Kiambu family seeks answers over death of daughter

https://nation.africa/kenya/counties/kiambu/kiambu-family-seeks-answers-over-death-of-daughter-2727572

A family in Kabete, Kiambu County, has asked the police to intensify investigations into circumstances surrounding the disappearance and subsequent death of their daughter.

Ms Mercy Wanjiru Mwangi, who worked in the accounts department of Kenya Agricultural and Livestock Research Organization (Kalro), went missing on the evening of October 19, moments after leaving her father’s house for a nearby kiosk to buy mobile phone airtime. Her body was later found following a search by the family.

Her father, Mr Joseph Mwangi, indicated in his police report that Ms Wanjiru had made almost 20 distress calls to him between noon and 1pm on the fateful day claiming that three colleagues were trying to force her to sign a document.

He told her to go to his house in in Kamuguga, Kabete, where she was to spend the night instead of going to her house in Kabuku Estate near Kikuyu.

When she arrived at her father’s home at around 6.30pm, she found her mother, Ms Lucy Muthoni, with some of her other siblings.

According to Ms Muthoni, her daughter stayed for about 20 minutes before excusing herself to go and buy airtime from a nearby shop.

That was the last time the family would see her alive.

After a brief search, and failing to reach her on phone, they reported the matter to officers at Kikuyu Police Station.

[SIZE=6]Body found[/SIZE]
On October 23, Mr Mwangi says he received a phone call from an investigating officer who advised him to go to City Mortuary as a body fitting the description of his daughter had been retrieved from a hole filled with water.

“When we went to the mortuary, we found that the said body was of our sister Wanjiru. Shockingly, the jacket on her body was not the one she left with,” said Ms Wanjiru’s brother.

A postmortem report notes that she died from drowning. But the family now wants further investigations.

Her body has since been moved to Kabati Mortuary, Murang’a County, ahead of the burial on the November 3.

At the scene where the body was retrieved, Mr Mwangi said on-lookers who included the land owner told the police the farmer discovered the body while trying to fetch water from the hole for irrigation. The lid to the hole had been sealed from outside using some wires.

“There are many questions. I hope the police will unravel the death of our daughter”, says Mr Mwangi

Pesa ya sponsor iko na uchungu. Ukikula pesa kuwa ready kuvua suruali.

mbona hunanga akili my fren:D

But from the father’s statement she was being forced to sign some documents. She was an accountant in a public institution. So, may be there was fraud that she as being forced to cover up.

The father handled the issue too lightly.
Telling her to go home was playing Russian roulette and now he is minus a daughter.
The right thing was to tell her to head to the nearest police station to report the incident then tell her to stay there until he got there.
I hope he can live with himself

Stupid comment. Ukinyimwa sasa you kill them? Personally even insulting a woman sababu amekunyima ni ujinga tupu

He will certainly regret for the rest of his life when he thinks through it. For now, she is gone and justice will be very hard to come by in Kenya. In fact, they might come for his life too.

But why die for your employer? Angeitikia tu and then report it to her bosses later

This depends on a person’s wisdom. Working for a public institution especially in accounts, finance and procurement is suicidal. If you go there, be ready to compromise or avoid working there from the word go.

Hindsight is always right.

I would definitely say the same thing if I was a uncaring, cowardly or lazy father/husband/sibling.

@T.Vercetti
Leta summary:D
jamaa ametoa maoni ya rumuruti kwenu

You like that troll sana. How come?

Ok
I love him
get lost negroe
plant a bamboo tree
repeat
come back
meffi wewe ya funda ìno

Weuh! Tenderprenuers aren’t messing around… i hope the will catch up with them.

At least ume confess. Mgoje najua hayuko mbali

Which means she went to the shop around 7pm? a v dangerous hour for women in most parts of Kiambu. Why did she not buy the credit on her way in?
Anyway hope the culprit will be caught. But this being Kenya…MSRIP.

It is not clear why she would not even send somebody else to do so, or even use M-Pesa and other means… may be there is more to the story than we are reading… I wish them justice, though it will be tough

There are a few questions lingering but the dead don’t speak…

mundu khu mundu
foolish farmer:D
Rumuruti na Texas hakuna tofauti