Kenyan journalists silently suffering.

I read this piece on Tuko regarding the suffering of journalists and why the profession is facing a threat.

It is ironical how local journalists passionately publish and broadcast news about underpaid doctors, teachers and other professions, yet they do these copies on empty stomachs and pockets most of the time. Newspapers, televisions, radios and digital news platforms air educative news urging those in the labour market to join labour unions.

For one story they pay you 400 bob as a correspondent ,no retainer.
[ Brown evelope journalism will never come to an end
Utalipa nyumba aje,

How can such issues be remedied

https://www.tuko.co.ke/editorial/opinion/493914-opinion-kenyan-journalists-unite-overcome-threats-press-financial-freedom/

Journalism Sio kazi Tena,with a cheap Chinese phone and social media anybody can report news and reach a global audience

That’s citizen journalism. I am saying professional journalism

It still applies. Mbona ungoje kuona TV yet kuna witness alirecord the actual news akaweka tiktok? Very soon robots ziitareplace how anchors

Media is really changing. Even in the west, journalists are making their own podcasts and YouTube channels to supplement their incomes. Great content by the way. Much freer to dispense their style and personalities instead of following editing rules, and giving opinionated articles. It’s the reason I stopped watching news a long time ago. Traditional media companies are running paper thin budgets.

I think proper and worthwhile journalism is one that properly and correctly informs people on the ground while being impartial through proper investigative channels.
When you read the nonsense mainstream media writes about health sector in Kenya you wonder whether they live in some other country. Facts on the ground vs what they write don’t add up. It’s simple info gathering that can clear up any misinformation but they proceed to write. The other day some guy wrote a piece on how Kenyan doctors earn $120000 per year nikashindwa huyu jamaa anishi Kenya Gani. Simply walking to PSC or SRC will give an accurate salary on all job groups in any profession.
That’s why I think akina John Alan Namu will go far

social media and cheap internet was the end of journalism

Then you cry about fake news every day, yet you’re consuming junk made by children.

Most news on mainstream media is sourced from social media. sasa tuanzie hapo. In fact, si jana Citizen TV had a BREAKING NEWS of an incident that never happened such that people were running to social media for verification.

It’s sourced from social media and then where is it edited/verified for accuracy? Any monkey can come up with a headline, but you need training to filter out useless information. An auditor is not the same as some idiot filing returns after the deadline.

Hizo ghasia ziteseke hadi media industry i collapse yote. We will rebuild on the bones of their failure

Smart journalists should start their own shit and not wait till they are fired like Dennis Okari.

Main stream media is on its death. It is funded by capitalist to drive a narrative. They are used to spread propaganda.
In russo-ukranian war if you follow Western media. It will misled you how Ukraine is winning. In telegram you get all what is happening on the ground. There are credible videos of how the war is being fought.
Pia YouTube kuna credible podcast which give detailed how the way is fairing…

Majority of consumers just want the news ,bila hizi drama mingi na cat walking za media chieth na upuss ya sijui Nani kicker takataka!!!

There is nothing like professional journalism. Those are just charlatans in suits with fake accents. Journalism should be disbanded asap. It should never be offered anywhere as a stand alone academic program but rather as a common unit in other programs or strictly at masters level. In fact journalist should, by law and regulation, be subject matter specialists in other fields.

Mimi ile kitu ilifanya nikawachana na local TV ni upuss ya kufuata politicians in their shenanigans, followed by mishuto kutoka counties halafu wanatuletea news za watu wamepiga mabibi na wasee wamekwama wakikula uroda.

The public needs raw information. Social media provides that. Media houses and ‘trained’ journalists filter content to suit specific agendas and that is why they are closing down.

That can only work in a country where IQ and critical thinking is above a certain threshold. Plus you don’t really need a TV station to spread propaganda when majority don’t even have basic English comprehension skills. Tembea outside NBI utaona maneno.

You are mounting a dead horse. Journalism as we knew it is dead and about to be buried. Long gone are days when prime time news were an event looked forward to by all including the family cat and dog.

Madegree za Zetech college ndio zinatuambia journalism is dead? :D:D