Kenyan Stereotypes that are completely Wrong

1.Not every Coasterian is a Muslim.

2.Taitas are NOT Mijikenda.

3.Pokomos are NOT Mijikenda.

4.Swahilis are NOT Banjunis.

1. Not everyone from The Coast lives in Mombasa and has access to Mabuyu(Tamarind) or Nazi(Coconut) or is 20 minutes from a Beach.It’s an ‘Area’ of 79,686.1 km sq. for Gaadsake.

2. The Taveta are a completely Different Ethnic Group from The Taita, and Burrofcourse Yes,Wataveta exist.

7.Kikuyu and Meru do not even share Verbs and Nouns;just Grammatical Structure. Meru should actually be more closer to Maa (Verbs and Nouns) than Kikuyu.
Most Merus must learn Kikuyu and switch to it in Mixed Company,but if A Meru speaks Kimeru, Kikuyus at best catch every fifth Word and they even have to struggle with The Accent because Kimeru is thicker on the Tongue. Dont I hate it when Kiyuks just assume that because Merus are their ‘cousins’ Merus must automatically know Kikuyu and so always speak Kiyuk to Merus? I dont gerrit, if a meru listens to old kikuyu like what Kamaru sang, they cant understand jack.

1. Tharaka and Tigania is closer to Kamba and Chuka/Chogoria is closer to Embu than to Meru, the lingo is so different that a Meru from Central Meru will not understand the Tharaka/Tigania dialect the same way an Embu will have a hard time understanding the Mbeere.

Copy pasted. But good stuff!

You know a lot about Coast and Meru. Surely you must know something about kolombo na alele ?

Mabuyu is not Tamarind…Tamarind is “ukwaju”. Mabuyu are made from the seeds of the Baobab tree (mbuyu).

[ATTACH=full]201339[/ATTACH]

Mabuyu

[ATTACH=full]201340[/ATTACH]

Leo for the first time umeandika kitu ya maana.
Thanks alot @Georgina Makena aka @Msalame Grace.

Hapa boss umedanganya wabara…

Had also stereotyped you. Till you proved me wrong…and you have continued to disappoint.

Hata mimi ni mbaara so these things also confuse me …

What do you call Haluwa in Englisch? Theres a guy in downtown Malindi who has got so many varieties of this thing. Its awesome if you have a sweet tooth not tooooo sweet like dates.

This is Swahili Haluwa

[ATTACH=full]201369[/ATTACH]

But I prefer the Indian Haluwa available at Sweety Sweets Westlands, near Eldama Ravine Road pahali road inajengwa and in HighRidge In the building opposite where Nakumatt Highridge is/was…

http://www.91recipes.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/IMG_1597-720x480.jpg

It’s actually called Halva

[ATTACH=full]201372[/ATTACH]

I think it depends on the viscocity, if its more solid its halwa if its not its halva or the both names are used interchangeably? Here the more solid ones are labeled Halwa while the lighter ones are Halva. Its also similar to Kesari and sheera.

https://www.indianhealthyrecipes.com/halwa-recipes-sheera-recipe/

[SIZE=6]Halwa vs. Halvah: An Investigation[/SIZE]
BY: KHUSHBU SHAH
https://assets.tastecooking.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/shutterstock_386223472.jpg
[SIZE=7]Are they different spellings of the same sweet, two variations on a theme, or two different things altogether?[/SIZE]
My sophomore-year roommate and I were total polar opposites: I was premed, battling through too many organic chemistry equations, while she studied for a yoga final as part of her musical-theater major. But one sunny October afternoon, in the narrow kitchen of our New York City dorm room, we discovered we had a mutual love of halvah—or so I thought. She pulled a tub from the cabinet, and when I peered inside I was confronted by a beige, dry mass that looked more like an experiment from my chem-lab exam than dessert. I found myself even more confused when all I could smell was sesame. It was ridiculously delicious and nothing like the fudgy pudding-esque dessert I grew up eating by the bowlful.
My roommate was gifted the halvah by a friend who had recently returned from a trip to Israel, and like many, I had assumed that halvah and halwa (not to mention halva, helva, and halava) were all different names for the same dessert. But in South Asian cultures, halwa rarely, if ever, involves sesame seeds. Instead, it is a pudding-like mixture made in its most basic form from a combination of ghee, sugar or jaggery, and some form of flour, cooked over a stove top until thick and creamy, and eaten with a spoon.
South Asians have this uncanny ability to turn pretty much anything into halwa. It is basically the hidden superpower of my people (that and drinking an incredible amount of chai). As long as something can be cooked down with ghee and sugar, it can be turned into halwa—nothing is off limits. Some of the most common versions include halwas made from lentils (namely moong daal), vermicelli noodles, and vegetables like carrot and bottle gourd. Someone has even figured out how to transform kiwis and sliced bread in halwa.
https://assets.tastecooking.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/shutterstock_532693009.jpg
Halavah at the Carmel Market in Tel Aviv is different from moong dal halwa (pictured above). But it’s also kinda the same.
Halwa is not an everyday dessert in the way, say, a pint of ice cream is after a bad day, but it’s not reserved solely for special occasions like an île flottante. Instead, it tends to live in the realm of small celebrations. My first vivid childhood memories of halwa were on the weekends after events at the local Hindu temple. We’d all file into the basement for lunch and without fail there was always sheero (also frequently called sooji halwa) at the end of the table served for prasad (a religious blessing). I was bad at praying, but I was great at consuming sheero. Essentially a dense but soft porridge made from semolina, ghee, and sugar, the versions I loved best were always spiked with cashews and raisins.
This felt like a world away from the candy-like nutty Israeli halvah my roommate introduced me to. The version she showed me is more often than not pareve (a classification in Judaism denoting that a food is dairy-free), crumblier in texture, and frequently eaten as a sweet treat or baked into other desserts. So how did they have essentially the same name even though they, like me and my roommate, were essentially the polar opposite of one another?
I emailed Ken Albala, a food historian and professor at the University of the Pacific, who had a surprisingly simple explanation. He believes the word “halva” (as well as the dish itself) is Persian or Arabic in origin and simply means a sweet, semisolid fudge that can be made from practically anything. Albala believes the dessert traveled to India and Pakistan with the Mughal empire and flourished with local ingredients like carrots. In Greece and Turkey, halvah is usually made from semolina and honey. Israeli halvah’s sesame base can be attributed to trade routes. “Sesame is native to Africa and was imported to the Middle East via Egypt and then grown in the Middle East. So you find it in the cooking a lot, like tahini.” Sesame was never quite as plentiful in South Asia, making alternative ingredients more popular.
Regardless of how different they are in taste and texture, I’ve come to love both of these sugary cousins equally. Halvah has become one of my favorite ice cream toppings—crumbled and spooned over some soft serve—while I still find myself craving bowls of sooji halwa and carrot halwa (ideally straight from the fridge) on weekend mornings. I’m just waiting for the day someone figures out how to make halvah halwa.
https://assets.tastecooking.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/halwa-halva-yossy-arefi-4734.jpg[SIZE=5][B]Basic Sesame Halvah[/B][/SIZE]
6-8 servings
INGREDIENTS

[li]2 cups high-quality honey[/li][li]1½ cups tahini[/li][li]1 cup chopped almonds or pistachios[/li][/ul]

While sesame-based halvah often has a crumbly, fudge-like texture when it’s made with sugar, this version made with honey is glossy and caramel-like. For a little bit of added crunch, add chopped pistachios or almonds.

[ol]
[li]Grease a loaf pan and set aside. Pour honey into a nonstick pot on medium heat. Let it warm up until it hits 240° F and set aside.[/li][li]Stir the tahini to make sure that it is thoroughly combined (tahini is usually quite separated in the jar). Pour into a small nonstick pot and heat the tahini until it hits 120° F.[/li][li]Slowly but steadily pour the tahini into the honey. Stir constantly with a wooden spoon or silicon spatula for at least 5 minutes, until the mixture is well combined.[/li][li]Now is the time to fold in any nuts if you’re using them. Then continue to stir the mixture for another 8 or so minutes, until it begins to stiffen. Then pour into the loaf pan and let it cool to room temperature. Cover with cling film and refrigerate for 24 hours.[/li][li]Remove the halvah from the loaf pan and chop into pieces.[/li][/ol]
https://assets.tastecooking.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/halwa-halva-yossy-arefi-4714.jpg[SIZE=5][B]Gajar Halwa (Carrot Halwa)[/B][/SIZE]
8 servings
INGREDIENTS

[li]2 tablespoons ghee[/li][li]2 pounds carrots (peeled and grated)[/li][li]4 cups whole milk[/li][li]1¼ cups granulated sugar[/li][li]¼ cup powdered milk[/li][li]2 teaspoons ground cardamom[/li][li]handful of mixed nuts, like almonds and cashews, for topping[/li][/ul]

In this Indian halwa, carrots are cooked in sugar, spice, and milk until they become soft and pudding-like. You can serve this warm, sprinkled with nuts, or eat it by the spoonful, straight from the fridge the next day.

[ol]
[li]Melt the ghee in a nonstick pot over medium heat and add the grated carrots. Stir for 4 to 5 minutes, or until the carrots are softened.[/li][li]Add the milk to the pot and continue to stir until the milk is completely evaporated.[/li][li]Add in the sugar. The sugar will release a lot of moisture, so keep stirring the mixture until the moisture evaporates. Apologize to your arm.[/li][li]Then add the milk powder to the pot. Stir to combine and cook for 4 to 5 minutes, or until the mixture thickens. Then stir in the cardamom powder.[/li][li]Garnish with nuts if you want. Serve hot or chilled.[/li][/ol]

@TrumanCapote … are you a tree holder??n why would kaimati,halua,mabuyu etc interest you that much?? hiyo tunawaachia akina Fatuma na Khadijah…any way post ni ya stereo types ambao tunaamini huu ni umama…

wewe ni mgeni keti pale, kwani hujui @TrumanCapote is none other than @GeorginaMakena

Im not sure -maybe am transitioning, you’re welcome to check. Theres no male/female interest, some of the best chefs are men and some of the best chess players are women. So hizo ni stereotypes za kwako dont project them on me.THERE IS NO MALE/FEMALE INTEREST. Its based on an individual.

You know better…

Damn…so much knowledge in one single thread

http://www.ngkenya.com/photos/adansonia_digitata-fr.jpghttp://flatrock.org.nz/static/frontpage/assets/environment/buy_british_baobab.jpghttp://www.farmers.co.zw/wp-content/uploads/2018/06/mauyu.jpghttps://blog.mysuperfoods.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/03/baobab2.jpgalafu weka colour,flavour na sukari and all’s good

and because @Bhai can’t pronounce [FONT=courier new]Vee[/FONT] but [FONT=courier new]Wee [/FONT][FONT=arial]it became halwa:D:D:D:D:D[/FONT]

Not all kamba chics are sex freaks, not all kiuk chics are gold diggers

ice ya CHWAA huwa tamu saidi