Jana jioni I was invited by a friend to a small get together at his relatives house. Acquaintance wa hapa na pale not my usual social circle. Magari zilikuwa zimeparkiwa hapo nje ya gate kwa court.
Time ya kuenda kila mtu za kwake, Kenyans being Kenyans sasa ni kupimishana magari, Toyota, fuel consumption, spare parts blablabla…a conversation I usually do not participate in. I’d imagine light-skin pilsner would be a jolly one here. I’d parked a bit far around the corner too, a habit I picked long time ago but that’s a story for another day, so i wasn’t picked out in this dick measurement contest.
I was last to walk towards my vehicle, nikaingia gari nikaangalia email moja mbili, nikaconnect bluetoos nikapigia mrembo who would keep me company on the drive home. I’d say 5 minutes elapsed.
Driving towards exit napatana na mwenye nyumba bado ako nje akiangalia nyasi na kuhesabu mawe, but I rolled my window down and waved. Hapo ndio akajipatia shughuli kuingia kwake. Your guess is as good as mine why he waited for me to check out…
I realized that cars were a huge deal to people when my former boss called me to ask me how much I had bought my latest car for. He proceeded to nag me later on, that he wanted a car like mine. Yaani the guy even knew the year of manufacture of my own car better than me. I was like damn hope you have not been staying up at night thinking about my car. In a few months he bought a new car alafu aka relax hio story coz it had gotten to the point where if he bumps into me story ni Gari, niuzie hiyo gari yako ad nauseum. Yaani jamaa alisumbuka bcz of a car ata sio nyumba. Human beings have issues especially watu wa dunia whose identity is not in God Yaani everything makes them insecure. They have to know where everyone in the office lives . Me if I am not visiting you or we are not discussing jam on your route, why should I care where you live? Enyewe poverty is bad bcz even when you are no longer poor you still have that insecurity.
That’s the first time I realized that kumbe magari ni big deal hivi. I think the real sign of mental poverty is when other people’s property bothers you. Rather it intimidates you.
I didn’t know that people are busy asking about how many cc your car has after a meeting. Sio salaams na ku catch up? Enyewe shida ni kitu mbaya. I have never heard or overheard such a conversation after a meeting.
Self esteem yako and your associates is dependent on how many cc your car has? Hizi ni shida za wajasa. Like that my ex boss ata where you live inamsumbua. I think growing up poor can be really toxic. Yaani kila kitu ni comparison. Ama female bosses you should not have a better handbag, expensive looking shoes than hers. Longer hair than hers. I thought this competition it’s women who normally have it, mtu anakuona uso inachange. Why are human beings this insecure?
No sooner than I realize that you have this problem the way I will keep off you mpaka utashanga. Btw just keep off bcz that toxicity is contagious. You should have dignity regardless of your stature in life. For a man’s life as Jesus said does not consist on the abundance of his possessions but in the world there is nothing BUT the
1.Lust of the flesh
2.Lust of the eyes
3.PRIDE OF LIFE
That’s why munasumbuana na mambo ya cc ya Gari. I’ve forgotten my cc. Bora Gari inafika and it doesn’t break down on the way that’s all I need to know. Hio ingine achia mechanics.
But some of the inquiry is usually genuine. You probably have a rare car, new in the market which attracts curiosity. My last two cars were like that because I acquired them less than 4years after introduction into the market so i would field questions from curious strangers wherever I went. But when it comes to social gatherings gari mimi hufanya kama @kah tony …I park it very far… And if anyone asks me where I stay, a question that women love, my standard response is usually “mimi ni wa pale kangemi”. Next question is usually about school your kid attends…a very unnecessary question…and you won’t get a straight response from me…the only questions I have no problem answering are the ones touching on my educationbackground…hio nayo nitakupea from nursery.