As a Kikuyu, I decided to take a drive to Kiambu, since I have never been there. The town has some nice real estate, but honestly, I was not impressed by the catering department. I searched for a simple restaurant to have lunch (kenchic, chicken inn, such simple types) and couldn’t find one in the entire CBD. I decided to check into the one that appeared the most decent from the outside. Needless to say, the food was horrible and the tomato sauce was diluted. I couldn’t even finish 1/4 of what I ordered and left for Thika a disappointed man. I call upon any serious investor in the food business to consider this business opportunity in Kiambu town. You will have no competition if you open a decent fast food restaurant that doesn’t try to cut corners. I have seen better restaurants in tiny towns. I also noticed there are more keg dens and bars than hotels. Sad
ulienda restaurant ngani?
I wholly concur, even the bars in Kiambu town are pathetic, too crammed and some outright smelly.
Kiambu town has a big name but only one street. A few years to come, kirigiti and ndumberi will surpass it
I also noticed that it has just one street with all the banks lined up. Smaller towns like Ruiru or Juja have better restaurants. The town has that rural atmosphere and I could even see some children walking barefooted in town on a Sunday. I saw many drunk men in alleys as I was searching for a hotel.
I cant remember the name. It was my first time. The fact is that while driving along that one street that is the CBD, I could not spot a single decent small hotel to eat, just pubs and keg dens.
I cant imagine drinking in that town. Honestly, I cannot even live there. The town leaves a bad first impression.
And somebody has the guts to tell us “kaba Kabogo rîîngî” NKT
The largest and best town in Kiambu county is not Kiambu. It is Thika. I wonder why they made Kiambu town the county HQ in the first place.
Kiambu county has many towns but they are mostly shady e.g Kiambu, Limuru. The only nice town in that cownty is Thika.
The town is more accessible to residents from various parts of the county. County headquarters are not determined by the size of a town alone. You don’t expect someone from Kijabe or Kimende to go all the way to Thika when he or she needs services.
My hometown Kimende looks and feels like cow dung, despite tens of millions exchanging hands there every day.
Kwa main street ya kiambu hakuna keg den maybe a bar.
Vaa helmet upesi sana.wanakuja
Kiambu town iko tu sawa. It’s just that you are comparing it with Nairobi. Hizo base za keg unasema ziko huko nyuma ya soko. Anyway hiyo area mnadharau imejaa birrionares wa ukweli.
very true. hakunaga hoteli za maana, cyber, movie shop, cosy lodges, despite being close to 001, ni mucatha town with very many RWNEBP. ifuatwe na muranga town then ruiru imalizie. very shags modo towns. me huskia nimechoka tu sana nikienda majob izo towns
Ruiru afadhali.
hizo fairly high class or good services ungezipata ridgeways ama Thindigua I think huko ndio zimetorokea
Ndio maana iko namba tatu. at least kuna fairly decent clubs with decent KU kungurus.
Majority of thika ppl come from muranga . Kiambu is just a boarding place for nairobi
Simnajua hao jamaa na mbeca, hiyo mambo ingine ya aesthetics ashana nayo!
So uko thika sasa?