New data released by the police has revealed that at least 483 Kenyans have committed suicide within three months.
In the list, Kiambu County tops with the highest number of people who have taken their lives through different methods.
According to the police data, men are more prone to committing suicide with mainly couples being affected. For instance, between March and June, 409 people are said to have recorded cases of life-threatening assault from different parts of the country.
The worrying trend has also affected the younger generation with the report revealing that the youngest person to have taken their life was aged 9 years. The oldest was aged 76 years.
Consequently, the Kenya National Police Service annual crime report also shows that between 2015 and 2018, 1,442 persons were reported to have attempted suicide.
Read: 28-year-old Migori Mother Tries To Kill Her Four Children Before Committing Suicide
The Central Kenya region is leading with 181 suicide cases. It is closely followed by Rift Valley with 68 cases, Nyanza 67 cases, Nairobi 63 cases, Eastern region 57 cases, Western region 29, Coastal region 14 and North Eastern with 3 cases.
County wise, Kiambu county leads having recorded 109 suicide cases, followed by Murang’a with 37 cases, Kisii 25, Kakamega 24, Nyeri 21, Kisumu 21, Embu 20 Uasin Gishu 18, Nakuru, Makueni and Bomet 17 cases each.
What leads a normal grown man to suicide? Have seen cripples and terminally ill people fighting to live so I really fail to understand.
Pengine ni mademoni ama other mental issues.
If you have nothing to live up to, nobody to hold your hand when you are at your worst, and nobody gives a fuck about you including your people it’s possible someone can take their lives. i know of someone who ended up killing himself coz he began isolating himself from people, he was later found dead kwake when he failed to pay his rent and the agent alikuwa anakuja kufunga nyumba an kifuli since he was not picking his phone. kumbe the guy got fired, had no one to lean on tried his best to apply for jobs, depression started and he was gone like that after he finished his savings. He was an orphan so no parents.
So sad
This is a very sad reality.
Christianity is a scam though.
Saa zingine mwanaume alipata job Nairabi akaacha boma Kiambu ikiwa sawa, bibi anamtumia pesa vizuri, watoto wanakula vizuri, school fees & everything paid on time.
Lakini anarudi home siku moja anapata kunguru kumbe occasionally anakuwa serviced na mwanaume mwingine. Bibi kukulwa nje is not even what hurts these men but the fact that this man realizes he is being used is what hurts them to depression & suicide.
But generally adopting the white culture of capitalism was a big mistake.
Communism always ensures that everyone is connected. Also women have to always be kept in check by the society otherwise lots of men will just continue commiting suicide
Islam is not a solution my friend. Your religion is built on violence and chaos. Look at how Muslim immigrants from north Africa and Arab world have messed up West Europe
Depression Is real and is something should be tackled kwanza covid fucked things up for most people.Having good friends is what will help you but youths tend to start using drugs and alcohol making things worse.
What makes a 9 year old commit suicide? Must have been leading a very miserable life.
Harassment from parents and siblings
Lack of meaning in almost everything
People like to say ati ni poverty imefanya watu wajiuwe but it’s not. Imagine what our great, great ancestors went through in the 1850s na I’m sure they were happy. What about African slaves picking cotton on white farms in the US? Imagine the stress, mbona hawakujiuwa? I’ve met people who grew up in the 1930s, 40s during world wars and colonialism but they never committed suicide despite having every reason to do it. What has happened ni demonic activity has increased, such that even those who have all material benefits and more are losing hope in life. Why?? This battle isn’t easy.
Hii kitu watu wengi huchukulia kama mzaha but there is nothing worse than a man to try all his best to make sure that his family is well in these times of covid and then his ego is fked by a wayward wife… And then on top of that he finds out the kids weren’t even his…
There is a lady I know mwenye ashawahi fanya ivo jamaa…
Did he murder himself?
Yeah… He had confided in his brother… Alikua ameambia dame he was ready to continue as a family ata kama watoto si wake… She refused… A young guy aged 26-27…
Oh my God! So saddening
Had i not taken you in and rehabilitated you,only gods know where you would be today.
Pombe haramu ni mbaya my dear
very sad guyz lets inculcate talking to each other. ukiwa kwa bar na uko na uwezo just buy a guy who is down pombe
In the last three months 106 people commited suicide in kiambu county while the entire North Eastern Province had only three cases.
What is not happening in kiambu?