Laikipia Land Invasions- Social commentary on blacks and whites in Kenya

We Kenyans love to pretend. Not because we are naturally inclined to insincerity as many would have you believe. Rather, because we can smell bullshit from a mile away. We have no qualms about smiling and entertaining your naivety if it means avoiding a pointless debate and sparing ourselves a headache.

Who, you may ask am I addressing? Well. This is an open letter to the descendants of colonial era white settlers still benefiting from your ancestors legal (at the time) but unethical land grab. Oh I’m sorry. ‘Purchase of land under willing buyer, willing seller agreements’. Enough with the pretense around this issue. The truth hurts and I am not here to spare your feelings.

The recent ‘invasion’ of ranches in the Laikipia region by ‘traditional herdsmen’ is but an example of the myriad of struggles that millions of Kenyan’s go through daily. When I say Kenyan’s, I am referring to African Kenyan’s by the way. Why? Because you white settler are for the most part, nowhere to be seen. When Kenyans are being teargased in the streets, fiercely debating on talk shows/ media platforms, writing opinion pieces on the state of the nation or generally making attempts to agitate for the betterment of the nation in some way, you white settler, are quiet.

You keep to yourselves.

You are content with mostly living off on your 40,000 + acre ranches in Nanyuki or Naivasha in the middle of nowhere. Driving into town in your off road Landrover type vehicles only occasionally to pick up ‘supplies’ at the ‘duka’.

You might hold the occasional social gathering in Nairobi. Country clubs and ‘rustic’ restaurant-pubs in the Karen area are favourites.

You send your children to schools such as Banda and Pembroke- relics of ‘Kee-nee-ah’, shut off from the rest of country. For senior school and university you send them abroad- South Africa and the United Kingdom no less. No wonder we have never heard you lament the poor pay of teachers and lecturers or the standard of education in this country.

What do you do when your people fall sick? I mean really, really, life threatening type sick. I suppose it’s back to the U.K for most of you. That would explain why we have never heard you lament the 2 month old ongoing doctors strike that we are facing.

You say that contrary to what most believe, it is not you the white rancher who is suffering the most from these invasions. You show us pictures of ‘Wanjiku’ and ‘Kamau’. Small scale holders whose crops have been destroyed and animals stolen. If you said this to my face I would smile. Knowing full well that you mentioning ‘Wanjiku’ and ‘Kamau’ is merely your attempt to show me just how in tune you are with the ‘locals’. The ‘locals’ who, because of your monopolisation of the land and knowledge of farming didn’t stand a chance to begin with.

Forgive me if I don’t share in your outrage. If you insist on behaving as if you are ‘other’s expect to be treated as ‘others’. Your outrage now at the ‘land invasions’ stinks of irony.

I hope this serves as a wake up call. If this- KENYA- is home, start acting like it. Until then…miss me with the bullshit.

Wacha ukutiliwe na Sarah Ngabu…utawekewa ile hasira yote wamefungia now that the government did not land on the Samburu with fire and brimstone…denying them a chance to capitalize on the dhuluma…

I have my misgivings about the 999-year leases the cowboys had awarded themselves on the eve of independence. i also don’t think any foreigner should own 200,000 acres of land AND THE WILDLIFE THEREIN (WILDLIFE IS A COMMON!).

THAT SAID:

• It is NOT whites who are multiplying like rats.
  • It is not whites who are holding to an unsustainable pastoralist lifestyle.
  • It is not whites who pay doctors, or elect our leaders.
  • It is not whites who should correct any ills in Kenya.

This is the same shittic buck-passing that is is beloved by losers in Kenya; blame someone, anyone, for your shitty existence but yourselves and the parents who sired 15 kids, guaranteeing you a lifetime of poverty and misery.

Visit those whites you so hate. Their herds are sustainable. None has more than 2 kids.

There’s more to land invasions than just drought By The Standard | Updated Sun, February 5th 2017 at 09:00 GMT +3 SHARE THIS ARTICLE Share on Facebook Share on Twitter The growing tension between ranchers and pastoralists in Laikipia points to a bigger problem of law and order as well as executive impunity. This has been exacerbated by historical grievances of displacement, tribalism and political rivalry in the countdown to the August 8 General Election. While on the surface the cases of pastoralists invading ranches seem to be desperate efforts by communities to get pasture and water for their livestock, a deeper probing suggests a more worrying trend. It appears that politicians and some powerful individuals in Government are deliberately stoking the fires for very selfish ends that have little to do with the plight of pastoralists. The first lot comprises politicians from the area who have instrumentalised the drought into a perfect campaign grievance of settlers versus migrants in Laikipia County. This group is inciting locals to invade ranches not just to graze livestock but also to claim ownership. This is one of the many tactics they are perfecting to intimidate genuine land owners whilst hoping to impress the masses with their passion for “fighting for community interests”. (our very own shemeji - @tintin pointed this out at the very beginning of the issue!)
This is precisely why talk among pastoralists invading the ranches revolves around discourse of belonging and not securing pasture for livestock. Unlike the politicians hiding behind the drought to whip up primitive loyalties among locals in the hope that it might propel them ahead of rivals in the August elections, the second group of people stoking the tensions have a more kleptocratic urge.
[FONT=Tahoma][SIZE=4]They are betting on the insecurity to compel ranchers, most of whom are foreigners, to either sell them a stake of their prime land or run away. This lot is more dangerous for it combines political and economic clout and gravitates around one of the most powerful individuals in the country. (tara tararara ta tara tara!) [/SIZE][/FONT] Without belabouring the merits of rule of law and the right to own property anywhere in the country, it’s critical that we step back and interrogate our governance structures to understand why and when disorder became the new normal in Government. The casual manner in which the national and county governments are handling resource conflicts across the country points to a serious leadership deficit. This explains why our leaders have never missed an opportunity to avoid addressing key national concerns such as land ownership and access to wealth. The rhetoric about law and order will not solve anything in Laikipia or Elgeyo Marakwet when our leaders have institutionalised a vampire culture of using the State to prey on its citizen. In other words, the problem in Laikipia is not drought or hapless pastoralists, but land sharks in Nairobi exploiting the vulnerability of pastoralists in order to dispossess genuine owners. This is a national catastrophe of new money gone rogue.
Read more at: [U]https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/article/2001228286/there-s-more-to-land-invasions-than-just-drought[/U]

:slight_smile:

few stolen thoughts from fb on the matter
comment 1

April 18, 2013—“Elephants in the Room”: The Need to “Out” Conservation, featuring Mordecai Ogada, Director, Laikipia Wildlife Forum

Many friends have been asking me about my take on the Laikipia Land Invasions. As a (sad) throwback, I will share my background on the issue. In April 2013, (when I was director of the Laikipia Wildlife Forum), I insisted on Kenya police or KWS being involved in all wildlife law enforcement activity in Laikipia before I (LWF) could consider supporting it. The cowboys in my office didn’t hide their disgust at this black man purporting to refusing to cooperate with them just because he had a PhD. I later gave a talk at the Africa Biodiversity Collaborative Group with the title above. It was hosted by USAID and broadcast on the web. I spoke about the urgent need to stop the arming of militias calling themselves ‘game scouts’ in Northern Kenya, the colonial construct that was happening under the guise of ‘community conservancies’. I warned that this militarisation could have a backlash harmful to wildlife and human security because we had trained and armed personnel (using government issue firearms and ammunition) under the command of (often indisciplined) civilians. When I came back, the racists were up in arms. My board chairman (Black as I am) called me for a meeting where he warned me to stop ‘fighting wazungus’ and not to think that my expertise and rapport with the donors meant anything…I told him that in my mid-40s and with my qualifications, I couldnt be railroaded by Secondary- level educated boys, regardless of their background. Long story short, they pushed me out and the militarization and expansion of exclusion zones went on unfettered. Now, I am seeing some FB posts by people shocked that the bullets being used to massacre wildlife, loot and pillage are government-issued, and that the police are doing nothing. Those who opposed reason back in 2013 because it came from a black man should shut up. Those who kept silent when racists looted and pillaged Laikipia Wildlife Forum should also hold their peace.

“The man that brings ant-infested faggots into his hut should not grumble when lizards begin to pay him a visit.” -Chinua Achebe

comment 2

This one is as usual dramatic and with tonnes of hyperbole. The issues are varied and mixed up on different measures and levels. But the main point here is that Conservacies too have made a major contribution to this conflict. By fencing off huge parts of the land and refusing access, what it means that in time of drought and distress like now, there is very little to go around. So herders will naturally act in this manner as they try to save their flocks. Anothe unsaid bit is that when it comes to wildlife, by giving it more prominence than the lives of the herders and their animals, they have no business securing it since they view wildlife as threat and competition. Certainly there are traces of political mobilization but is not the main point rather than an reactive mobilization based on an already volatile situation. As for the luxury camp owners and purveyors of conservation politics, this is a good time to whip emotions and attract more western support and money as the article certainly does. For a better and in-depth analysis and understanding of how things play out in Laikipia et al, I encourage you to follow John Mbaria and Mordecai Ogada but also read their new book, “The Big Conservation Lie” that is available currently at the bookshop in Yaya Centre.

This I do not deny, and it is very sad indeed. However, this was not a piece attempting to justify invasion of the ranches though I do also have misgivings about those 999 year leases. The land issue must be addressed!

This was a social commentary on the truth about the relations between the races in Kenya. The truth is, while you work yourself up online defending the settlers rights to land as Kenyans, the fact is, they will not show up for you if the roles were reversed. They are making noise now but are silent at all other times. That is what this is about. If they are indeed Kenyans like they say, let them be more visible and INTEGRATED members of the larger society- at ALL times. Not just when the issue touches on them specifically. :slight_smile:

the truth -hidden in plain sight in one innocuous sentence…

the editorializing in the standard - just look at how it sneaks in “executive impunity” and “one of the most powerful individuals in the country”… one of their last week’s lead stories was about a family’s land holdings…

case of a script not unfolding as expected…

A battery of accusations I see right there. But let’s use this same energy to urge the kenyattas, odingas, konanges and kalonzos to bring back the land they have grabbed from Kenyans. And no, I do not support the white settlers. I have just posted an opinion piece from the papers.

plausible

Kenya is failing country but we keep looking for scapegoats as a cure ,mara,white mara asians,mara politicians.

Saw the same in Uasin Gishu county, a 700acres farm now belongs to a powerful individual after the locals frustrated the mzungu.

Wazungu na wahindi warudi kwao