Kunguru Hafungiki

One thing that captures your attention when you enter the Coastal town of Mombasa is one rare bird species that hovers the skies.

The crow, known in Swahili as Kunguru, can make your stay in Mombasa as torturous as hell, especially the echoing waves of sound produced when they caw.

I took a walk in the town and met with a few disgruntled residents who expressed their discomfort with the presence of crows in the town.

“It is difficult to have a peaceful conversation when these birds fly around due to the disturbing noises,” said one of the residents.

Additionally, you cannot put on a white clean shirt and have a rest under a tree, unless you are comfortable walking around with the bird’s droppings on you.

Crows also have a tendency of landing their droppings on top of people’s backs, heads or shoulders and these can easily ruin your day especially if you are going to work.

It’s normal to meet women every morning in Mombasa carrying buckets and basins on their heads, loaded with food, as they head to the market.

Unfortunately, they will reach the market with half-empty buckets as Kungurus snatch “their share” along the way.

This happens even at the market where the birds pick ‘mandazi’ and ‘kaimati’ from the buckets and fly away.

Crows also have a habit of picking chicken from farmyards hence leaving you with the option of putting your poultry under lock-and-key or keeping vigil throughout the day.

Due to their rapid breeding pattern, the birds have been able to multiply in numbers faster than any other bird species thus escalating the problem further.

It is for this reason that even environmentalists are scratching their heads to find a way of taming the menacing birds.

[ATTACH=full]28490[/ATTACH]

Nyama ya kunguru ni tamu sana

These birds are synonmous to poor waste disposal. You cant find them scavengers in big numbers kule rural

Hafugiki- Domesticated. I say munaua hii lugha sana. Or was their pun intended?

There was a time when manisipaa and hotels had started mradi for controlling them and they used to pay pay guys wakizishika…In most beach hotels lazima na mtu standby kwa dinning akifukuza hawa kunguru lest they will cause major damage

It is said they are among the smartest birds and are known to use tools.

There was a girl who got gifts from this mofos for feeding them. Not random shit like twigs but beads and metal pieces.

this is the only thing kungurus are afraid of
[ATTACH=full]28494[/ATTACH]
hotels were paying between 2 and 5bob per bird, at mamba village they used to feed them to the crocs

yasemakana ukitaka kujua mahali ni town lazma pawe na kunguru, maji na stima

@old monk, @Meria Mata, the crow bird, belong to the larger group of birds called corvidaes or crows, and they include the Australian magpies. They are among the smartest living things in terms of intelligence! A kunguru will mark and remember your face, especially if you antagonize them. Even when you happen to travel and come back several months later they still remember your face! And you don’t want to be their enemy because they have a way of letting others know you are not friendly! Every time you approach an individual who recognizes you they make a unique call that alerts others of your presence!

Theres a day i destroyed their nest and believe me this mother fuckers don’t forget, had to carry a panda with me for a month.

i saw them methodically pull out the kitambaa used to cover tea snacks on a tray then they help themselves…

@Meria Mata your title reminds me of dudu baya’s song saying kunguru hafugiki, describing ladies who cant settle down. I expected a hekaya about something related to that

Palipo na usafi…yaani proper waste disposal systems…these birds would not thrive…paying people to kill them is a waste of time…we should deal with the cause and their numbers would reduce naturally

Quite nostalgic when I used to watch those local progs with crows sounds in the backyard, that’s how I distinguished msa and nai progs

There is a gadget to scare such that produces disturbing noises that can only be heard by such birds and pests but it doesn’t affect human beings ,stand to be corrected

I remember these fuckers time nlikua Mbs pale PCEA guest apo Makupa… A bird went with one wing of my chicken nikatupa io ingine

Sorry bro. Must have been quite a difficult time for you

http://eat-everywhere.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/panda17-682x1024.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/aUIEldz.png

Weka fabrisa hapa…