Learning The Value of Money

The biggest lesson I’ve learned since I turned 30 is the value of money. I never quite understood what the value of money is and maybe that’s because I was ignorant about how hard making money actually is.

You see, growing up, I was the guy who would buy Ngumus and mandazis for people or the guy who would loan people money in high school, and the guy who would send something small to a relative when asked. For someone like me, money sort of didn’t have any value. If you’re “generous”, then it must mean you don’t understand the true value of the shilling in your pocket. Pesa yako ni ya kupeana na kutupa.

In my late twenties, I started asking myself where other people take their money. It turns out, their money is in their pockets but mine was for us to use/spend. I started asking people to pay this time or use their money for this activity another time and quickly saw how annoyed they seemed at that suggestion. When you’re used to being generous with your money, you assume that it’s not a big deal and that other people would be happy to chime in when called upon. However, you soon realize that it’s indeed not the case. People know the value of their money and will be happy to spend yours if it means keeping theirs kwa mfuko. What I never understood is even when you give because you’re generous and kind, other people do see it that way. They see you as WEAK and FOOLISH. When you eventually figure out how the world works, you obviously feel heartbroken. But it’s not even that, it’s that you realize you’re the only one who doesn’t understand the value of money. Others do, but you don’t and that’s where you finally learn to say KEEP YOUR MONEY IN YOUR POCKET. Now once you do that, you realize that you don’t have any friends anymore or relatives who call na kadhalika. In their minds, YOU HAVE WISENED UP and they move on to find another fool to take advantage of.

So even if you have millions, keep it in your pocket. Generosity is usually mistaken for weakness and stupidity. That relative you spend your money on doesn’t think you’re a good/generous person. THEY THINK YOU ARE A FOOL to be taken advantage of. That should redpill you. Stay guided motherfuckers. It’s just how the world works.

11 Likes

Kagege, dont get philosophical trying to justify the legendary meanness of Okuyu men.
Tomorrow you will die and that money you are hoarding will be eaten by others. whether you like it or not, your money will ALWAYS be spent by others. You can never really own anything in this world.
So, if you buy foodstuff for that old and sick woman in the village, she will take you for a fool?
If you pay school fees for an orphan, this kid will take you for a fool?
It just shows your insecurities- common with people- always thinking that others are out to take advantage of you. typical attitude of middle class fellows who think others are out to misuse them.
Even worse, perhaps your wife will be using your money to fund the lifestyle of the loser who will be f-cking her as you are out there accumulating more money.
if you cannot differentiate between those who genuinely need help and those out to misuse you, you have a problem.

good idea but why not keep in the bank or mmf

The boy is very mean to himself to begin with.

Typical of Okuyu men. mean even to themselves.
I always feel happy in a sadistic way when i see kids from rich Okuyu families misusing the wealth that their dead and mean parents were busy accumulating. Yes, this kid will easily blow up 50m with harlots and prodigal living yet when his dad was alive, he couldn’t have spent even 5m to reduce the raging miseries in the society.
they are mean to themselves but once they die, their wealth is consumed by strangers and lawyers(because of property squabbles that are always present in rich okuyu families).

Wewe kihii uko na ujinga mingi sana. I bet you give away 90 percent of your income to charity every month

Its not a good thing that you are realising this at 30 and it does not reflect well on your parents who should have taught you this things the first time they gave you pocket money.

Uki itishwa 2k. Tuma mbao. Thank me later

Kwa hii dunia, ukipata chance, inua msee mwenye ako down, with no expectations.
Huanga najiskianga fiti wakati nimeinua msee na imekua positive kwa life yake..

Huwa anashikwa na kiwaru watu wakiamua kusaidiana.

Kikekuyus are a bunch of tight-fisted motherfuckers.
Nimeishi kudhani ni myth until I witnessed it firsthand :joy: Fucking miserable!

Don’t get into business with relatives.

miss-the-point-missing-the-point