Pombe… you can hear Kikuyu in the video
Niliwaambia nikienda mayolo I will lie lower than an envelope. The only time mtakuwa mnaniona is when naenda kusaka lanye matako kubwa, pombe na nyama na nikienda job of which nitachukua the most hidden corner with my back against the wall ndio nione anyone approaching.
So u have never been to buckingham palace MI6
Luos can never carry themselves with such barbarism. We’re 2 cultured and elegant.
True boss. That barbarism is for Okuyus like @Straw_man Nyambura.
It is a matter of if and not when. Lakini inategemea mwalimu wako alikuwa nani.
Then depression will be the end of you
You have two options while abroad:
-
Stay in your comfort zone (churches, parties, restaurants, clubs, events) - These are the people who choose to live in cities that have a lot of Kenyans because they are little children who miss the feeling of papa Ruto and mama Rachel. They are in America but they still live like they would in Kenya.
-
Wash yourslelf anew in the blood of your new country of residence - These are the people who figure out what the people in the new country do for a living, for fun…how they live life and then immerse themselves in that culture. They accept the new country as their own.
The first option is likely to stall your progress and might even lead to your death (as seen above). The second option guarantees that you actually live a longer and more fulfilling life.
Lakini sasa niulize, mbona unatoka Kenya alafu unaenda Federal Way (Washington State) kukula nyama pale Lims Lounge ama Rafiki Lounge kila weekend, Sunday uko kanisa ya PCEA sijui pale Kent, alafu Monday jioni unakula ugali na nyama kwa Njoroge talking about which new Kenyans have arrived, who is building flats in Umoja, who is opening a new Adult Family Home, nani sijui ameingia chini ya maji sijui nini nini nini. But such is life.
An old cat once told me ukienda mayolo, keep your countrymen at an arm’s length. Other than stunting you with their prejudices, they will be more than happy to see your ass on the next deportation flight ukirudi kwa vumbi. Be wary.
The biggest problem I see is “crabs in a bucket” mentality. If you do extremely well for yourself, there are those Kenyans who won’t hesitate to throw in slick comments to remind you that you’re “still nigga”. I’ve actually seen this in action. One of my boys came to America on a full scholarship and after graduating, he obviously got a very nice job in corporate America. Alikuwa anapenda sana kwenda church za Wakenya na izo events zao. Then siku moja nikamuuliza why he doesn’t go to church anymore akanishow hao wasee ni kama walikuwa na wivu. Apparently, there’s some old heads uko kwa church who would tell him to remember that he is still an immigrant no matter how educated and professional he was. I mean, who tells someone that? There are things you don’t say out loud. We get it, there are some challenges that come with being Black but it’s not cool to tell the successful Blacks around that they’re still Black after they become successful. That doesn’t make any sense at all.
This mentality is mostly found in the shaggzmodos who came here through the DV Lottery program. They take American history loosely in the sense that their minds interpret certain lingo as law (yaani msee anasema ata ukiwa successful aje you’re still nigga sababa he listened to some Jay-Z song or saw it somewhere on Twitter). In my experience, the most well-adjusted Kenyans I’ve met came here for undergrad. Anyone who came here at 30 doesn’t understand how things work and have no capacity to interpret cultural trends in any meaningful way.
Ni kama nikutane na Eliud Kipchoge pale White House alafu juu niko na kiwaru nimwambie “You’re still Kenyan/Black/nigga” or whatever. Like that’s very low IQ behavior. Wakenya wako ivo.
You can do both. Stay in touch just enough to stay informed. I think with age I’ve been shocked how much Kenyans abroad create their own ways ( you learn from them and add into your knowledge) but also you MUST always be out front into the community. I began with the latter… made a genuine name for myself in the local communities then turned around and started interacting with fellow Kenyans and other immigrants. There’s benefit to both sides. They key is to know how to deal with people
You can do that but as you grow older, life gets busier so you can’t do multiple things at once. Unatoka this wedding and go to that party, then go to so and so event. It becomes more important to pick a social space and run with it. Otherwise you’ll be that guy at 50 with nothing to his name because you were hellbent on fitting in everywhere.
In fact, if you find yourself getting along and being friends with everyone, then that’s a sign that you’re lost. Humans and especially men, need to be POLARIZING. You need to automatically attract some people/communities and also repel others. I actually learned this firsthand from my own experiences. I make it a point to be as polarizing as possible. I know what kind of people I want around me and those that I shouldn’t bother entertaining.
Hivyo ndio huwa unajipata you’re a people pleaser. Ujue when you mesh with everyone, that takes a lot of time away from yourself because your attention now has to be divided among all these useless people around you. Be ruthless. Know who your people are and don’t bother with the rest (a polite hi and move on immediately kind of energy) is a better way to cruise around life in my opinion. When I was younger, I was so worried about coming across as unlikeable so I’d try to be friendly and respectful to everyone and it cost me too many opportunities. Every second spent around people you can’t see yourself with long-term is a second you should have been spending nurturing bonds with those you see are aligned with you.
My two cents. Had to write an essay because I’ve shot myself in the foot too many times to count but I learned my lesson.
One thing about nugu za majuu wanapenda kudinyiana sana.. regardless of age. Especially if you run in circles where alcohol is involved..but really any of the Kenyan groupings swapping partners is an open secret. With that kind of dynamic kuuliwa ni rahisi.
I am yet to see an elegant and cultured baboon. Robert Alai, Kaluma, Gaucho? ![]()
Lanyes majuu will set you back $200 minimum. The Kenyan prices you are used to will only get you a drug addict or an Onlyfans whore
Why are you making the assumption that sitakuwa na hio $200?
I think you’ve got this wrong. You’re talking on broader terms. You absolutely must pick the best of everything from every community. For YOURSELF. If you found yourself without purpose, that’s on you. Glad you found your way shortly after. There’s things that are good at certain places or people; ie sports ukitaka kuwa better, Kenyans will shape you up quickly. You take that advantage. If you want to know any deals go add to your professional, Africans seem to have some good ones. You don’t do it like them, but you get the vision.
You aren’t pleasing everyone; but of course you’ll be nice to people as well. Those bridges you’ll cross again . Life is asymmetric
Must be those chaotic South Sudanese guys giving Australian authorities hell since they moved there.
Reports of “South Sudanese causing chaos in Australia,” particularly in Melbourne around 2016-2018, often referred to media sensationalism and moral panic around “African gangs,” linked to incidents at festivals and public spaces involving some young people from diverse backgrounds, including Sudanese Australians, though actual gang structures were disputed. These events highlighted issues like intergenerational conflict, racism, media bias, and the struggles of refugee integration, with South Sudanese leaders calling for community support, not just condemnation, as many faced significant hardship and discrimination.
Are you any different?