KEBS stand on cars za 2013 yet in the sea

KEBS have said that they are not going to allow any 2013 cars in the country through a memo. Many importer have cars in the seas, caused by covid shipment delays and fewer ships. They have been pushing gava to extend 8 year rule to cut losses.

KEBS to only allow cars of January 2014

Yaani gari yako inafika port, unarudisha mahali imetoka…at your own cost.

Waaah I hope they will be flexible due to the covid-19 thing to prevent investors loosing money. But in principle, I agree with the government’s limits on importation of old vehicles. Africa should not be the dumping ground for polluting cars that don’t meet our environmental standards. We also need to protect our local car assembly industry. These guys create more employment than would imported car lots.

It’s good that most small lorries and mathrees are assembled here rather than being imported and I think the success seen in those commercial vehicles can be translated to other small personal vehicles and 14 seater matatus and shuttles. I am all for any policy that incentivices people to buy locally assembled cars rather than imports.

Obviously, you have no vehicle in high seas.

What environmental standards does Kenya have? Secondly, how different is an 8 year old car from one thatis 8 years and 1 month old?

Very sad … and the delay was all because of Covid thus shipment delays

We must shift from vehicle age to safety features and emissions. Only 5 countries in Africa ban used vehicles.

So investments za watu zitakunywa maji literally

Some of these policy makers don’t give a f*ck about the welfare of others…it’s like the man trying to put bread on the table through sweat and hard work is never appreciated…lakini a politician who loots millions in the public coffers are the ones respected.

Do they care/follow up/ inspect vehicles after zimeland Kenya na zikatumika?

Halafu those that meet standards hukam hapa, haziserviciwi fiti, na zinaendelea kupollute tu. A better solution should be sought.

I know of guys driving over 20 year old cars that smoke like coal engines.

And this is why I said this. ‘’'Waaah I hope they will be flexible due to the covid-19 thing to prevent investors loosing money’'.

Please read my post again.

Well isn’t that what a policy that is time-bound limit is supposed to do? There has to be a demarcation point either way that everyone has to work with. Would you prefer we set these things arbitrarily?

If you want to comply with time-bound demarcation points selectively, then some policies and legal statutes would always be ignored, since we could rightly argue from your logic that a 17 year old is not different from an 18 year old, so we might as well give 17 year old teenagers ID cards.

As for the environmental standards, well did you know that we were the first country in the region to adopt low sulfur fuels?

Kenya together with Rwanda have already gazzetted vehicle emission standards for all imported vehicles which is to say that they must have at least complied to EURO4/IV technology at the time of manufacture. However, local motor vehicle assemblers have more leeway to comply with these standards as they are expected to transition fully in January 1, 2023. And although we do not actively test the vehicles plying Kenyan roads, policy makers recognize that controlling these vehicles at the time of entry to the market is more effective - not in Kenya, but also in many other countries.

No we do not actively test vehicle emissions for vehicles any vehicles that are on the road. That would be a hard thing to do not only for a developing country, but also developed countries. However, the Key to effectively dealing with the problem is at the precise moment the customer is taking ownership of the car either during importation or at the manufacturer’s point of sale. In western Europe, the ecological malus that is in the form of yearly tax is charged to owners with cars with engines high displacements and emissions, so that it becomes very expensive for you to own some cars.

This ultimately makes people switch to smaller cars- the dudus are very popular btw in Europe because of this very fact. In short, punitive taxes and time-bound policy restrictions on importations, have been shown to be very effective without necessarily testing every vehicle on the road.

Mimi sina shida, nisaidieni na 2012 model ya Premio iwe bei ya COVID

There is no car that pollutes less ati because it’s modern. VW proved that.

Do you think that a 1996 toyota hilux pollutes more than a 2018 one that has MORE horses, MORE torque?

Can’t they divert them to SS? Kiulizo tu

VW is just but an exception my friend and even then, I am sure if you were to compare VW cars made in the 1970s versus those that were caught in the 2015 emissions scandal, you would see how far new cars have continuously improved over their old siblings - despite the increase in torque and horse power. In fact, the general trend has shown that newer vehicles have drastically reduced their emissions by huge margins than those that preceded them thanks to improved technology - this is just an undeniable fact.

The same thing goes in aviation. A GE turbine made in the 1970s is significantly more polluting than the latest GEN X turbines even though latest GEN X turbines provide much more thrust and power. In all, an increase in power, thrust, horsepower, or torque, does not and has never translated into more pollution since Improvements in antipollution technology plays a huge role in this.

Finally, I will delineate one final fact that will perhaps put this discussion to rest. Using EPA data in the USA, here is what I found. First, did you know that even though the USA economy has grown fourfold since the 1970s, ambient air pollution attributed to car emissions like; Sulfur Dioxide, Lead, Nitrogen Dioxide, Carbon Monoxide, as well as particulate matter (PM10) and (PM2.5) has dropped more than 70%? Mind you, car ownership in the USA is 6 times bigger than it was in the 1970s. How do you explain this? The simple answer is the clean air act. This ambitious legislation though criticized at the time, made domestic and foreign manufacturers innovate to more cleaner engines.

Also, please note that I have not included carbon dioxide pollution in my analysis, since atmospheric concentration of carbon dioxide has been rising extensively since the Industrial Revolution. Also, with CO2, we have to factor in natural emissions as well so I saw it fit to include those elements that causes ambient air pollution whose causes is directly linked to gasoline and diesel driven motor vehicles.

The smog in L.A every morning begs to differ. In fact that smog even killed Kobe Bryant recently. The smog all over China, India , England…etc also begs to differ with your data.

The point here was that you said that a car imported in 1996 for example is dirtier than one from 2014 and yet in 1996 or even 1986 computer aided fuel injection bado zilikuwa. EFI systems already existed under different names as early as the 1950s.

In fact the first catalytic convertor was invented in 1930!

By 1975 most U.S cars had two way catalytic converters.

And in 1981 the world moved to the three way catalytic converter.

In short you won’t necessarily see black smoke blowing out of a mid 1970s car.

Now @Muthafari let me ask you this last question. Take any long distance lorry or bus e.g the massive Kenworth or Fuso or even Peterbilt si moshi ni ile ile tu like a 1970s Kenworth truck? Same for a caterpillar earth mover… nini imebadilika???