Kenya rejects bid for Africa’s largest wind power plant

[ATTACH=full]82530[/ATTACH]
Sweden-based VR Holding AB last year submitted an expression of interest to build a 600-megawatt wind project in the Indian Ocean waters bordering Malindi.
Analysts reckon that a huge power plant would leave Kenya with excess power that will see consumers pay billions of shillings annually for electricity not used — dimming the quest to deliver cheaper power through renewable energy such as solar.
This has led to talks of phased implementation that brings on board between 60 megawatts and 100 megawatts at every stage.
http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Kenya-rejects-bid-for-Africa-s-largest-wind-power-plant/539546-3806180-ckwix9z/index.html

True this was wise. Every independent power plant before commencement of power generation signs a guarantee power purchase agreement with government. Malindi is served by low power transmission lines. Kentraco will need to invest on a new high voltage power transmission line to link this project in Malindi to Mombasa, Lamu, Garissa and Nairobi so that the power can be utilized. Imagine us giving them the go ahead, they produce all that power and it can’t be used. We will be paying for power that isn’t used. That’s why they have been advised to start in phases I.e 60 MW as the upgrades proceed then gradually increase with demand. As we speak their is excess 100MW at geothermal that isn’t utilized since MAA community resistance of the new high transmission lines at Suswa to Nairobi.

Don’t listen to this bull. Shi.t up there ^^^.

It is very simple why it was rejected. Hii pesa haiwezi kukuliwa. Anything that has to do with climate change and conservation inaangaliwa kwa ukali sana.

Hakuna pesa ya kuiba so, wacha ikae.

23 Likes

How owns these independent power generators ? The fuel levy in our power bills

Turkana wind power?

It is wind powered and further more the government can strike a deal on behalf of Kenyans to have the electric bill reduced lakini hawataki.

The same people negotiating these deals are the same ones with stakes in KPLC or are in the pockets of those who do. Ndio maana hata a pathway ikifyekwa @spears ako hapa na mdomo haiwezi isha.

11 Likes

This has a very different approach and is at a complete different magnitude. Hio ya Turkana ata ilikua test ptoject.

Na ya kinangop ? What happened

Villagers protested that the wind power will bring them gamma rays on top of claiming they weren’t compensated for their land fully . They’d rather plant potatoes on those farms . So the project was abandoned

Walisema ikae ama ikam slowly not bigly?

Your argument doesnt make sense. You do realize that if you have a higher capacity system, you can regulate your output. Plus, the government can enter into contract and only pay for what they need.

na govt is pursuing nuclear power generation… ya kazi gani? i wonder!

Excerpt from businessdaily, click here for more
French Economy and Finance minister Michel Sapin said the nuclear-rich European country was looking to offer Kenya technical, engineering and financial support to develop reactors
Kenya plans to start building its first nuclear plant from 2022 in a five-year period at a cost of about Sh500 billion
China, Russia, South Korea and Slovakia have since inked various pacts with Kenya in manpower development and skills exchange as they eye a possible deal.

any studies done on the possible effects to marine life around the site?

Why not have electric railway that will consume that much power like Ethiopia does?

By the way i also don’t get it…
The Wind power plant was to generate 600MW but it got rejected,but in the same vein the govt is looking to build a nuclear power plant that generates 1000MW…
So what gives???

Ouch!

By regulating you mean have a 600mw wind farm, but only utilise 60mw? then what’s the need to regulate if you can set it up in phases, starting with 60mw and move up when the demand rises?

Less. Netherlands have the wind turbines in water . They did extensive feasibility studies and ecological impact well for such a project. It’s one of the purest green energy that Kenya needs .shida ni the cartels and politicians who own PEP (PRIVATE ENERGY PRODUCERS ) they wouldn’t want such projects. It will render them invalid.

Wenyewe walikataa na mashamba yao.

61MW Kinangop project cancelled | Windpower Monthly

Business Daily

Kinangop Wind Park placed under receivership after pulling plug on Ksh15B project | Wind Energy News

what do they know about Gamma rays…it was just because some extortion demands by some “facilitators” were rejected after they became too much…