liability in tort arising from loss or damage to any property or for delivery or recovery of movable property; c) compensation for personal injuries; d) set-off or counterclaims under any contract; and e) any other civil matters that written may confer. Though the court’s pecuniary jurisdiction is limited to KES 200,000 (approximately 2,000 USD), Section 12(4) gives the Chief Justice the power to review that limit to any amount he thinks fit via a Gazette notice. [36]

250 k ni supadip camera au hii ni gani. I thought I had seen all the expensive things.

Shida hupata kila mtu but our ways of solving them is what matters.Unless you are trolling your loan security for the 10k does not make sense at all.Tena you even defaulted on the 10k why are you even complaining na huo wote ni msiba wa kujitakia.I would have handled my case better

Despite the previal circumstances apa haukutumia akili…