Life before selfies, Nudes and sex tapes

I know very few of you have lived in the pre digital Era when you had to go to a photo studio like Ramogi studio to get a photo with someone or process negatives from your camera. There were no self phones to text, call, WhatsApp people in the middle of the night. There was no social media to show everyone your hot new catch or ask nani anajua huyu. How I miss those days. Everything was so innocent and quint. Something this generation will never know. If you wanted to see someone and they had no landlines you would give them a booth number or call them at work. Ikifika 5pm you start getting jittery about getting home before it’s dark. If it was 6pm.The person will drop you or take the mat with you to ensure that you do not get carjacked or I don’t know. Nowadays I notice that even when you are seeing someone and you won’t meet them at their house or let them come to your house they’re like woa, are you for real? It’s like shock, Yaani you have boundaries? Even at work it’s like you are some kind of alien if you have not slept with someone at the office. It’s like one big bedroom. They have nudes and even sex tapes of each other. They don’t even try to hide that they are involved. If there’s a bash someone will sleep with someone they hadn’t been sleeping with before. So I even stopped going. Last year we had an out of town end of year party where we were being paid for going for an out of town bash. The CEO asked me why I wasn’t going and I was like I had plans, which I did but even if I didn’t I wasn’t going to attend those things. Sasa what came out of that bash that it’s broken someone’s marriage a less than 3 months marriage after drunken orgy photos were sent to the spouse of the person by one of the participants of that thing. It’s like there’s just this spirit of lust that has fallen on people and not just young people though to a great degree they’re notably worse, they don’t fear HIV, no using protection,yet they are so promiscuous, no restraint nothing. A certain organization had so many people with HIV because of zero grazing that they had to sensitize staff. It’s scary and it’s terrible to see people who have cast off restraint. Me am just a flabbergasted spectator. I tell you. Hapo ndio watu wetu wamefika. No fear of God, family or even disease. Mwanamke you have dated practically every one. Like how is it possible to date so many people in such a short amount of time? Because like how old is Diana? Supposing she dated all these guys, when was she dating all of them ama she was double or triple dealing them? And still why not diversify? Don’t just date people in showbiz, date lawyers and doctors. There’s people with money who are not all over the place or public figures.

Nowadays if you have a daughter you will have sleepless nights thinking about the kind of environment that is out here. It’s just too toxic. I don’t have a single photo of anyone I’ve dated and neither do they. I can’t wrap my head around how someone, anyone, even your husband or wife can have your nudes. Your sex tape. Like you know that a person has such from and you are OK. Mimi I’m just in shock, like how will these women and men in this sex tapes face their parents, siblings and spouses not to mention kids? I don’t understand the logic behind this type of things. This generation aki mutatuonyesha maneno. Nywy those are my musings after shocking details continue to emerge. How a grown ass person with kids can have unprotected sex with several women who are obviously very sexually active, actually they sell sex, is beyond me. Is it like yall have a death wish, like you don’t care if get AIDS and you are from the place where HIV has left so many orphans but wewe ndio unajiona Otero wa kudry fry watu kama saba, who are themselves high velocity people sexually and then you rotate them. Saa ingine binadamu we are really tempting the devil. Yaani you are such a dare devil that the devil himself takes notes from you. Yaani playing Russian roulette with your life leave alone your reputation, your very life, you are like kama mbaya mbaya. Wacha nikufe kwa raha zangu. Corona ndio hii inataka kuku maliza but you decide kutafuta ugonjwa Roho Safi. Nywy I believe it’s only demonic possession bcz sielewi mtu mzima in their right mind can dare do some things. I can’t. On that high. Enjoy your curfew.

You have actually lived if you have processed negatives at places like Ramogi studio. It used to be the best many years back.
It’s another world now, but living in the fast and exciting digital age shouldn’t lead people to live recklessly. It’s just technology, people should control it, not allow it to control them. Choices have consequences in every lifetime. Some people seem to think they have to brag to the whole world that they had sex, or are planning to have it. That’s a level of immaturity that is baffling. Another thing, it’s absolute folly to be so excited that since you have a camera in your phone you decide (a choice) to take photos (a choice) of your bum or bush (a choice) and post them online (a terrible choice). But some people are so crazed they can’t be saved from themselves. They simply don’t think before they do. In fact thinking has been rendered old-fashioned. It’s Just Do It.

I think this digital age has made so self absorbed that you need to validate yourself by showing people every thing that you are doing. So we no longer just enjoy the experience. We do it to show off to others. So instead of enjoying the experience in and of itself, we also need some ego massage feedback from others to really validate the experience. Like how people here talk about who they date and sleep with for applause and validation. During our time you could date someone for years and not even have a single photo of them. So you could not show off to your friends. I remember sometime back I was dating a very handsome guy and then I bumped into one of my friends who herself was very beautiful and later she told me, that guy is so handsome he can date the president daughter where have you been hiding him but to me it wasn’t even a thought like I need to show him off, I was OK with just the experience than the validation from my girlfriends like I am dating a guy who is really hot, for him, he would introduce me to every one, so maybe it’s a man thing to just want to show off but women aren’t so much like that. They will discuss you if they are unhappy with you but other than couple photos they won’t post your dick pics to show you off or post nude photos to show your gym bod. Women discuss and reveal alot but not for their ego. Though I’ve seen something by Xtian Dela Wea girls have groups like this Kisumu boys one Wea they pass around men with what they call good dick game and warn each other of the ones with toothpicks and weak dick game. I will post the screens hots of the conversation

That was actually a very beautiful era, one can see that in retrospect. Very few people dared to be exhibitionists because social norms were stronger and the pictorial filth available on the net today was only tucked away in magazines such as Playboy. I remember a guy in school–if he’s here he’ll remember–was made to kneel outside the staff room for hours after he was caught with a dirty magazine under his blazer. That could actually earn you an expulsion, let alone having/displaying your own dirty pictures–you could’nt get any studio in Nairobi to process them even.
Haven’t times changed!

They sure have. I often feel like I am in some kind of twilight zone.

It’s life. If you find an epic movie called War and Peace I recommend you watch it. The book it’s based on is very insightful. It shows how times change people. But there are still a few people who don’t go with the flow and find the personal reward of joy and peace.

I will look for it now that with this quarantine I have so much time I could bathe in it.

Also look for the movie called ‘The thin red line’. It’s set in the background of WW2 but it’s theme is not really the war but how time and unavoidable circumstances changes everyone. You have to watch the movie for at least three times in order to understand it well.

serious manenos

Great movie. I have it on dvd. That soldier who narrates is the only one who sees the ugliness of the war contrasted with the natural beauty of the place, and wonders why they are dying on a remote island while they could be holidaying instead.

True. I liked it a lot

Thanks I will.

serious manenos