Hata Mungu uvundo ushamfikia wa hali ya juu ya ukahaba in Kenya imepita ata Sodom and Gomorrah. A country that is 80% Christian
Hard economic times are directly proportional to these social vices . The more a people become desperate, the cheaper the Pucci become.
That 80% Christian is just a religious demographic ratio, not an active faith index. Just look around you for examples of Christ-like behaviour. Most of these “Christians” are active, conscious and deliberate sinners: gossipig, hoeing, lying and stealing. There, the truth might indeed set us free.
Its not good. The immorality is now on kids where primary school kids are already sexually active.
I guess by “sexually active” you mean they are playing the game. It has been happening for generations, but the trouble with today is that the level of sexual freedom is too high. Parental control is limited, and self discipline is almost non existent
Back in our days most people including boys got to 18 virgins, nowadays even a 10 yr old is active.
It’s because some grown-up knew where you were, what you were doing, and with whom almost every time. There was no internet, no mobile phones. You had to involve a third party to pass a letter or note to someone else. All that would move at snail’s pace. Sinning was quite a feat then. Technology just made our lives faster, and shorter.
Yes. When you gave a man your landlines and your dad picked it, the guy had to hang up. I remember one guy used his aunt to call me, my dad listened in from his room, only to hear a man’s voice wah. The way he hang up that phone. But wasn’t it nice to enjoy your innocence? Till you were an adult? For me even word of life camps or trips were a no go. Yaani talk about kufungiwa. No wonder I am such a home body. I used to hear about F2 Sijui jam sessions, carni. But frankly speaking I appreciate it so much now that I can see what the kids without strict parents are going through bcz of lack of discipline and strictness.
We are very good at putting on a show these days. The years you describe were a time when Christans were actually God fearing, and you could feel it. I remember my grandma who lived long, and had seen a lot of both the traditional and Christian lifestyles couldn’t be fooled by pretenders, even at an advanced age. She was one of the people I can say were devout. If anyone cared to tell her "God told me to tell you…yada yada yada" she’d calmly ask, “Where did you meet with Him?” She wasn’t being cynical, just being practical, knowing that people lie in the name ogf God.
Now talking of shows, we saw the nation today make a great show of faith in the national prayer event. I really enjoyed the special opening medly by Hellen Mtawali. Beautifu rendition, complete with a piece of Amazing Grace.
We badly need that grace.