Karen residents wamekataa building petrol station next to their homes

I support them. Imagine you have worked hard and put up a home in karen, then someone comes to the neighbouring plot and puts up a petrol station, pub, supermarket and disturbs your peace? Zoning rules should be strictly enforced to protect property owners.

https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/bd/news/counties/petrocity-expansion-stalls-in-tiff-with-karen-residents-3841682

Quote:
Susan Wanjiku Riunga has appealed against approvals Nema granted in November 2021 and which allowed Petrocity to construct a tier 3 petrol station which would border her land and that of Nyumbani Children’s Home in Karen.

Petrocity intends to build a station with three fuel pump isles under a canopy, four underground storage tanks, a vehicle service bay, a supermarket, convenience store, restaurant, bar and other amenities.

Ms Riunga argues that Karen is a controlled area under an agreement between the Karen Langata Residents Association and Nairobi County and that ventures such as bars could result in noise pollution for the station’s neighbours.

She adds that Petrocity and Nema did not seek her views on the proposed project, yet her home borders the construction site.

Petrocity is yet to respond to the application.

“The Director-General, Nema violated my constitutional and statutory rights in failing to notify me of a process that was going to affect my property rights, failing to invite me to be heard on the process that was going to affect my property rights, failing to hear me during the process and failing to inform me of the decision,” Ms Riunga argues.

“There are contractual works already being undertaken on the suit property which is raising environmental and security concerns. I have and continue to reside in my home and the transformation of the neighbourhood into a commercial hub with bars, restaurants and a tier 3 petrol station is synonymous with an eviction notice”.

Hii ndio shida ya kubend laws to suite the loaded… they hae turned eastlands into a shitole and now have eyes on free space in the burbs…Kilelwshwa is already a shitole on the same level as buruburu and Langata.

Zoomalis want to turn Karen into another South Sea.

Where in Kileleshwa is a shithole. All I see is a lot of apartments, but typically neat.

Zoning rules should be enforced everywhere, in every county. Nairobi is already a sprawling slum with shacks and boda boda stands everywhere.

Apartments… My aunt has property in those yards from the mid 80s… she lived in one before retiring to her home in the county… i used to spend some of my holidays at her place way back when arboretum had two entry gates and it was free so i know what changes have taken place. The only gated area or flats were those ones hapo close to the corner after chiromo on that mteremko while going to kile. There were no pubs or wines and spirits. only one hidden and it was on residential property called the Office.

Comparably with the past.

Kile ya kitambo ilikuwa very serene.

Max four floors standalone houses.

Wale walikuwa na pesa sold their houses and constructed further outskirts of town.

Sawi kama hauna pesa you’re forced to stay in an environment that is a downgrade to what you had planned for.

A three bedroom apartment 10 years ago was around 20M.
Sai ukitembea na 15 M cash kileleshwa you’ll be spoilt for chose. Meaning value imeshuka na minimum 5M.
Kama hauna pesa sai some pervert ako fourth floor akipigia your daughter binja in your bangalow compound. Total lack of privacy you bought into.

True, hata 10M unapata. Chinaman doing their thing. Nangoja zifike 5M nishikie wajunior wakienda campo.

I lived close by. Yeah there was nothing but homes. The closest apartments were those on Riverside drive. There used to be monkeys in that whole area. The whole area was mostly homes with half acre lots. With that regard, it’s changed. But that’s primarily because it became too expensive to buy a home there. By mid 2000s a house in Kile was 100m plus. So the only logical thing an investor could do to recoup his investment is build apartments. And neighboring Lavington is heading the same way.

The only noises that disturbs me are Weaver birds early morning singing or in some occasions, elephants trumpeting when being chased away from farms at night.

Hapo Kiserian wanauza plot how much?

wabadilishe karen ikuwe slum tufuate wazungu laikipia
alafu laikipia ikuwe slum pia tufuate wazungu kwale etc

alafu kenya ikuwe developed

https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcShmIRb2_S_PkRdcmt07sDmY-etj40_MKE1Ig&usqp=CAU

Maji ni shida.

Maji lazima iwe shida in such areas when population booms since the in supply and pipping cannot sustain demand… kuna time nimepitia kile nikaona hadi sewage ime burst kama eastlando.

No idea, I live high up on the slopes of Mt Kenya.

Dope.
Same here.
No elephants though just hippos grunting and at night lamps za fishermen kwa lake ukikula ka breeze hapo kwa front porch.
Season ya long days short nights inakuwanga bright all night unaweza graze ngombe usiku mzima bila was ukikula breeze ukidara ka kienyeji.

That’s the reality of Nairobi. Seems they live in a different Nairobi.

Tigoni will be next. It is right next to Nairobi na developers hawatambui zoning regulations.

Mjamaa na siunapenda soft life ocha 2.0 version

Kuishi ocha ni therapeutic…aside from visanga ndogo ndogo…its wonderful.
Earth truely is paradise…its us humans who are messed up.