Kenya, Please Note

Siphoning of public funds and outright corruption make this look like a dream…

[SIZE=7]Costa Rica’s electricity generated by renewable energy for 300 days in 2017[/SIZE]

Central American nation set to smash its own 2015 green power record

[ATTACH=full]189429[/ATTACH]
Solar panels produce a small part of Costa Rica’s 99 percent renewable energy production ( Joe Raedle/Getty )

Costa Rica’s electricity has been produced entirely using renewable energy for 300 days since the start of January.

With more than a month of 2017 to go, the Central American country is set to smash its own annual record of green energy use. In 2015 the nation went 299 days using only renewables.

According to the Costa Rican Institute of Electricity (ICE), the nation of five-million people has also clocked up 201 consecutive days of total renewable energy production since 1 May.

Costa Rica currently generates more than 99 per cent of its electricity using five different renewable sources; hydropower (78%), wind (10%), geothermal energy (10%), biomass and solar (1%).

In contrast, the United States generated about 15 per cent of its electricity from renewable sources in 2016, according to the US Energy Information Administration.

Coal and natural gas together made up nearly two-thirds of US electricity generation and nuclear power provided the remaining 19 per cent.

Costa Rican clean development adviser Dr Monica Araya said earlier this year the extent of Costa Rica’s renewable electricity generation is a “fantastic achievement".

But she added: “It hides a paradox, which is that nearly 70 per cent of all our energy consumption is oil.”

The 99 per cent figure only refers to electricity usage, not gas used for heating or fuel used in vehicles, for example.

Costa Rica hosts more than five per cent of the world’s species biodiversity despite a landmass that covers 0.03 per cent of the planet.

While dams provided the majority of the country’s electricity, they can have destructive environmental and social consequences, such as affecting previously healthy rivers, disrupting wildlife and displacing indigenous communities.

cool!

mimi very soon mungu akinijalia am going solar hii maneno ya sijui transformer imeblow tungoje wiki sijui token ooh sijui rates zimepanda …izo zote ntakua nikisoma kwa news

Unless you move to garissa or any other arid place and are willing to pay a minimum of 1 million in investment or is ready to cut down on energy use then stima ya KPLC lazima utatumia.

so much will be at stake should kenya go that way especially the so called stakeholders

Na biogas je?

What is the % of power Kenya generates from renewables?
Surely it must be 95% at least. Our electricity comes from geothermal and hydro mostly, with some instances of diesel.
We don’t have a coal problem like the US.

Will this make international news?

It would still be cheaper to use KPLC unless you have a huge farm that produces enough dung to power a generator. The only offgrid solution that would work is if you have a strong river in your farm that can be used to power your own place and even then it would not be cheap since a small hydro plant has high maintenance costs.

Yeah it’s almost 100% but we still use diesel in the dry season. Problem with renewable energy is that we can’t industrialize with it. We will need to get dirty for that. Nuclear, Coal or capital intensive Geothermal.

Solar power just complements KPLC. For water heating, lighting etc and only during daytime/ sunny days. Unless you also have a battery large enough to store any extra power for lighting at night.

thats what am saying people ahould invest big in solar that way hawatakmuliwa sana na kplc in the long run

No it’s not! I had to check because that seemed hokey to me.

“Total renewable energy capacity is at 60%, with most of that coming from Hydro-Power.”

We unatumia data gani. Geothermal overtook hydro kitambo. Find a credible source then urudi tuongee.

2018 data - Energy in Kenya - Wikipedia

Sasa ni wapi hapo hydro inaongoza na ati renewable ni 60%, it’s actually 80% as per your data in the table just above the 60% statement which cites a 2012 document btw.

Kwanza kuna vile token imekuwa expensive after kuambiwa watatoa standing charges

A useful post from you at last. Keep it up

Not to rain on your parade guys, but Costa Rica is a tiny little place with less than 5 million people.

Try powering a nation of 50+ million people with solar and see how that goes…

I can’t help you. I provided with info; you decide what you want to do with it. Hakuna high school debate hapa.

I work in the energy industry hakuna kitu unaniambia that cjui. Go get credible data, acha ujuaji.