KDF needs a Veterans Affairs Department .

Kenya is officially in a war with Shabaab in Somalia since kitu 2010… its no secret we have lost many young men in this war despite DoD’s policy of casualty numbers non disclosure.
Anyway, I have noticed many of these young men come back with PTSD and other traumas. Many are rotting back in the villages without necessary medical help.
Its time DoD established a Dept of Veterans Affairs.
Kenyans should appreciate the sacrifice the men in uniform make to keep us safe.
A dept of Veterans Affairs should make sure all our KDF soldiers genuine children study in public schools to universities at half the cost.
NHIF should also take care of the retired ones and their families.
Retired KDF soldiers should have access to cheap loans from veterans affairs Sacco to help them invest.
KDF soldiers should be have access to financial advise from the dept.
Most of retired KDF soldiers are poor alcoholics in the village , the department should have county or sub county offices which will find something useful for these old soldiers to do, recommend them for nyumba kumi initiatives etc.

The National Police Service should have a similar department to help their retirees reintegrate back to society.
These are men who sacrificed their entire adult life for the safety of fellow citizens , the state should make sure the retire in villages honourably.

Working for the forces is a job just like teaching, nursing etc. I don’t think they deserve any special treatment. You might as well have children of any other person who earns an honest pay educated at half the cost. They don’t deserve such a favor at the expense of everyone else. And by the way, police have a more risky job than soldiers. However, I agree that if they don’t have a veteran’s department, they should establish one and sort their issues IN-HOUSE. Not piggy-backing on public utilities.

I get your point.
Its painful to see young former KDF soldiers ,barely in their 30’s , Wenda wazimu in many villages I’ve visited across the country, or, many retired KDF soldiers who are dejected alcoholics in many villages.
DoD should at least not forget these men who have done a lot for this country .

You are a very deluded individual. Do you even understand what being in a war zone means?

uzuri every village has a couple of KDF soldiers, people will understand what I’m trying to say in time

uko sure about hii part ya many in the village suffering from PTSD? ama ni made up claims zako for an agenda?

tembea mkubwa , sina agenda …nimekutana na wengi na wako very young …

mbona hata mimi sijaona na nakaa kwa village?

Kenya ni kubwa , tembea…

That will be another cash cow for the politicians and generals. A few weeks ago nilikuwa na kdf fulani who was telling me how karangi alifyeka defence for his own good. And now ako KQ.

I don’t think working in the Armed forces is comparable to just any other civil service job. There are issues soldiers face that teachers can only dream of. And there are sacrifices that teachers make that soldiers can’t. The only PTSD a teacher can get ni ya notification of an overdue loan. And the most likely retirement a soldier can enjoy is death or PTSD

Kuchoma makaa na kupakia sukari inaleta aje PTSD?

those young men are just being used. fighting a war without cause. kulala kwa mtaro somalia ilhali bibi anatombwa na wakubwa kwa kambi uku nairobi. there is no pride in fighting unjust wars.

Umbwa wewe. Nurses,doctor,teachers ,lecturers dont get PTSD or get their limbs blown off.

Matako wewe

Afadhali wao wenda wazimu. We have the silent and deadly ones lurking in many families