Kama uko na bank loan or intend to take one, POLE

Expect interest rates to be north of 25% come December & the banks will have to adjust your loan accordingly.

If you have spare money, @Web Dev, I advise you to withdraw it all from the bank and invest in short term instruments @CBK. Rates are now @21.5%.

In other related news:

President Kenyatta declared that the
Eurobond will “stop government
borrowing from domestic markets,
thereby helping drive down interest
rates which will boost investment, spur
economic growth and provide growth to
our people”.

One year down the line, bank interest
rates are at their highest in more than a
decade, inflation has gone haywire, the
government is broke and the story of
Eurobond funds being invested in
“infrastructure projects, energy,
transport and agriculture” has gone
silent.

Saddled with huge project loans and with
few borrowing options, the government
has resorted to its old bad habits of
borrowing locally to fund its
conspicuous consumption.

The Sunday Nation has established that
the government is contemplating
borrowing Sh78.8 billion ($750 million)
syndicated loans from local banks to
plug a Sh600 billion hole in the budget
in order to pay salaries for civil servants
and generally run its affairs that risk
grinding to a halt.

Never invested in T-bills where do I start?

Open a CDS account with CBK & wait for a week or so. Then on Friday soma gazeti uone what CBK is offering. Make your application to purchase by the following Wednesday. CBK will meet on Thursday to decide on the rate. Then by Monday make sure umewalipa.

Iyo sijui. But they may not change since these loans have low risk to the bank because of the amount & repayment period. By the way, most loans from small time guyz are usually performing and the borrowers of most non performing loans are usually big shots

siingizi baridi… baba akiingia 2017 interest zitashuka hadi 2%

Naona kwa Sunday Nation you been missing in action. What happened Mr. Omtata, why are you lying low?

Why do i find this stuff about investing at CBK just passing me like wind?? Am i dead??!

Prepare for tough times ahead comrades. Dollar itafika108$ by December. We are screwed!!!

Will invest in livestock like Naikunu. My investment is safe and can beat the inflation.

The worst thing you can do in a worsening economic situation is panic. See good in everything n keep watch…the next pack of millionaires are being made as we speak.
Gorofa yako inaweza hata isha during this crunch. Don’t lean on your own understanding.

But I thought 2 weeks ago brookside reduced the amount they pay farmers for milk

how would CORD have handled this…er…crisis?

Trust me am not panicking. In fact I benefit when the dollar rate goes up and interest rates increase. But I am concerned about the rest who may not have an advantage like me. My wife has a biz which will definitely be affected by such. I also have relatives with bank loans. Let the economy perform well for the benefit of the majority

From the word go CORD was against the Eurobond idea. Now the government borrowed billions when the dollar rate was 86 and now they are paying when the rate is 105. Secondly, what is the one positive impact this borrowing has had for the past 1 year?

don’t defend, don’t accuse, reply please…

I sell my milk directly to the end consumer.

First there would be no crisis to begin with because CORD wouldn’t have borrowed.

However, assuming that they did borrow, if corruption had been checked there would be no need of going to the local banks to borrow more. Corruption slows the overall development of an economy.

If you have free money lying around, always invest in government(s).
Meanwhile, Dollar ifike 110 by Dec.

Not necessarily. Sometimes the government rate is quite low compared to other investments because its risk free. But on this occasion, Yes

M akiba will be rolled out before end of October. You will be able to buy t-bills/bonds through mpesa and the minimum investment is around 3k.