KRA registration hold up

Hey guys, for those of you in the business or in the know. Is there a hold up in vehicle registration down at the coast?

which cfs tuanzie hapo?

si all kra officials working downthere even policemen were moved sometime back. nowdays wako thorough so labda kuna vitu bandia zimeshikwa ama ziko expected

So are you saying there is a delay?

what has ur agent communicated,has the unit been allocated registration no,what are the agents complaints concerning the physical allocation of number plates

Registration isn’t an NTSA thing now?

Mimi hata siongei. 3 weeks na bado nangoja

Wacha!? Whats the issue.?

Last month nilingoja 5 days kama hakuna number plate. Hio stori ya kutumia KG ama chassis number hadi nairobi nilikataa…series T na U zilikua na delay ya weeks.

Is this normal bana ama shida hutokea wapi? BTW What does that KG stand for? I have as well seen other funny number plates kama NGA* I guess

Sijui izo time walisema sijui mabati…sijui system…blah blah
Meaning ya KG sijui but Motor bazaars have to be used in road test ama delivary ya gari from port to show rooms

KG ni Kenya Garage in short, usually white plates in red writing.

KG ni Kenya Garage, officially they are known as dealers license. It comes with its own insurance and is used to transfer cars from dealer to customer, port to showroom etc.

Last month I went to get a unit na nikaambiwa kuna shortage ya plates. I had to use KG to nai but my guy sent me the real plates via courier after a few days.

So you drive around using that KG plate and then send it back when you get your real plates?

How long does it take to get issued that KG plate? And does it come with additional fees?

Yeah, but someone told me that its risky driving around with them (everyone knows the car is unregistered). So I just used them for the trip from MSA and kept the car parked till the real plates came. Mind you, the KG plates come with a slip that identifies the person(s) allowed to drive the car, where the car is allowed to operate (mine was MSA-NBO), and also the validity period. Mine were valid from about a week.

The reason why they’re known as ‘Dealers Licence’ is because they are issued to car dealers. I do not know whether they issue them to individuals. I got my car from a yard in msa so they already had the plates.

thanks for the info

KG plates come with a delivery note indicating where you are driving to. Eg Mombasa-Nrb so huwezi enda nayo Nakuru ama Nyeri. I used it to go for inspection to Miritini na kuchukua number plates. Kumbe siwezi enda nayo mtwapa kuchukua bag.

Still at NTSA