SGR passenger stations are many like (tentatively) Rongai, Ngong, Mai Mahiu, Naivasha, Sotik, Kisumu, Mumias, Malaba
In Phase 1 the major add ons projects that justify the economic impact of SGR are the Port Reitz modern railway port, Embakasi ICD upgrade and modern training Railway institute. They will create 1000’s of jobs annually, improve the transport infrastructure of the country and competitiveness in the region. In Phase 2, the major add ons projects are the Naivasha Economic Zone that will create 100’s of 1000’s of jobs once the cheap geothermal power, steam and SGR infrastructure combine. The ultra modern Kisumu railway port, passenger station and expanded Kisumu airport are built and interlinked.
Over 50,000 jobs will be created in the construction stage of Phase 2.
Ministry of Transport and Kenya Railway have revived the Railway cities project so that more industrial, commercial and leisure city projects around the hubs can take off to further increase impact on this project.
Mimi niliskia finance ya Reli imepatiwa mpaka Lagos via Congo lakini huyo mtu hatoki D. R. Congo and Burundi. Now, that they are seeking removal from ICC iko shida na Insurance ya hii Railway. Trans-African Highway 8 (TAH 8), Lagos-Mombasa Highway, 6259 km: which is contiguous with TAH7 and forms with it a 10,269-km east-west crossing of the continent. The Lagos–Mombasa Highway’s eastern half is complete through Kenya and Uganda. Its western extremity in Nigeria, Cameroon and Central African Republic is mostly complete but a long missing link across DR Congo currently prevents any practical use through the middle section.
“Kenya is very small. They bomb Westgate to fight the West”, Tia Dalma. Their is a bigger picture. It is NOT POLITICS! IT IS NOT JUBILEE! This will still have been done if Dida was President.
[SIZE=5]Trans Africa Line - October 17, 2014[/SIZE]
China is about to lay track for a shorter and faster version of the Cape-to-Cairo rail line that imperialist planners such as Cecil Rhodes proposed as a way of uniting Britain’s colonial possessions.
Ultimately this may be united with the 1,344km Benguela railway linking Angola’s Atlantic port of Lobito to the eastern border town of Luau, which CRCC completed in August, at a cost of $1.8bn. If the two systems are joined, they will provide the means of opening up the vast, and largely untapped, mineral resources of the Congo Basin, which will be needed to keep China’s economy growing at its present rate of 7%.
Economic sense you say? Kindly elaborate. For this project to make economic sense, it has to recoup its cost fully without taxation to the mwananchi. There is the cheaper road transport. For passengers to use this train, it will have to be cheaper. Given its astronomocal cost, it wont make any economic sense.
In phase 1 you say 1000’s of jobs annually. I hope you understand what you said. How will these jobs be created annually?
In phase 2 you say there will 100’s of 1000’s of jobs created when the SGR, geothermal and steam power generation combine. Exactly which sector will dish out the jobs?
Am not dismissing your post, am simply looking for precise details. You are churning out figures without adequate information.
Also, am curious. What exactly will we be exporting that we arent exporting now? Does Kenya have the industrial capacity to fully utilise it for it to make economic sense? If it’s an import based project, there’s no economoc sense.
Utilization is the key word. The govt. hasnt given out details on this.
E.g, You say it’ll be linked to Kisumu airport yet the airport itself,despite upgrades, is underutilized. Where’s economoc sense in that?
I appreciate i have a meffi thinking but I would like you to tell me just one parastatal run by a Kenyan that succeeded like the way kws did after Richard leakey and when he left elephants died left, right and Centre , safaricom after MJ and many other foreign led businesses .
Sometimes our primitive ethic cultures as africans becomes a hindrance to public resources responsibility . You can call me meffi reasoning and all that but you know it’s a fact I’m saying the truth.
MJ is now chairman of KQ. Wait and give him 5 years it will be like safaricom . Try give that to a shiny one or dimmed ones and you will be surprised …tribalism will set in, corruption will kick in ,assisted with nepostism.
please google professor Olive Mugenda, John Michuki, Mukisa Kituyi, Shem Ochuodho, Martin Oduor Otieno, the current CBK governor…the list is endless my friend. you need emancipation from mental slavery.
I know nothing like mental slavery .why is your govt hiring Chinese engineers and we have local ones here who have no jobs then ? Answer me that . And if you want to say because they have no experience …that’s bullshit sir, why not take them to China and train them and bring them back? So talk of mental slavery and you are actually practicing it
hehehehe, is that ur line of argument? Yesterday a historical surgery was carried out at KNH, the 1st of it’s kind in Africa and now you want to come here with ur condescending nonsense of how Kenyans cannot hold their own? Chinese expertise is renowned the world over and they are building capacity in Kenya so that in future we are able do some of these things ourselves. I gave you a list of Kenyans who have does exceptionally well in there respective fields and now you are deflecting the ball.
Of your list there are only 2 ,strictly only 2 people who are upto task. Michuki and opus dei Mei -njoroge cbk. These are two people that decided to put African ethics aside and went for what’s morally right just like the discipline the west have
Michuki has always been a disciplinarian and a perfectionist which supercedes africanism, njoroge is ruled by ethics of opus dei Mei . The rest is just giza to me. These are the only two Kenyans who I know are upto task.
But you haven’t answered my question ,why hire engineers from China and we have engineering courses in school?
that’s absolutely your choice, Kenya is a capitalist system. Tenders are advertised and companies bid, the best is awarded the tender. I also told you that we don’t have the capacity currently to handle some of this mega projects.