KICC in danger of tumbling down under Sh500m debt

Cuzo ya Gatheca -Nana Gecaga ameamua to literally live on legacy ya Kenyatta

Kenya’s iconic Kenyatta International Convention Centre (KICC) has been hit by financial impropriety that has seen it accumulate more than Sh500 million in debtsnow threatening to bring it down.

The revered architectural marvel is starring at a myriad of fiscal missteps that has driven it’s financial health to the red.
The convention centre is viciously fighting to ward off attempts by incensed firms who have moved to court to have its properties auctioned to offset debts dating back to 2015. Documents in our possession reveal that the firms are demanding more than Sh570 million of the Sh701 million in debt accrued from the World Trade Organisation meeting held at the centre in December 2015.Three weeks ago, KICC’s legal team went to court to block one of the companies from auctioning its property.

Accrued interest

Part of the clients and suppliers who have moved to court include Mo Sound, which is demanding Sh54.7 million plus interest. Another firm, Green Star, is asking for Sh60 million for supplying and setting up equipment during the WTO opening ceremony.

Yesterday, KICC Chief Executive Officer Nana Gecaga admitted that the building had not paid suppliers but blamed the delay on failure by the previous management to ensure there was proper documentation. “I have not refused to pay. I want to make the payments within the confines of the law. I have sought a legal opinion from the Attorney General and the Auditor General is also here to check on the books. We have the money, we are only waiting for direction from the government’s legal adviser,” said Ms Gecaga.
But the management of the most recognisable building in Kenya is in the eye of the storm for blowing up Sh25 million allocated to host two American R&B groups, SWV and Backstreet Boyz, internal audit queries reveal. Minutes of a board meeting on August 4, 2016 reveal that Ms Gecaga convinced the board to sanction the expenditure of Sh15 million to host the two groups but ended up spending Sh10 million above what was allocated.

It is understood that Gecaga persuaded the board that the centre would generate Sh45 million from the concert in line with the strategy to elevate KICC as premier conference and events centre in Africa.

However, the Auditor General report indicates that not a single coin trickled down to KICC accounts despite the Sh25 million investment.

“We have been on the first phase of marketing KICC as the destination of choice in Africa and globally. In this phase, we have invited several local and international artists to perform. Little at now is being generated, but we will achieve a lot in the next phase,” Gecega explained. Under the second phase, she said, the centre will not be using promoters and instead deal directly with the artists to maximise revenues.

“I am committed to ensuring that KICC becomes a global destination. I took over when there was mismanagement of the building, but we are on the right path now,” she said.

25 million for unknown American music bands? What was she smoking?

Steal we must, steal we will.

You’re a very small boy if you don’t know those groups.

@Deorro majority of 80s kids like myself know SWV and Back street boyz
That said the amount stated is too much for such groups who last released an album before kibaki became president…they are so 90s!

If you insist on bringing washed up artists you will entertain yourself and your friends. People who listened to Backstreet boys when they used to hit don’t attend concerts. They are married with kids and have better things to do with life. Concerts especially night concerts achia young kids

Some acts unapeleka to perform kwako for you and your friends

Again you are wrong…Bruce Springsteen topped 2016…so was COLD play…And U2 led the way from around 2010…they had biggest concerts and most attendees were definitely not justin bieber teenage fans but old men like me in their mid 30s and above.
But still there is no justication to pay SWV that amount…though I feel like Nana personally sanctioned it for sentimental reasons since those were some of the biggest groups when she was a teenager

lakini… si ni ni kwake?! Nyumba inaitwa guka yao.

Kazi ni kuchukua private jet na kuenda birthday party Malindi:

https://www.kenyatalk.com/index.php?threads/wenye-nchi.74679/

Gathecha kweli utatuonyesha mambo. Na ati una fight corruption…

Bruce or Bono and his crew would not fill any venue in Kenya

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vHwXoY0LiQk

I can’t miss a Bruce or Bono concert in kenya

Time has come we investigate the gene that predispose human to corruption.

It’s not joke anymore.

Joke! KICC is in dire need of renovation to make this place a 7-star conference facility. The place looks so ancient when its need works to make the place modernized.

hii ndio shida ya kuweka slay queens in charge of important institutions. Two weeks ago KICC had a full page advert in the Daily Nation, praising her for her “achievements”

One cannot be a full time ‘social media personality’ and a CEO at the same time.

hapa iko mtu anakula interest as we wait for waria kufungua hoteli hapo

Saa ingine unaona ujinga unataka kulia lakini inabidi ucheke tu.