[SIZE=4]What is safaricom’s edge in this? Can they drive Uber out of Kenya?
$$$$$$$$$$[/SIZE]
By Reuters | Thursday, Jun 9th 2016 at
Kenya’s biggest telecoms company Safaricom is joining up with a local software firm to launch a ride-hailing company to take on Uber as it seeks new sources of revenue, its chief executive said.
Swafi Monday tunaenda interview
Within a few years it will make billions to add to the many billions they already have. Then someone will start asking that Safcom should be stopped because others can’t keep up. Innovate, diversify and risk otherwise you will shutdown.
Uber has a shit load more money than they do, and it is their core business not a side thing like Safcom
What happened to their betting co?
Relax any competition is good for us the consumers. I’m encouraging more competition and participation not complains.
Saf has an edge on this i think.considering its already existing client base n government security contract its like they already have public info n potential partners details even before the roll it out.lets face it,given a choice everyone would feel safer using the saf services than uber keeping in mind hao ndio huchunga cctv za gava.
Plus its easier for them to push adverts to more than 25mil subscribers within thier network with free txts.
hii kitu wamewin b4 ata waanze.
I can imagine their promotion: Hi-five a taxi, get 3GB Internet bundle; Pepea na Saf Taxi!
[ATTACH=full]43425[/ATTACH]
FAIL!
Uber has a global presence, safaricom has a presence only in Kenya how are they going to compete
I would go for Safaricom any day. I was thinking of buying a uber taxi but just been informed that when Safcom first announced their plan. 6000 cabs were availed in one week. With Lipa Na Mpesa game imeisha.
It doesn’t matter. May the best company win though Safcom might be chewing more than it can chew.
Ati?:D:D
I think it would be more of a patnership with the company littlecabs,already they have 2k cabs which they bought from easytaxi when they wind up.but competition is good for consumers but who needs free wifi in a cab for short distance?most guys who use cabs do not need it anyway.
Was about to enter into uber business but after doing some research hio biashara nikama ya quail,iko watu watapiga nduru.
Your findings??
. For now uber members are raking in a profit of around 200k.per month thus encouraging many entrants and in the long term it will be flooded with many cars,kwa ufupi it’s another bubble burst in Waiting.
How about the app that was developed by taxi saccos to rival uber. The problem with safcom is that want to copy and do all businesses that are hot in the market
- Big box - when set top boxes were in demand
- Betting company - just recently when betting started picking
- Rival uber app
Ask yourself how have those businesses they have started fared so far and you will get your answer as to how this one will go.
Yep. Read the comment by @Avalance above.