Policy:Regulations shall cause land valuation and imposition of a standard value of land to avoid selling/buying land in an overpriced or under priced value.
Effect:No more hoarding of land in speculation of value appreciation especially in areas where government projects are set to be established;talk of roads,sgr etc.Of course the losing parties are the land cartels like the 56 acre Ruaraka 9B shiny eyes.
So you know,to those who buy land ati in 10yrs utakua mbirionaire pray that the bill doesnt see the light of the day.Hotherwise hutajua hujui.Sasa ukinunua shamba hafadhali ulime lime otherwise kitunguu hitachomeka.
Asande.
Its doesn’t say land prices wouldn’t rise, that will always rise as supply hasn’t changed since creation while demand has been growing ever since.
What it does is limit the outrageous over valuation of land by owners when they are being acquired for development projects. If your land is worth 100,000 per acre, if their has be no justifiable increase of price at valuation I.e increase of land sale value in the last year then the price can’t be miraculous increased by over 50%. Some will start quoting 1 million for the same land just because its been acquired for a public project. A 1000% increase. Nobody minds you making a good return of your investment on land but its now outrageous to expect 200%-500% profit.
But who is government to determine how much the i want to sell my land for? this rule should only be applicable in cases where government needs to acquire land from an individual for some project. The government should be limited to acquiring the land at the stipulated current valuation as per the proposed law and not a penny more.
Have you heard of Surveyors and Land Valuation. There are many in government and private sector. Let all land be surveyed, valued and we know the lower and upper limits of its value. Outrageous greed has to be stopped.
Endelea kuota tu, utashangaa ukiamka. Ati ukuje kwa mburoti I’ve put on sale halafu you cite this bill? Utashangaa vile utatoka mbio. Willing buyer, willing seller my friend. Make no mistake - land remains the best business sahii unless wewe ni kalasinga, you work in NYS, clearing and forwarding huko kwa port ama umekamata tender ya serikali
I think this bill is mainly meant for people who govt projects imply acquisition of their land and they hike their land value incredibly. The Eldoret bypass comes to mind. It has delayed coz of compensation hitch. Land value has risen 10 folds.
If i were asked,they should probably try to make some policy promoting equitable taxation ie land rates on land depending on the location perhaps just like the tenant(or landlord rax).Otherwise i think supply and demand principle will continue to dictate the market value
The issue here is you selling for 10m land that is not worth that amount. So to protect the innocent and government from your scheming actions a point of order or standard has to be put in place.
Something how you would complain buying milk from a shop at double price and y iu know the price shouldn’t be that high. Simple logic.
And that is why there is still to determine all this because at present the seller decides what makes the land worthy of the amount he wants to sell at. He and others including brokers come together and form a cartel and decide land in a certain area will cost upwards of am certain amount and no one can do anything to them .
Seriously you guys do not comprehend the use of a governing act or body to control certain aspects from being misused and public from being exploited!
Y’all never saw Nairobi and Kenya at large before it deteriorated to what it is right now.