Kenyan Politics Series (S01;EP02): The Kikuyu Elite Political Game

TL;DR: In short the Kiuk elite’s game is simple, “Anything good for Kenya will only be done by us after it is agreed by us and we benefit from it first, everyone else must be blocked. If an outsider gets in, let them build and eat for themselves like we have.”

If you are emotional doke, just stop reading.

The Kuik elite believes that they are born to rule the region that is Kenya. A famous politician stated that back in 1991in parliament back when Moi was being pressured to bring back multi-party politics.
One way to ensure they stay in the lead is to play both sides of the fence when an ‘outsider’ is president. In 1992, 1997, 2002, 2013 and now watch out for 2027 and 2032, they will be among the noise criticizing the government.

Another means used is sabotage. Now that Ruto is president, and also during Moi’s time, you get to see much noise being made against the same things done by Kibaki and Uhuru. If Ruto decides to go to the world bank for help or the Eurobond route, you will witness noise like no other and this time the noise will be funneled to seem like it is coming from one RAO, yes, to seemingly make it look like RAO is behind it (this is necessary for future partnership with the Kale elite, RAO and Luos will be labelled as misleading and wanting nothing good for the country) but the endgame is the same, make Ruto incapable of doing anything substantial. This noise is evident on the internet, take for example the pinned post on the Politics section about Ruto’s appointment of Kales. Uhuru and Kibaki did the same, but did we get a pinned thread about ‘tracking the numbers’? Kenyatta-I ruled until he died as a sitting president but would they let Moi do the same? Double-standards is the game.

This sabotage can be seen in other areas as well. Were it a leader from a different tribe enforcing the same so called ‘Michuki rules’, he/she would have been met with great resistance and strikes. If it was a Kiuk trying to move out Matatus from the CBD as Sakaja attempted to, the support would have been great with minimal resistance that would have been dealt with. When RAO was minister for public works and took onto himself to demolish properties on road reserves, he was labelled as a Luo out to destroy Kiuk property but when Uhuru did it during the construction of his ‘kufunika watu macho’ city highways, the support was great. You cannot do anything great unless that elite ‘allows’ you to. This serves their purpose to ensure it is only when a Kiuk is president that ‘great things’ happen – quite a nice game if you are on their side. Simply put, “Let’s ensure all other communities look incompetent to rule Kenya” – artificially. I remember a certain political activist who mentioned one time in the news that one time he was in Nyeri at a library, or someplace like that where they display political history memorabilia, and he noticed that Moi’s portrait was missing from the portraits of Kenyan presidents – funny. That activist rarely gets invited to media interviews nowadays :D.

The Kiuk elite achieve again uses the media as a power struggle medium. Do you think it is a coincidence that all media outlets are blasting Ruto and heavily publicizing the ongoing demos? Do you think it is a coincidence that every Kiuk working with Ruto is being under-toned as a sycophant? Was Ruto a sycophant when he worked with Uhuru? Why didn’t they blast Kibaki between 2002-2007 when he channeled most government revenue towards projects benefiting one region only?

By the time we get close to elections, the media will be used to condition the ‘rest’ that ‘we are in this fight together’ and then front a saviour, from you know where and give as much coverage as possible to make him/her look saintly. Videos from these demos will be played out in news to remind us about what we are ridding ourselves of as a country and what we should look towards to - that’s the elite’s media game. That game happened circa 2001-2002 where you had Moi hecklers from radio to TV stations but then suddenly the hecklers went quiet.

The other way the Kiuk elite worked is by enforcing a Kiuk hegemony. Every public school history lesson has focused on the mau mau as the lead freedom fighters, but now we all understand that Kenya is big enough to have been fought for by a legion of less than a thousand with nothing more than two stolen pistols and machetes. The colonial powers just let go of Africa to welcome the new dawn of global human rights and contemporary globo organizations and just left the powers in the hands of those they knew very well would bring nothing much different but just looting. From Kenyatta to Mugabe, most leaders who inherited the colonial powers just went ahead to colonize their own people and loot from them and the white men knew well in advance the kind of people they are handing over to.

The direction Kenya is now moving towards is where real capitalists dictate the economy and just governmnet funding/favoritism. This has greatly demolished the Kikuyu elites garbage mantra that Kiuks are astout business people and play a greater role in building the economy. Now the economy doesn’t care about tribe, we are more than 50 million and you cannot control who gets wealthy or not. Only a few kiuks can now benefit from government favoritism and the rest of them join the struggle of fellow Kenyans. You see that lie of kiuks and business was majorly used to dismiss demos and leaders from other regions through propaganda. “Ati if RAO becomes president, Luos won’t pay rent”, “If a Maasai get political strength he/she will destroy the Kiuks” and other nonsense. How many kiuks own rental property? How many kiuks own land in ‘other’ regions large enough to do worthwhile farming?
The truth is now coming out, Indians, whites and Arabs helped build Kenya from independence through the years to date, what?

The other game by that elite is: build, eat then leave. Yeah grow the economy buy taking up loans, loot it all and let the next guy fix the mess. Ruto and his cronies should learn from that, let him go all over Europe and whatever small he manages to build, they should loot it all by the time he is leaving office – this is a bad trend for the country generally speaking but again, if you think politicians care about you as a citizen, then you haven’t being paying attention.

One thing you gotta give it to the Kiuk Elite is their art at being managers/masters. Use and dump is the game. Even right now, RAO/Watermelon are being used and will be dumped when the right time comes. They are simply handymen. This again, also happenned circa 1950-1963. In Nairobi people from all regions joined Mau mau and supported Kadu/Kanu but once independence happened, we all know the names and surnames used in writing the struggle-history.

Next Episode Trailer: The Luo (RAO) & Luhya Elite Game – A Case of D.O.A

Umafwi post

Very good analysis.

I have noticed the propaganda part on media. Citizen will definitely support baba through SK macharia. Standard group not sure as Gideon Moi seems to have had a handshake with Ruto. Daily natio eh ???

Just like deep state was debunked so shall your opinion about Agikuyu. In summary all you have written is crap basically innuendos, hearsay and fertile imagination. I would recommend you write some fictional works it may work better for you.

Mpesa outage
Airport blackouts
Bad policy advise
Uganda oil saga

All state here. @Ngimanene-Na-matharo