So our tech stack will be changing soon and my boss has given me some headsup in advance to get up to speed with PHP-laravel. Anyone here who has worked with Laravel? What is the learning curve? How fast can one get to learn and build something with it? Also quick resources suggestion to get started will be appreciated
Laravel ni jina ya dame ama? Yuko craiglist… ama ni wa tinder …ohhhh, tagged huh?
Tuambie kitu relatable
laracasts.com has some good stuff for beginners but in my experience Code Igniter is more beginner friendly
You clearly do not understand the meaning of this thread so take your bottom-feeder elements elsewhere.
Okay, but the thing here is that our development stack will be primary running on PHP-Laravel so there is no option of using code-igniter. How smooth is the documentation on laracasts.com? I’ve checked out the docs on the official Laravel site and it’s a bit complex (language wise)
Learning curve depends on what technologies you are good at, and also your experience - I have used symfony before where laravel is based and if you understand the basic tiered application development approach and mvc then it should be easy to get up and running.
I was coming from zend when symfony was required that was way back in 2012, and I think it took me a couple of weeks to get up and running on the same, the bundles approach might be a bit confusing at first but once you understand it, everything becomes very interesting.
hii ni ujinga unatuletea
I’ve previously worked with Java and also Python-Django & Flask (both MVC) which use ORMs and also database migrations, routings as well as templating engines etc…for the last 3 years I havent worked with PHP-frameworks on a high-level projects and given that this is at the workplace, I’ll have to be up to speed as soon as possible. I don’t how much I can learn by the end of 3 weeks from now given that our new tech stack rolls over in the Month of May.
I’m guessing by bundles you’re referring to something that works like a package?
you are good to go, a couple of weeks should be enough - if you are conversant with ORMs, db migrations, routing, dependency injection and template engines, may be PHP concatenation and addition operators will be the biggest hurdle
something like that, its just a way of the framework providing way to create reusable functionality, of course you will need to understand the way it is structured and stuff but that should be straight forward since you understand the packaging concept.
all the best, I think you should be up and running in no time.
Nerdfest kumbe iko huku.
Okay, makes sense now. I’ve been on the laracast website and I think it’s a good piece of resource to get up to speed with the Laravel framework.
OP has a legit post and been also hearing about laravel here and their but not got into the gut of it…so is this worth my time to look into today
[ATTACH=full]166102[/ATTACH]
Learning curve will be short and fast since there’s a large support community you can tap in to for knowledge. Tafuta PHP Kenya group on Telegram.
Well in!
i just know php sql very well
tafuta laravel kenya group pale telegram…