On Saturday evening at 8.30pm, on her way from Village Market, my Hillie decided to use Mombasa Road instead of Outering Road. On reaching Nyayo House roundabout, the front car slowed down, just normal as you approach a roundabout. From the concrete pillars, a gang of about 15 men came to the 1st car, 2 went on to the bonnet, others started smashing the windows and others plucking out the side mirrors. They robbed the guy who was driving a Mercedes, next was a Note car, they did the same. As they were starting to approach Hillie’s car, she swerved on to the pavement at high speed, one of the guys rode onto a waiting boda boda and started casing her upto the Haile Selassie/Harambee Avenue roundabout where they got blocked by a matatu. All this time, she was crying but maintained high speed upto Nyayo Stadium roundabout where she called one of her friends, who advised her to continue driving to the Shell Petrol Station, opposite Belevie Cinema, which she did. Her friend arrived quickly from South C. By this time. Hillie was just crying and traumatised at what she had witnessed and a crime which took a few minutes. Her friend offered to drive her home and we got him an Uber back. This friend has an Auntie who is a Police Officer, when she was called, she said they are aware of the gangs and are overwhelmed. They also fear for their lives. So my dear pals, we are living in unprecedented times, be very careful where you are and be very vigilant of your surroundings, even in traffic! We are glad Hillie applied defensive driving but could have been worse… Old Mombasa Road (down stairs) is currently dangerous, let us use Expressway even if it is expensive for the sake of our lives. I thought I should share. Stay safe
Damn.
There’s a security problem in Nairobi let us strive to be in our houses before it gets dark