What do you call this thing in your mother-tongue?
https://www.kenyatalk.com/index.php?media/2014-01-19_kiongoro.1661/full&d=1485891988
More new photos of my Kenya here: https://www.kenyatalk.com/index.php?media/albums/my-kenya.58/
What do you call this thing in your mother-tongue?
https://www.kenyatalk.com/index.php?media/2014-01-19_kiongoro.1661/full&d=1485891988
More new photos of my Kenya here: https://www.kenyatalk.com/index.php?media/albums/my-kenya.58/
Hiyo ni mboga
Never tried it, have you?
In my childhood days, it was used to cap a steel mtungi of water fetched from the river. We boys liked to suck the ‘uki’ that the flowers at its base produced, but you had to compete with the meanest wasps of the continent!!
It is a delicacy in some communities…
Hii kitu naweza kupikia ushangae
Whaat?
Recipe, tafazal?
We call it Jakuon.
Weka recipe na mbicha. Kwangu hakukosi kadhaa kila wiki.
Just like bamboo shoots. …
[ol]
[li]you peel off the outer layers till you get to the fleshy soft part[/li][li]Grate or slice thinly. [/li][li]Wash thoroughly to get rid of methina[/li][li]Fry kama nyama ama sukuma wiki - vitunguu mingi, hoho, dhania, carrot. …[/li][li]Serve with kuon or rice[/li][/ol]
I have a few nita jaribu… any health benefits?
Thanks @4makind for the recipe. Na bado nobody wants to tell us the name in another tongue?
warm salty water works best…also helps cuts the bitter taste from it
Why now? That must be the worst meal, the only way I can take that is only under the pain of death or if my life depended on it
@Mundu Mulosi I think somebody is impersonating a talker called @Nattydread kindly take action
Gíkoro
Seriously? Hahaha i always thought Jakuon was invented in these streets
Kîro kîa irigû
Azandizana.
I get it. A ‘hearty’ because of its colour and shape.
Kiongoro… my neighbor from@Mundu Mulosi 's greek tells me its Shiyumbu.
Health Benefits of Banana Flower:
Culinary uses:
[li]It can be served raw by slicing. The hot and spicy dip is accompanied with the banana flower in Thailand which is named as Nam Prik.[/li][li]The recipe of South Indian is: along with the salt the chopped banana should be steamed, then softening with mustard seeds, curry leaves, asafetida and curry leaves and topped with grated coconut.[/li][li]In Indian and Asian cuisines, the sliced banana flower is added to the stir-fries, rice or noodle, soups and meat stews.[/li][li]In cold salads also, banana flower is used.[/li][/ul]
12 Top health benefits of Banana flower | HB times