Kenya PayScale

I have met many people that pretend to be well off than they are and those that are paid much but very silent.

Negotiating salary can be very tough especially since salary is a topic that has been kept under wraps for a very long time.

What is the salary scale for IT people working at telcos, consultancies like Cellulant, Craft Silicon, TechnoBrain etc? Also people working at government authorities like CA, ICT Board, NGOs and lastly international companies etc

I am debating a move to a consultancy as a senior developer and I wanted to know what would be an average fair pay

Please do not quote googled salaries because most of the time they do not represent the situation on the actual ground. I work in a local oil company and make 150K

Karibu NV Millionaire

Keti hukoooooooooooooooooooooooooo ungoje majibu

Ask for 500k a month without blinking, for fucks sake that is $5000 only which is peasantry for a half baked developer.

P. S hii ndio kiti yako
[ATTACH=full]32126[/ATTACH]

this post ni the equivalent of sucking your own dick kwa hivyo keti pale-------------------------------------->usikize neno ya leo
[ATTACH=full]32128[/ATTACH]

Telcos pay peanuts for technical positions around 150 - 250 max. The truth is devs are highly exploited and overworked

ide comment…lakini wacha ni observe leo

What you need now is a saving plan, followed by investments and your own company(ies) mate. Not another job. @Okiya kuna client apa anataka umwelimishe.

kwani hujui yule graduate alitoka campo last year saa hii anaingiza 780k per month tax free? :smiley:

hehehe manze nilihurumia purr sana juu ya kuamini hio story

@Purr27 anajua hii stori ya salaries, she will ask from her friend

TECHNOBRAIN??!?!??!?!! MOTO WA KUOTEA KWA MBAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAALI SANA!!

how much do you villagers earn?? coz i know most middle income people earn between 50k to 200k whatever position ie IT doctors, bankers etc etc

talker mwenye ana earn minimum ni 800k hao wengine ni $10,000 and above

12 Likes

Hahahahahhaha…uwongo mimi sipendi…

If you earn that much prove to us
weka screenshot ya payslip
Otherwise stop making us feel so low and wasted

What is better, earning a “low salary” and stock options that you can exercise or earning a “high” salary and no stock options to exercise

The other day nasoma kwa news ati only 68,000 Kenyans earn more than 100K a month. The same report further states that 90% of Kenyans earn less than 30k a month. How true is this?

Below is my evaluation based on actual salaries and discounting money made via corruption, side jobs etc. Just raw salary from formal employment

I think it might be close to true. Many Kenyans earn a lot less on basic salary. Especially since my ocha is a small town which is one of the biggest towns in kenya. You can literally count people that make over 100K. With 20K you can get a 3bedroom house and sometimes if it is far from the town you can get one with even a large compound at the same rate. I have never seen a house of 50K plus there if so it must be a mansion…a real one. Food is EXTREMELY cheap. What you spend on groceries in a week in Nairobi can easily take you for a month from where I live. Entertainment joints are way cheap since there are no Brew Bistros, Caramel’s etc. The expensive joints there are the median rate joints in Nairobi. Fuel is cheap since many people don’t travel for long distances to town. If you pay more than 20K for primary school fees of a class 6+ pupil, you are among the elite. Here in Nairobi it looks like private school median wages are 50-60k with fancy schools going to even 200K

In Nairobi this however becomes a different ball game since rent in many nice places can play between 80K to 300K easily. So almost the whole percentage that makes this 100K live in Nairobi.

Anyone that has lived in a small town can easily verify this

I don’t need to prove anything to you. In fact, I asked this question because most of my colleagues seem to be making much higher and happier in other industries with some quoting figures even close to 400K on senior management IT business levels and most quoting around 250k. Maybe pia wao ni stories because watu kwa hii jiji always want you to think they are more well off than they actually are.

This is not Silicon Valley where companies grow from 0 to billions in just under 2years and where IT companies are seriously overvalued. Most of these startups live on scraps and will most likely collapse with you on board. I am talking from experience here. Take your money and run away maybe start your own thing but whoever is talking to you about stock options is probably taking you for a ride.

Thanks for your insight. I know devs are over exploited since I have been in the field for a while but surely I hoped that there were some companies around that see a lot of value that you create. E.g. I am miserable here because I am expected to be a backend programmer, app maker, designer plus the notion that people say that since you are in IT, my windows is not working, how do I do X in Excel. The later is especially driving me nuts.

I would prefer a very technical job and not a full manager because that would make me very miserable. A serious dev would understand this