Landlady locked up my shop

Elders what legal redress do I have for a the landlady locking up my shop. It’s only this months’ rent that I have not paid. On 12th Nov she told my employee to leave the shop then locked it with her own padlock.

Some time back she reviewed the rent downwards and calculated my arrears using the new rate. This was a verbal agreement. Thereafter Whenever I paid rent I also added an extra amount to settle the arrears that had accumulated

Last month she had also closed up my shop because of the arrears that I was yet to settle.The agent threatened to auction my items and I threatened to sue them. They also threatened to recalculate my arrears using the old rate…but a few days later I got the money and settled all the arrears going by the new rate we had agreed on. So they opened the shop. And I gave them a notice to vacate shop by end of December.

Now this month my employee call me on 12th and tells me that the agent and the landlady are at the shop and are demanding for rent. I asked them to give me time but we didn’t reach an agreement, just ended the call with the landlady saying I should call her. Later on I find out that she asked my employee to get out of the shop then she put her own lock.

What do elders think about this? My worry is that the agreement to reduced rent was verbal and that they might deny such a thing. Although I have messages from the agent acknowledging the revised rate.

Ati you threatened to sue them :clown_face::clown_face::clown_face:

Peasant unashindwa kulipa rent pesa ya kulipa lawyers utatoa wapi.

Lipa rent wacha kusumbua. Funda.

Why don’t you simply have that landlord murdered ? and see if the property inheritors will be less problematic as landlord.

Kwa tribunal, you the tenant will wipe the floor with the landlords, doesn’t matter how rich they are. As long as you have the receipts,messages and everything. Also report her to KRA kwanza, I’m sure huyo halipi tax associated with rent

I once had a problematic tenant. I paid cops 5k wakamuweka ndani usiku mbili akatoka kama amehama mbio sana. Sipendi ujinga.

The beauty of having poor tenants is that they can’t fight back because its too costly to do so. Huyo tenant maskini ukimwambia mambo ya tribunal ataanza wapi? You have the upper hand as the landlord because you can afford lawyers and even use police to harass the tenant.

Kama haulipi rent just move out. Uko na arrears alafu uko na entitlement ya kukaa Kwa nyumba si yako. Meffi

Anakufrustrate utoke mapema.
Maybe amepata someone more reliable to take your spot or wants to set up something similar.
Anyway you are fucked since you haven’t fulfilled your obligation to pay rent.
Ideally you are not supposed to be victimized but it is what it is

What does your contract say? You were late with the rent. Did you engage her? Did you give a new date for settlement of the rent? She was right, if as I assume, the rent was due on the 5th.

What did you expect her to think:

So you already told her you are vacating in December, then didn’t pay November rent?..You are getting ready to move out with 2 months rent past due?.. :slightly_smiling_face:

Peasant unashindwa kulipa rent pesa ya kulipa lawyers utatoa wapi.

Lipa rent wacha kusumbua. Funda.

Meanwhile soja @uwesmake is enjoying life in his MBUNGAlow pale kimilili
@Jehovah_Wanyonyi has done it

Mbaruya ni kujipanga

Kwani nyumba zako unalipisha mia nane per month? Olikiskia wapi karau wakifunga tenant unless ulimsingizia some extra crime? Clearly hujawai enda tenant landlord tribunal that’s why unarusha mdomo hapa.

He should just pay rent and not waste his money, time and energy on lawyers and tribunals.

Yeah.Sijawahi enda tribunal juu I am a smart person who knows how the streets work. And yes karao walimsingizia another crime. Lastly, alikuwa analipa peanuts anyway juu I bought a shamba ilikuwa na bungalow nikafikiria I can rent out the bungalow before subdividing the land and selling plots. I eventually sold the plots including yenye ilikuwa na hiyo nyumba. I was an accidental landlord for a few months.

By the way before nitumie street justice I went to a lawyer akaniambia upuzi ya tribunal. Who has time to chase a peasant for peanuts in a tribunal?? Anga sijui process takes months. Sipendi ujinga. The bugger was out of my house by Monday. Niliambia police wanipigie simu akihama niwalipe the second half of their money.

To make it clear I cleared all arrears last month and It is only this months’s rent that I have not paid. I also paid 2 months rent when I occupied the shop. Last month after settling all arrears, the agent told me that I should make sure I to deposit some amount even if it’s not the full amount by 15th of every month. But they were at my door on the 12th. Now isn’t it unreasonable that I pay the whole months l’ rent while they’ve already closed the shop for 6 days now?

Pole, brother. Keep pushing; things will get better. For every little profit you make, set aside a certain percentage for rent. Also, avoid unnecessary conflicts with your landlady—plan yourself gradually and find a way to move out.

Remember, the landlady is also running her business and has her own challenges, so don’t take it too personally. ANAKUTEGEMEA. If you notice constant conflicts with someone, it often means it’s time to part ways. The relationship is already strained, and staying will only breed resentment and disrespect.

Elders naona hapo wana comment tu, majority wamechorwa job na hawajui challenges za rent maybe

Turns out there’s real brotherhood here…someone reached out with solid advice and offered to help. Thanks to the anonymous brother.

Thank you bro…

wacha kuwa arrogant. kama io biashara unafanya hiezi lipa rent, funga na uhamie place ingine iko more promising. acha kusumbuana na landlord.

unauza on credit?

Damn! You’re such a gangster my friend. I’ll come for you we go do a drive-by on some of my foes.