Kicheko ajabu

Ctrl c Ctrl v

FORK AND KNIFE? NEVER EVER AGAIN!

Hello forks… Or is folks?. We won’t discuss that right now, but I studied in a school whose classroom windows were bigger than the doors and English was taught in my mother tongue.
Fast forward, 20 something years later, I find myself in Nairobi.
Today, in Nairobi, I had an experience that I would love to share. I am used to having my lunch at a popular joint called “Balcony Cafe” or “Kwa Mathee”. It’s one of the best places you can ever have your lunch in town, and feel free to halla at me when you are in town, I’ll take you to the joint.
What I like most about Balcony Cafe is that they serve NATURAL foods. Foods am familiar with since childhood. The menu is friendly… Githeri, Githeri Special, Chapati, Chapati blown, mbosho, Ugali, matumbo… The whole menu is stuck in my, and most of Mathee’s customers minds. You walk in and they know on Tuesday, this guy takes Chapati Ndengu, you have your seat and service pap! Every meal is accompanied by some very sweet soup, chapatis come in twos, and they are centrally stabbed with forks. It’s that SIMPLE.

So today I attended a training in one of those 3-4 hotels. At 10:30 AM we had tea break. That’s when I sensed some danger. Am used to tea that is ready, only thing you add is some sugar and then order your mandasi. Here, I was given an empty cup and that was it. I picked a teabag, added some “milk”, then sugar and picked some few snacks. I realised that the so called Star Hotels charge you so much, yet you literally do the work. Make your tea, serve yourself, kazi yao ni kuosha tu vyombo. #RESIST.

After tea, we resumed the training, which was awesome!!!