Light phones under 25k

Guys which light phones fall in this category… I know weight sounds a bit off when considering purchase of a phone…of course I want a nice phone but isiwe mzito preferably below 165 grams… I like them fast,sleek,bezeless, light, aluminium back… something exactly like this (doesn’t have to be oppo)[ATTACH=full]341292[/ATTACH]

Oppo A73 @24k

With your budget and still insisting on 165g it’s soo hard to help you. Also you will be compromising great features at the cost of weight. Less weighted phones with nice features are expensive. Even almost all 2020 flagship phones are ranging between 170 to 200 g. Let weight be the last thing you look at.

I knew someone would see it in that light… weight is equally important to me not that am ignorant about other specs

I dint mean that you were ignorant, i meant that you will have difficult time finding a phone of that kind with your budget. But getting it you will.

25k for a phone below 165g?? really boss??

Hata Samsung A series haziko that light. You will be compromising some good specs because of weight.

A phone with 165g probably has a small battery, na trend ya 2020 ni kuwa mid range phones must have big batteries to make them marketable.

At that price you will get a few Oppos and if you don’t mind Huawei. Stay away from Xiaomi. For the last 3 years or so, every Xiaomi phone (whether mulika mwizi or flagship) weighs above 180 gms and maxes out at 250 gms and beyond.

Carrying a phone which makes your trousers sag or impossible to add keys to your pocket is not exciting to many of us.
If you buy phones like Xiaomi Mi 9T one pocket has to be allocated to the phone and you must also belt up otherwise your butt crack will be for show. Woe unto you if you dare add a case.

Stop exaggerating. 200 grams ni kidogo. Kwani you people how weak are you to realize 200g? IPhone 12pro max is over 200g!In fact your muscles adjust to that weight and mind you mi 9t can’t sag a trouser unless unavaa baggy material trouser kutoka kwa fundi wa ushago. Actually my phone weighs 173 g. Nikichukua mi note 8 pro ya beshte naskia iko mzito but within a few minutes i adjust and feel nothing. Later nikiswitch is when I realize. Weight becomes a problem the first second from there it’s part of you.

in fact most 2020 flagship zinaanzia hapo vile umesema From 180 past 200. I said most not all. Juu ya hyo story 2019 mi 9 was a flagship and its 173g. Ww na xiaomi ni maenemies. Just say you don’t like the brand

However you look at it 200gms phone is a heavy phone. People who are used to binge watching movies or chatting for extended duration when lying on the bed will struggle with the weight. The relief is almost immediate when you switch to a phone that is 30 gms lighter. I tried to use a redmi note 7 soon after launch and I thought my body had adjusted properly to the weight until I tried to read some online book overnight. That was the last time I used the phone. And I think it was 180gms or something.

The wrist is a very sensitive part of your body. Even pressing keys on a computer with minimal effort for extended duration of time can lead to musculoskeletal disorders. Lifting a heavy phone while lying on your back or resting on the sofa for 3 hours feels like hell.

All phone companies understand this, Samsung, Apple, Google, Oppo and so forth. EXCEPT for Xiaomi!! For every iphone Max there is the vannila version weighing 164gms, same for samsung and co… Xiaomi used to do this with the 155gms mi 9 SE but that phone is already 2 generations behind. The mi 9 you speak of is a snapdragon 855 phone… not very old but of course 2 generations old. Since then Xiaomi has moved over to making sure phones are closer to 1/4 Kg than anything else.

One good reason for having a light phone is that you can put any case on it and never feel a weight difference… You can put a rugged case on a 150gms phone if need be. if you add such a case on a 200gms phone it becomes 1/4 Kg. I know utasema 1/4 kg is still light but kama ni nyama ukiongeza ugali na kachumbari umeshiba kabisa!

@ilonMask has a mi 9T… he confessed that he no longer uses it with a case. My guess is the weight and size are untenable for him. He didn’t admit the latter here on Ktalk but it’s obvious that is the reason. and of course he is a strong Xiaomi defender.

And by the way…don’t try to downplay the weight of a phone in the pocket. even in the streets of Nairobi you can see phones bulging on everyone’s pocket and women giving their men phones to carry because they don’t fit even in a small purse. Most men on the streets appear to be carrying bricks in their pockets. In early 2000s cops would have stopped and frisked you at first sight.

The question here was will you take a phone which is light weight with inferior specs with your budget or add more money to get light weight phone with superior specs? We can go all day discussing about weight but mentally you can easily ignore weight if a phone has nice features than others and more so it’s budget. All of as want phones to weigh less, we want sleek phones, in fact we want better phones but our budget can’t allow us. You can’t buy a slow phone and leave a phone which is faster with the same price because of weight! Ati juu iko around 20g more you buy a slow phone. To cut the story short for me i said buying a phone with 165g na budget ya 25 he will compromise alot of features so siezi msaidia. So @Nyamgondho juu wewe you can compromise them because of weight recommend him a good phone with his budget.

@Nyamgondho kindly recommend the phones that are light and nice as we wind up

True.
No one that I know who makes lighter phones than LG. LG phones, however, are notoriously unavailable in Kenya. And even if they were available, I guess the one that would best fit the above mentioned budget and weight specification would be the LG v35/V30.

Huawei Y8p >> 163g Kes 24K
Oppo A93 >>> 164g Kes 25K (Luthuli utapata kwa wasomali at that price)
Oppo A73 >>> 163g Kes 24K

All these also come with Amoled, 1080p resolutions. The processors are not the best… but you’ll hardly experience any lag in day to day usage.

Batteries life is at par with Xiaomi despite having 4000 mAh batteries. My bet is Huawei has the best battery life. Its flagship phones come with 3300 mAh batteries which perform just as good as 5000 mAh ones from Xiaomi and Samsung

Also consider the lack of google services on Huawei Y8p. For some people this is good news.

I cannot recommend phones above 170 gms unless unataka a gaming phone or one with a telephoto camera which is obviously above budget.

I know lots of talkers buy phones by the size of the batteries wanauliza kwa maduka maswali kama… Uko na simu iko na 6000 mAh battery? But unless you specifically want a 2 day battery life, I would stay away from such. Hizi simu nimeweka have a 1 day battery life so ni za kucharge usiku - if you don’t maybe early the next day. You will be surprised they even last longer than some Xiaomi 5000 mAh phones.

Hizi atapata refurbished or brand new.

:D:D:D wachana na mimi. My 9T pro is doing great

Wachana na kelele za watu who care not about weight.
Nunua huawei P30 lite, Shs 24,500. Its 159g and works magic.
https://www.google.com/amp/s/m.gsmarena.com/huawei_p30_lite-ampp-9545.php