Kenya Power Cartel(s) Here To Stay

Today, at about 2am, I realized I was running out of tokens, so I bought some via mpesa. I used the official paybill number, 888880. Amazingly, just after receiving the confirmation from mpesa that the money had been sent to Kenya Power, I received another text from Dynamo Digital, reminding me to use paybill 800904 to “get your tokens fast”. I don’t think this was by coincidence. 1 hour later, I had not received my tokens from 888880, so I decided to try dynamo. I got the tokens immediately. As I type this, I’m yet to receive the tokens I bought from Kenya Power’s official paybill. So I’m being conditioned to use Dynamo if I want to avoid this inconvenience in future.
#IfikieApolloMboya

Am on Prepay & cant seem to pay my bill on Paybill 888888.Kwani whats happening to Kplc??

They’re forcing you to use the private paybill numbers. But I thought 888888 was for paying post paid bills?

Wakale pale energy sector walisema hawatambui tagataga, pigeni kelele tuuuu…lakini kutombwa mtatombwa, mpende msipende.

Opps dont know the difference btw post & preypay.I forgot i dont use tokens coz i have a meter that those kplc shenanigans come & view every month & i get a bill every month via email of which i pay promptly via kplc paybill no 888888

nunueni panels muache hizi nugu ziserve mafala

Hiyo ya meter ndio postpaid. It’s paybill was 888888 last I checked, just like you’ve said. There seems to be a major issue with the company’s systems. I’m sure if a proper audit is carried out, massive rot will be uncovered there.

Asante kunichanua.english is hard but hii kenya power is going down.you are a right my cousin who knows the management style of kplc says of lately things have not been rosy & some of his pals working there have either resigned or been sacked!!

This is the way I see it: About five years ago, Kenya Power introduced a model where their customers pay their bills via appointed agents, namely Banks & Mpesa. The idea behind this was to decongest their banking halls and also to enable them concentrate on their core mandate.
With the advent of prepaid power and tokens, the company has gone ahead and engaged agents whose core mandate is to provide you the customer with that exact service.
Just like KP withdrew tellers from their banking halls leaving you with no option but to pay at agents, it seems to me they are using the same tact to stick the middle finger at you and tell you to buy via Dynamo, Mula et al.
Again, it creates jobs for those guys who own the agents.

hio ni propaganda just bought mine juzi ikakuja within seconds

Sio propaganda brathe, I did not copy that info, I’m narrating something that happened to me. Mpaka sahii sijapata hizo tokens za 888880.

Ni mwisho wa mwezi na kila mtu ananunua tokens, am sure hio system yao can’t handle the volume of transactions presently,to avoid hizi delays I normally purchase a week to or after end month,its always instant

Nilinunua jana na ikaenda through

Waambie kwa twitter, watarespond.

why do they have a system that cannot handle traffic during peak demand.

I buy them on every 2nd of every month, sijai ona izi mashida

There system has been okay for a while now since they had an outage…message ya tokens ata inakuja before messo ya Tokens but of late wamekua na delays especially at night

Buda si Prepay ni 888880 ? Plus hapa hapana customer care ya kenya Power… call 0703070707

Unauza?

888888 working now for postpaid