Jubilee the incumbent

I’m of the opinion that Jubilee needs at least one more term before we ask them to throw in the towel. Running a government is no joke, if you work for a huge company you know how long it takes to effectively implement projects.

When Kibaki got his second term is when things lined up well watu wa Thika road wanajua, albeit 2007 violence that almost took us back 10 years reverse.

Come 2017 let us all vote en mass for Ohuro so that he’s able to finish the job. Laptops, Stadiums, anti corruption checks, SGR, Lappset etc. Once he’s done Raila can come 2022 and start his own projects because najua hizi vitu vitaenda belly up once we have an alternate government.

Reminds me of a high commissioner fulani time ya Kibaki aliambiwa aende home ile time ya nusu mKate. All the projects by incumbent ziliambiwa keti paleee. Some of those projects were revolutionary and wold have helped a lot of people lakini Kenya ni ile ile.

hehehe…
raila in 2022 will be like 240yrs old bana.
mimi napea baba kura come 2017 atleast aishi the house on the hill.
kwani hii nyumba ni ya mama ya nani?

Oh really?

Uhuru is just not good enough. That’s a fact, and his boring speeches cannot undo his failings. Raila on the other hand, is reckless and jumps from one crisis to another. So, both are just entitled tribal kingpins with nothing to offer.

Let’s amend the constitution so a president can only serve one term of seven years. that way the president will only be thinking of securing his legacy and not thinking of pleasing constituencies he will need for re-election…[SIZE=1]na ndio hiki kiti kifikie wa El Molo na masettlers siku moja…[SIZE=4]hata wao ni Wakenya, Ala![/SIZE][/SIZE]

Hakuna. they will get there and loot proper and then try to install a puppet in the next term. Its a matter of mindset.

Kimunya must be having sleepless nights over his pet projects LAPSET and greenfields terminal…kwanza LAPSET had the most expensive feasibility study ever done at 1.98 Billion hata The firm Japan Port Consultants ikapea serikali discount na bado ilikuwa tu expensive sasa sijui Kama kickbacks itarudishwa ama vip
http://www.nation.co.ke/News/-/1056/1206042/-/item/0/-/iaco3v/-/index.html
Reading that story kweli alikuwa na vision ubaya ni tamaa mingi…mind you that was 2010

laakini hiki kiti kitafikia wa-Munyuyaya siku gani kama ni miaka kumi kumi kulingana na current trends?

After 7 year kutakuwa na lets change the constitution movement…wananichi wananipenda hao ndio wanasema nibaki…I’m ready to retire but…it’s the people’s will that I remain to lead them…they are fatherless children

Kimunya mumunya was just too corrupt like Weta and the late Kajwang. Hawa wangeachiwa nchi, wangeuza hata Uhuru Park na Nyayo Stadium.

Wewe

Unadhani feasibility study ni mchezo. Takes a lot of time and money to do research ya this scale. We are talking about trillion shilling project.

David ndii said Kenya should be devided…

It wont with the tribal mindset.

[SIZE=6]Kenya poised to roll out ambitious Sh2 trillion transport corridor project [/SIZE]

http://www.nation.co.ke/image/view/-/1206070/medRes/98495/-/maxw/600/-/11ffmxnz/-/EA-Roads.jpg
A section of Northern Corridor under construction in Naivasha, Rift Valley Province in Kenya. The roads, railways and maritime transportation systems in the EAC region are, on average, in a poor state as are the railways and inland waterways transport systems. Picture/Anthony Kamau

ADVERTISEMENT
By PETER LEFTIE,[email protected]
Kenya is on the verge of rolling out a multi-trillion shilling project to exploit the vast resources in Coast and Northern Kenya that will catapult the country into a medium income economy by 2030.

Transport Minister Amos Kimunya was on Friday upbeat that the construction of Lamu Port and the transport corridor through Isiolo, Moyale and Turkana will open up the marginalised Northern Kenya, linking it to Southern Sudan and Ethiopia.

“We will be engaging the Cabinet next week because we feel their input is important. This is a massive project as it is will open up the newly independent South Sudan.

I will talk about the project extensively after I have briefed the Cabinet and received its input,” the minister told Saturday Nation.

Transport corridor

The minister is expected to brief the Cabinet on findings of a feasibility study on the Lamu Port-Southern Sudan-Ethiopia Transport (Lapsset) Corridor on Tuesday.

The project’s main component is the Lamu Port, which will have a transport corridor linking it with Ethiopia and South Sudan.
Besides the port, the project also incorporates an oil refinery at Lamu and a 1,720km standard gauge railway line to Juba to handle high speed trains with a capacity of up to 160 kilometres per hour.

Also envisioned is a two-lane highway from Lamu through Isiolo to Nakodok, a pipeline to transport crude oil from South Sudan to a refinery at Lamu, three airports at Lamu, Isiolo and Lokichogio and resort cities at Lamu, Isiolo and on the shores of Lake Turkana.

Once the railway line is complete by the year 2030, it will handle up to 30 trains to South Sudan and 52 to Ethiopia daily.

The project will also see the transformation of Lamu Island into a metropolis.

According to the feasibility study the Lapsset project, once complete, will link the country to its two northern neighbours Ethiopia and South Sudan, opening up the region to immense socio-economic development along the transport corridor, especially in the northern, eastern and northern-eastern parts of the country and promote cross-border trade.

The study puts the total cost of the project at $23 billion, roughly Sh2 trillion.

The port, comprising of 20 berths, is expected to be complete by 2030 at a cost of $3.5 billion. The projected cost of the railway line is $7.1 billion while the highway is expected to cost another $1.4 billion and the oil pipeline $4 billion.

The resort cities at Lamu, Isiolo and on the shores of Lake Turkana will cost $1.2 billion while the oil refinery will cost $2.5 billion. Additional infrastructure including power, water and communication facilities will cost an extra $2.5 billion.

The port, which will sit on 1,000 acres, is expected to make Kenya a trans-shipment hub because of its deep waters and ability to accommodate large vessels.

The brains behind the project anticipate that the economic gains to be brought by the Lapsset Corridor far outweigh its projected Sh2 trillion overall cost.

The experts estimate that once operational, the project will push the country’s Gross Domestic Project from 4.5 per cent to 7.5 per cent by the year 2020.

Export of cash crops

The direct economic impact will include huge savings on transport as a result of the new railway line, highway and pipeline.

Indirectly, the project will create huge job opportunities and promote value addition, especially in the processing of agricultural products.

The experts also envisage a huge increase in the export of cash crops and international tourist arrivals in the three planned resort cities, which remain inaccessible due to a poor road network and insecurity.

The new access to South Sudan and Ethiopia will also foster regional economic development and growth through facilitation of trade between citizens of the affected countries, besides strategically positioning Lamu as the port of choice for South Sudan.

The study proposes that the Kenya Ports Authority be the responsible agency while Lamu County, once established, would be responsible for transforming the island town into the envisaged Lamu Metropolis.

It is further proposed that the Kenya National Highways Authority be the responsible agency for the construction of the highway while the Kenya Railways Corporation would take charge of the construction of the railway line. The Kenya Airports Authority will be responsible for the construction of the three airports.

The study proposes that private investors be brought on board to spearhead the construction of the pipeline and refinery while the resort cities would be managed through the public-private partnerships coordinated by the Ministry of Tourism.

The study urges close cooperation between the Kenyan government and those of South Sudan and Ethiopia, which are set to benefit directly from the investments.

It also calls for close collaboration between the Kenya government and international donors as well as the private sector, which is expected to fund some of the projects through public-private sector partnerships arrangements.

Here is the Hansard report

[li][SIZE=5]ENGAGEMENT OF CONSULTANTS FOR FEASIBILITY STUDY ON PROPOSED LAMU PORT[/SIZE][/li][li]Page 31 of Hansard 07.06.11[/li][li]Amos Kimunya (The Minister for Transport) [/li]Mr. Temporary Deputy Speaker, Sir, I wish to make the following statements on the methods used to engage consultants for Lamu Port and Lamu–Southern Sudan-Ethiopia Transport Corridor, as requested by hon. Eng. Gumbo.

[li]Amos Kimunya (The Minister for Transport) [/li]Mr. Temporary Deputy Speaker, Sir, hon. Eng. Gumbo rose on a point of order to seek a Ministerial Statement on how the consultants conducted feasibility study for the Lamu Port and Lamu-Southern Sudan- Ethiopia Transport Corridor were engaged. He sought the following explanations on how the Japan Port Consultants were awarded the multi billion shilling consultancy, to clarify whether an expression of interest and request for proposal were sent out, and when it was sent out, and how many firms were invited, to provide detail bids on all firms, the RSP in terms of financial bids and technical bids, to provide a copy of the evaluation report, to provide detailed curriculum vitae of all the individuals in the respective firms that placed bids for this contract, and to confirm that provision of the Public Procurement and Disposal Act, No.3 of 2005 and the Public Procurement and Disposal Act regulations of 2006, had been complied with.

[li]Amos Kimunya (The Minister for Transport) [/li]Mr. Temporary Deputy Speaker, Sir, I wish to state as follows. The procurement of the Japan Port Consultants was done through a competitive tendering process in two stages, namely, an expression of interest at stage one and issuance of Requests For Proposals (RFP) to the shortlisted firms at stage two. The expression of interest for Lamu Port and Lamu- Southern Sudan- Ethiopian Transit Corridor Consultancy was advertised in the print media, on 6th April, 2009, and 30 expressions of interest’s bids for the consultancy were received on 18th May, 2009. A copy of the Expression of Interest advertisement is tabled as Appendix I.

[li](Mr. Kimunya laid the document on the Table)[/li][li]Amos Kimunya (The Minister for Transport) [/li]The evaluation of the EOI bids for the 30 firms was carried from 29th of June, to 3rd July, 2009, and the Evaluation Committee shortlisted eight firms to undertake the feasibility study and to prepare the preliminary designs, prepare Lamu Port Masterplan detail design together with tender documents. The technical evaluation report and EOI, a pre deal conference and technical evaluation report for the six firms are tabled as Appendices two to four.

[li](Mr. Kimunya laid the document on the Table)[/li][li]Amos Kimunya (The Minister for Transport) [/li]Mr. Temporary Deputy Speaker, Sir, in August, 2009, the Ministry sent out the Request for Proposals to the eight shortlisted firms, and I have already tabled that. Out of the eight shortlisted firms, only six submitted technical and financial proposals in separate sealed envelopes on 17th November, 2009. Separate envelopes means a technical envelope and a financial envelope. The evaluation of the technical bids was done and only two firms namely, M/s Japan Port Consultant and Royal Haskoning Netherlands obtained the minimum technical score of 80 percent. Accordingly, the financial bids of the four firms, which did not obtain the minimum technical score of 80 percent, were returned unopened, and this is all contained within the evaluation report.

[li]Amos Kimunya (The Minister for Transport) [/li]Mr. Temporary Deputy Speaker, Sir, Japan Port Consultant and Royal Haskoning, Netherlands scored 91 percent and 82 per cent, respectively. The financial bids for Japan

[li]Page 32 of Hansard 07.06.11[/li][li]Amos Kimunya (The Minister for Transport) [/li]Port Consultant which attained the highest score, was then opened and the firm was invited for negotiations. Japan Consultants accepted the offer after the negotiations were concluded. Consequently, the bid for Royal Haskoning, Netherlands was returned unopened in accordance with the procurement instruction within the RFP. A copy of that offer letter to Japan Port Consultant is also tabled herewith.

[li](Mr. Kimunya laid the document on the Table)[/li][li]Amos Kimunya (The Minister for Transport) [/li]The original contract sum for Japan Port Consultant was Kshs3.04 billion. On 21st September, 2001, and I believe it is contained in the notification of awards letter, which I also tabled as Appendix 6.

[li]Amos Kimunya (The Minister for Transport) [/li]On 21st September, 2010, I wrote to the Treasury raising concerns over the pricing of the contract and requested the Treasury as the chief advisor to the Government procurement to determine whether the unit rates of the contract represented good value to the taxpayer, and whether the contract ought to proceed in that form.

[li]Amos Kimunya (The Minister for Transport) [/li]Consequently, on the 5th of November, 2010, a consultative meeting was held between Treasury, Ministry of Transport, State Law Office and Public Procurement and Oversight Authority. During the meeting, Treasury was requested to assess the financial implication if the contract was to be terminated.

[li]Amos Kimunya (The Minister for Transport) [/li]After the assessment and re-evaluation of the contract, it was found prudent to renegotiate and restructure in a view to have the units rates addressed to reflect reality. The restructuring and renegotiations resulted in reduction in the lumpsum contract from Kshs3.04 billion to Kshs1.98 billion. There should be a letter within this document showing the revisions.

[li]Amos Kimunya (The Minister for Transport) [/li]The other issue that was requested is how up to date, the total amount that has been paid is Kshs500 million, which was paid during the last financial year, while a further Kshs500 million is provided for in the Supplementary Estimates. But this has not been paid out yet.

[li]Amos Kimunya (The Minister for Transport) [/li]The applicable staff rates for the lumpsum contract including the list of staff and the curriculum vitae of all the staff are attached. We have the rates as Appendix 7. All the rates are here, plus all the CVs of the professionals, who are involved also tabled as one batch.

[li](Mr. Kimunya laid the document on the Table)[/li][li]Amos Kimunya (The Minister for Transport) [/li]Mr. Temporary Deputy Speaker, Sir, finally, from the information availed to me, it indicates that public procurement procedures were adhered to as understood by the Ministry. I also want to add for clarification that we could only provide CVs and financial bids for only the successful firm because everything else was returned, and opened in accordance with the regulations.

[li]Nicholas Gumbo [/li]Mr. Temporary Deputy Speaker, Sir, I want to thank the Minister for the speed with which he has responded to this Ministerial Statement.

[li]Page 33 of Hansard 07.06.11[/li][li]Nicholas Gumbo [/li]He clearly understands the importance of this Statement. The Lamu Port and their putnances thereof, is one of the key flagship projects for Vision 2030. It is a national project. It is a very important project.

[li]Nicholas Gumbo [/li]Mr. Temporary Deputy Speaker, Sir, I wish to seek your indulgence on this matter, because a lot of the things that I want to interrogate are actually in those documents. But even as I do that, I am sure some of my colleagues may also be interested----

[li]Gitobu Imanyara (The Temporary Deputy Speaker) [/li]Order! If the request is for time, the Chair would grant that. As you notice, we have not even gone into the commencement of the business of the House. So, if that is the request you are making, please, make it now.

[li]Nicholas Gumbo [/li]Mr. Temporary Deputy Speaker, Sir, I kindly request for your indulgence, because I know this is a project that is of national interest. I need to interrogate the documents laid before us. I need to share it with my colleagues. I would request the Chair to allow me to go through the documents so that we can interrogate this matter.

[li]Gitobu Imanyara (The Temporary Deputy Speaker) [/li]How long do you require?

[li]Nicholas Gumbo [/li]Mr. Temporary Deputy Speaker, Sir, I would request that I be given up to Thursday afternoon, so that the Minister can respond to the clarification.

[li]Gitobu Imanyara (The Temporary Deputy Speaker) [/li]Minister, any comment on that?

[li]Amos Kimunya (The Minister for Transport) [/li]Obviously, I do not expect the hon. Member to look at all these documents, which he requested in a couple of minutes. I have no objection to whenever he will be comfortable after looking at them, be it this week or next week.

[li]Gitobu Imanyara (The Temporary Deputy Speaker) [/li]Next week, on Tuesday.

[li]Amos Kimunya (The Minister for Transport) [/li]I am most obliged, Mr. Temporary Deputy Speaker, Sir.

[li]Gitobu Imanyara (The Temporary Deputy Speaker) [/li]Yes, Minister for Medical Services.

[/ul]

i do not know if my math is right but it tells me the quoted shs. 1.98 B is 0.1 per cent of projected shs 2 Trillion total project cost. This for a virgin project in completely virgin territory with very rough terrain. what would be the comparative cost for a feasibility study for a project in the neighbourhood of nairobi city?

The first Bill walipewa was for 3.7 billion, ikashuka tu 1.8 after questions were asked…another feasibility study had already been done in the 1980’s, everything was grossly inflated kwa hio tender…the ministry had only allocated 500 Million yet it awarded the contract in contravention to the PPA act

It was not virgin another feasibility study had berm done in the 80’s

2 trillion was the estimated cost once the project is fully functioning in 2030… You cannot charge a % based on an estimated unquantifiable costs to be achieved over 20 years to come…you do your costingd based on the work that you have done

so the data was still relevant 20+ years later and after inclusion of pipeline, resort cities, airports?