[ATTACH=full]239427[/ATTACH]
Where is ‘gong road’ found nitembee huko…?
Very unfair these guys have earned the country more directly through performance in international stages and indirectly through exposure for Kenya. Am sure quite a number of tourists have landed here after learning more about Kenya through Rugby.
They should be earning at least 100k junior players and that’s basic minimum.
28k pesa ya watchman pale KK SECURITY
TRUE STORY
and turns out most are supported by the numerous number of rich women they offer their “services” to…remember that asiligwa guy who was reported missing only to be found kwa nyumba ya mwanamke?
Washukuru Kenyan professional boxing is on its deathbed. A pro fight you are paid 15k after training for 3 month.
You are lucky kama promoter hata ghost na your money.
And Sportpesa sponsored KRU on a deal worth Kshs 600m. Yaani the level of impunity in this country is astounding.
Even Safaricom cited financial irregularities I.e. corruption as the main reason they stopped sponsoring the once famed Safari Sevens
Including the sponsorship deals by Safaricom and EABL hapo kuna millions KRU imeshaft sevens viserios
Sasa kama hawa wanalipwa hivi na ndo wametembea dunia sana, what about harambee stars and other sport players. Woe unto them. Just the other day disabled players walipigwa teargas juu ya kuitisha allowance. We are an F’d up nation.
when trump said African countries ni Mefi he was ok , cartels ndio wanakula poa
Siyo rugby pekee. Hockey and cricket went down ages ago. In soccer Sofapaka are sponsored by Betika or Betway, like 50 million bob, then players go without salo for like four months likely even longer. Seems their wash wash prezda took the money to the DRC to do his shady biz there.
Hiyo ni dhuluma sana
The high class punani he was getting though
It is the sade state of affairs. The only athletes earning decent money in Kenya are long-distance marathon runners and that is because the prize money is paid directly by international organizers.
just for discussion sake, how much does the government pay say eliud kipchoge, or the other athletes - I dont think they are paid, so in that sense the rugby players are even lucky they are paid, how much are maasai paid, yet they have made a name for kenyan tourism .
My point is that, playing for the national team should not be a monthly job.
USA Sevens, coached by Mike Friday, whom we chased away, used to be our whipping boys. They changed tact, employ their players as a full-time team (the players do not turn out for any club) and are right now TOP OF THE WORLD SERIES! Ahead of Fiji, New Zealand and the Blitzbok.
The thing is, marathon is an individual sport. To bring together a group of players for a high impact, high contact, extremely technical sport like rugby, you must invest heavily in their welfare.
I have to admit I dont know about the USA setup, najua the top countries dont pay monthly salaries to their players, that is the role of the clubs, the country only pays for allowances where there are tournaments involving the national team.
Either way, even looking at the above set up, how much are the american players paid in relation to the country’s status - you might find that 28k is a decent amount for kenya to pay those players, considering they are only part time players.
gotta envy such people
Sure, Kenya Sevens was the best performing non-professional side in the IRB series. But the players have been treated badly. Rugby is a sport where you put your body on the line. Imagine trying to tackle a 120-kg well paid and trained All Blacks pro running at you at full speed. For almost no pay. It’s not the same as running at Kaptagat with a spartan diet, to win yourself millions. It’s sad that Sir Charles Branson, a non-Kenyan, cared about us more than our government and the KRU. He used to pay our players at least 100k a month when Virgin Atlantic was the Shujaa sponsor.
Remember they were competing against the world’s best in a team sport, not individual sport. Then it comes down to 28k, which you have no guarantee of getting after even half a year later.
There has to be some standard, below which you cannot hope to perform as our players once did. They sure tried.
Shujaa was the best supported team by the neutrals, they understood where Kenya was coming from. For a long time it held, money problems notwithstanding.
Right now Shujaa is about to be relegated from the IRB-core, and with that Kenyan rugby shall decline. Just ask hockey and cricket what happened to them.