Kenya's Startup SokoWatch Launches Electric Tuktuks In Kampala Uganda

[SIZE=6][COLOR=rgb(184, 49, 47)]The Future Is Electric!![/SIZE]
Tuk tuks are not a rare sight across many African countries but one new fleet of the three-wheeled vehicles, silently making its way onto the streets of the Ugandan capital Kampala, is different. Kenya-based firm Sokowatch is deploying electric tuk tuks to deliver goods to small retailers, in what is claimed as a first for the continent. It’s a move that could provide a welcome option in cities across the region grappling with growing air pollution from gridlocked highways. But for Sokowatch, it’s also about slashing maintenance costs. Mary Majorine Nankyinga is a mechanical engineer who manages the fleet. "Now we are connecting the battery. It has to fix tight.

[ATTACH=full]337405[/ATTACH]

In this case we are supposed to see a display when we turn on. Here is our display, the battery life is at 100 percent." Chief executive Daniel Yu describes electric vehicles as the future of mobility across Africa. Admittedly, Sokowatch currently has just eight electric tuk tuks in Uganda compared to 178 that are gasoline powered but the company is looking to deploy an additional eight in Rwanda before rolling out the vehicles to Kenya and Tanzania, and Yu says they’re looking to expand into West Africa next year.

[ATTACH=full]337406[/ATTACH]

what advantage do we get now that its an electric tuktuk?

The owner gets the advantange since the costs of batteries per wattage is going down every year. An electric tuktuk has fewer moving part as opposed to petrol powered one, this translates to fewer breakages. The lower costs of operation will be passed on to the customer

tutaenda sasa kununua diesel na diesel generator ndio tuhakikishe pesa ina circulate na inafika mashinani

kwa theory huwa mnafunzwa ivo lakini mkienda practicals mnapata theory ilikua assumptions tu, kwa ground sio vile mnafikiria.
kuna company ilibuy nissan leaf hapa kenya, ask them why they are not buying more.

The people selling those tuktuks use petrol cars.

Why din’t they launch in Kenya

You will keep denying this until there will be no choice for you but to go electric. The Wright Brothers were the Laughing stock in their home town for 7 years, but today nobody laughs when a C5 Globemaster takes off with 130 Tonnes.
[ATTACH=full]337417[/ATTACH]

.Guglielmo Giovanni Maria Marconi was also the laughing stock in his home town when he was working on the first radio telegraph, yet today you can’t leave your house without youe Mobile which is basically a radio reciver and transimitter merged into one.

Bottom line is the Oil Corporations have always wanted to kill the electric car dream but at this juncture it is unstoppable.

Batteries technology is advancing very quickly. Increasing Wattage to Weight ratio. In the year 2001 when I got my first mobile phone a Siemens A35 the batteries were huge and shortlived (650mAH) today my phone has a 5000mAH battery that weighs less than those year 2001 batteries with 5 time more power.

Now to your argument about Nissan Leaf and it is the same case with Toyota Prius and Honda Insight: These cars are too computerized they even have regenerative braking system. This is a system that is used to capture Kinetic Energy of the car during braking and is used to recharge the batteries again, in a normal car this energy is wasted as Heat on the Disk brakes, so in Kenya there are no advanced garages for these types of cars. Then their batteries are not interchangable if its a Prius you have to get them from Toyota, Nissan the same, but these Tuk tuks use Generic batteries that are mass produced in China.
[ATTACH=full]337421[/ATTACH]

This Tuk tuk are simply the normal Petrol powered tricycles with the engine pulled out and replaced with electric motor and a battery. Its controller module is the size of a Neon Ray phone

Actually, electric and lpg tuktuks are common in India and Sri Lanka too. Another good side of an electric tuktuk is that it does not create a noise racket like the ones we have.

@Ndindu now that electric tuktuks have so many advantages, why are hustlers avoiding them? ama petroleum companies zimemwaga pesa kwa hustlers? Kwa lab, kwa ideal situation, ile time “all factors held constant”… electric tuktuks ziko sawa. lakini huku nje kuna factors mingi sana hauzingatii. kelele sio shida, hakuna mtu amecomplaim juu ya kelele, so hakuna mtu atanunua gari eti juu haina kelele. bei ya umeme kenya haujaconsider io pia. hakuna mtu atabeba customer na hajui battery itaishia moto wapi. hakuna mtu ataharibu time akingoja battery iingie moto, wenzake wa petrol wakiwa stage wanabeba

Kenya mko sorted
[ATTACH=full]337422[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]337423[/ATTACH]

Another aspect is that Conversion from petrol to Electric has created jobs in Kigali and Kampala. They are also doing for Petrol to LPG.

Electric Tuk Tuk Weighs less thereby increasing payload. No Exhaust, Fuel tanks just Battery, Motor(s), Controller)
[ATTACH=full]337427[/ATTACH]

LOOK Here. This technology is in its infancy today in the year 2020. By 2024-2025 There will Quick Charge facilities in most Petrol Stations around the world. Assimilation of technology assumes a bell shaped curve today we are here
[ATTACH=full]337428[/ATTACH]

This is piece of crap

Meanwhile pale Kakamega Rain Forest ngoja Wekesa akate 300 year old Oak tree achomee makaa na atengenze meza na kitanda
[ATTACH=full]337430[/ATTACH]

Acha ushamba mzee! Lumbering hasn’t happened in KK rainforest for decades. The same applies to Arabuko Sokoke

Hapa ni DRC msee

And they chose to launch in Uganda and not Kenya. Fuck the Government!!

Ndindu sometimes you confuse matters. Trees have to be harvested like any other crop, provided you plant others.

It is not sustainable to chop down an indigenous 200 year old tree and plant an exotic tree that nature had not inteded to grow in that region of the earth. Cyprus and pine are corniferous trees meant to be grown in Winter experiencing zones such as North America and Northern Europe, that is why they are shaped that way, for snow to slide and fall.

Nice, I’ve learned something new.