Kenya: Land of the Poor and Insightful Beggars

60 years after Kenya gained its independence and today this country is a hobbled, nursing home bound geriatrics patient. Inhabiting this patient are 50 million arrector pili in different states of sphacelate.

Aah let me expound further.

One of the biggest issue is the growing demand for food. As we continue to increase our population, we continue destroying the little arable land mass we have ati buroti maguta maguta. Then further stressed by bonobos who go and cut trees just to make charcoal to cook food that needs high amounts of rain water to grow. Clearly something has gone wrong?

The next 50 years Kenya is going to undergo massive desertification if we continue acting like low level primates. Let me offer suggestions to our poor and insightful beggars.

To counter this for starters. We need to build massive greenhouses that will effectively run on solar power. And they’ll supply Kenya with its need of fresh vegetableAnd running on an aquaculture system Kenya will eradicate hunger in under 10 years.

[ATTACH=full]427958[/ATTACH]

We need to change our diets. We can’t be eating Githeri like we’re in 1955 being fed by Mzungu leftovers. They’re far variety of crops we can grow to make ourselves food sufficient.

Example: Mathenge Tree ([SIZE=4]Prosopis[/SIZE][SIZE=7] [/SIZE][SIZE=4]juliflora)[/SIZE]

[ATTACH=full]427967[/ATTACH]

For the longest we viewed the mathenge tree as nuisance and useless tree. We have no idea that this plant can very well transform the lives of people in Northern Kenya and never have to deal with food aid ever again.

Uses: The seed pods can be grounded down to make flour, and fermented to make wines. The leaves can be removed and be used as forage and allow goats or cows to produce a lot of milk.

The tree makes very superior honey especially if you have a beehive which has medicinal properties and this tree is very highly regarded in its native land Mexico.
The wood is used for parquet floors, furniture, and turnery items, fencepost, pilings, as a substrate for producing single-cell protein, but most of all for fuel. Toasted seeds are added to coffee. Bark, rich in tannin, is used for roofing in Colombia. The gum forms an adhesive mucilage, used as an emulsifying agent. Gum is used in confectionary and mending pottery. Roots contain 6–7% tannin, which might discourage Rhizobia.

In developed countries mesquite wood or mathenge is selling for nearly $5.00 a kilogram. TIME quotes Joe Messina, founder of Mesquite Treat Enterprises, as saying that in Arizona mesquite costs about $100 a cord, which in dry wood approximates 3,000 lbs. In one instance, Messina cleared the mesquite off the land of a grateful farmer, free for the chopping. He sells the wood to restaurants in 50-lb. bags at $12.50 for logs, $17.50 for chunks, and $20 for chips. All this because “Mesquite grilling imparts a sweet smoky burnishing of flavor…an almost imperceptible flavor to fish, though a more pronounced and interesting one to shrimp.”

We have bountiful land that can feed and create wealth but we’re blind.

https://www.hort.purdue.edu/newcrop/duke_energy/Prosopis_juliflora.html

I’ll add more examples.

Kwani hizo pods zina sugars kiasi gani?

Anyway: Mathenge has been condemned as an invasive species like the Japanese knotweed. Introduced with good intentions as a fast growing source of woody material to mitigate against the environmental effects of the refugee camps in Garissa, Mathenge soon outdid itself, covering and laying waste critical amounts of pasture land. It was also introduced to some degraded pastureland in places like Marigat.
Some parts of the tree that goats fed on were too acidic, wearing out the teeth of the goats that fed on them (older folks might remember the toothless goat brought to the high court by some Marigat residents!) .
Mathenge is now a headache in most of Nothern Kenya and I doubt anyone is eager to plant anymore. In any case, Mathenge easily propagates itself through seed dispersal through the droppings of goats and deer.
One way recommended to have animals benefit from the seed protein without dispersing the seeds further is to mill the pods and feed animals with the unga.

Understatement of the Year …
In a nutshell , the crux if our problems are :-

1/ Piss-poor , corrupt , inept , backward , bankrupt , greedy , irresponsible , ethnic chauvanist misfits , myopic wheelbarrow bottom-up hustlers and political bimbos.

2/ Poverty , Disease , Illiteracy , Ignorance , Dispondency and Sycophancy fuelled by point (1) above .

The ONLY way to break this cycle is for the Majority of the weary , suffering Voting Public to take a Leap of Faith and Vote Out the entire crop of Politicians currently in Office …

ALL OF THEM … :D:D

They were introduced by colonists.

The tree is very easy to manage but our ignorance is hurting us.

The wood is very good for roasting nyama choma once properly dried and not turned into charcoal. And can fetch millions of shillings a year. Just selling to high end restaurants in Nairobi.

Goats were chewing on underdeveloped plants full of thorns. But the leaves can be handpicked by skilled pastoralists on mature trees and is a good source of forage for animals.

Very good idea to add it to feeds powdered form to allow fortifications of the necessary proteins to animals especially there calves to survive in terms of high stress season or to fatten up and make the animal look healthy.

Good one …
One of my passions ( I have many ) is Permaculture …

In the 60’s and very early 70’s , Kenya had a vibrant Ministry of Agriculture under 2 brilliant Ministers ( Bruce McKenzie and Maina Wanjigi - Jimmy Wanjigi’s Dad )…

[ATTACH=full]428261[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]428265[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]428266[/ATTACH]

These two are the Godfather’s of Kenyan farming and we’re behind many successful organizations … (KFA , KCC , KMC , KDB , KTDA , KPB etc…etc… and also the majority of SACCO’s that we have )

They were also both among the most corruption free of all of Kenyatta’s Cabinet .

Then came the era of Inept , Backward , Thieving, wheelbarrow bottom-up hustlers led by William Samoei Ruto …

The rest is history …
Shenzi Kabisa…

Allow me to school you on one thing: Everyone is looking for a way to cut costs in spite of what the CSR section of their webpage says.

Edit: I had asked a question on the claim that it can be fermented.

Yes it can be fermented. It has sugars which can be broken down into an alcoholic beverage.