China Communications Construction Company (CCCC) was paid $20 million to begin the construction of the first 3 berths of the port. The other payments will be staggered over the next 3 years as construction continues. Meanwhile as construction continues government will tender by PPO the construction of the remaining 32 berths and other lappset projects.
Sand barges for the dredging works have arrived at Mombasa, ready to be transferred to Lamu. http://i.imgur.com/GlAFJga.jpg
Good work!!. These are the things that make me smile. I think papers should start with these news. Hope the Lamu land is not inflated like the under SGR
For genuine locals, its not but a few speculators at the port area are being sorted out. Even better NLC through the high court managed to repossess all 500,000 land that orengo and babuon had allocated to individuals. That Lamu corridor land has been secured.
Sasa huko ni place ya kuenda kuanzisha kabiz kiasi… Ka bar hivi na malanye kiasi na rooms. Those construction workers will need some TLC after a hard day’s work or night hawa wachinku ni wakaholics (sic)
The start date was 1st July 2017, official date will be when CS or President Uhuru comes to launch it. As of now work has already started. Lamu-Isiolo-Lokichogio SGR tender is still with Ministry of Transport. They will announce in due time when it will start after finalizing MoU’s with neighbouring countries and cabinet approves them.
Naomba jambo moja tu kwa unyenyekevu, gentleman @spear, for the sake of courtesy na heshima tulio nayo, tukubali kuita huyo mzee kwa jina lake, ama The former prime minister. Somehow we will be a bit different from them if we show some decorum!
Oh! And our own @introvert went visiting over the border! Here’s his message to them…
[ATTACH=full]48260[/ATTACH]