Jubilee Development - Ongoing construction of 132Kms Lamu - Garsen Road in Lamu County

A section of the 132km Lamu - Garsen road. The road, which is part of the LAPSSET Corridor Project is scheduled to be completed in August 2020 @KeNHAKenya @Kenya_Ports @PDUDelivery https://t.co/ryRqA5OWU4

This road will the lead to easy evacuation of trucks and goods from.Lamu port to the rest of the country.
[ATTACH=full]234895[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]234896[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]234897[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]234898[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]234899[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]234900[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]234901[/ATTACH]

Gatheca is overworking. Mwambie apunguze speed.

What do you mean by “EASY EVACUATION” of goods from Lamu Port via ROAD … to the rest of the country!!!

Kwani SGR ni ya kazi gani?!

I thought you guys said that the SGR is the actual “easy evacuation” of goods to the rest of the country?

Ama Mombasa port will use SGR whereas Lamu Port will use roads??!

Si naskia pesa iliisha kwa hii project?? Construction since 2017

Bora Lamu kuna port ni hivyo. Barabara sio lazima, port inaeza kuwa ya transhipment. Sisi tutahamia huko tukauze hizo beach plots. Anyway, with a port, Lamu can become a self sufficient urban area even without connections to rest of the country.

Hujaona latest pictures za Lamu port. First berth iko 90 percent complete.

Can you make some sense please. Port ni ya kuleta vitu inland, okay?? Sio ati ilete vitu ikuwe self sustaining… not unless you have already built major industrial parks hapo karibu na hio port. ( Is that where One Belt One Road factories come in???)

The only thing I’ve heard them say about Lamu Port is that it will be used to receive expensive coal from South Africa for use in Kirubi’s dirty coal plant…

Originally Lamu port was to serve LAPSSET.

Lapsset inasimamia Lamu Port- South Sudan - Ethiopia Transport (LAPSSET). Ndio hio map hapo chini.

The real SGR was to go S. Sudan, to Uganda, to Rwanda, to Congo etc.

The other route was to link to Ethiopia…hadi labda Egypt siku moja. Uhuru comes in, friendship falls apart. So what does he decide to do?

Instead of Lapsset, Uhuru rebuilds the old railway known as the Northern corridor which wasn’t really a PRIORITY. It is actually a plan hatched in China as part of OBOR.

So today you have a new SGR, going to nowhere, and linking to no other existing SGR in East Africa…

And this very expensive SGR is linked to the Mombasa port but you still build a new port at Lamu and link it to a road… why??

Wouldn’t common sense demand that you find a way to link both ports to your brand new railway? Or what was the point of your new and very expensive railway?

[ATTACH=full]234943[/ATTACH]

I agree SGR was overpriced but it is there so we accept. As for Kirubi, I dont think he is serious with his project. The project is just a means to get prime land. Considering its location it does not make sense. Coal and nuclear plants require a large source of fresh water yet Amu power is far from such a water body. As for Lamu, it can use the port for transshipment to other smaller ports. Any goods and passengers will also move through the port. For instance, you can move potatoes from Rift Valley to Mombasa then ship it to Lamu. Sea shipping is very cheap. On the same note, ship Lamu products back to the country on the same route.

Hako ka port kadogo ka Lamu kataweza transshipment kweli buda?

I already understood what you were saying when you first said it.

And then if there was transshipment to take place wouldnt it have already happened at the century old and much renowned Mombasa Port? Mombasa is deeper, wider, older… it has all the advantages. It has the reputation.

By Transshipment hub si unaongea kama Hong Kong ama Holland ama Singapore?

And it usually happens in the vast high seas where goods are dropped off and picked up by smaller ships or taken inland… yaani unasema bus station ya meli?

Indian Ocean si ni ndogo and there’s no substantial activity kama world class manufacturing hivi…

Hapa kwetu ni dead zone. Lamu for that matter. For transshipment to happen si there must be activity, and you have to be POSITIONED in the perfect real estate where all the ships have to stop whether they like it or not.

Kwa maoni yangu hizi port naona ziki serve Chinese dirty factories which are coming by the way.

These Chinese factory cities will be built along the SGR. Xi Jinping wants to offshore Chinese manufacturing to the third world. Wamechafua kwao sana. Plus in Africa he will be closer to the very best and the cheapest RESOURCES.

Plus very cheap Kenyan/African labour.

Your first statement has sold you, Lamu port is going to be among if not the biggest in Africa

you are confusing the two. Lamu is deeper and wider and will be more than twice the size of Mombasa port.

Built for who? To be used by who? One Belt One Road.

Not for Kenyans.

Hapo hakuna transshipment. Ni bidhaa za China factories zitakuwa zinaletwa na zinatoka.

The Chinese built a huge port for the Sri Lankans but the Sri Lankans were not ready for such a port. It was expected. Hambantota port. Even when still incomplete they couldn’t maximize it’s potential, so China took over the place. And harnessed over 15,000 acres of surrounding land to be used for China SEZ factories, for the next 99 years.

I’m still watching SGR ‘double stacked containers’… na bado naona akina Meria Mata kwa barabara.

Are you feeling the impact as a Kenyan? Are you feeling the double stack economy?

That maendeleo is not meant for you. Mmeuza nchi. The money goes back to Beijing.

The same as when Mombasa belonged to Britain.

Yes its 32 berths on paper. Twice Mombasa.

What’s the script we have seen elsewhere? China will build a few berths mtashindwa kulipa. Then they will take over. They don’t need 32 berths. They need those that will serve their formative factories.

Hata wewe fikiria how do you just build a port twice the size of Mombasa over night? And yet LAPSSET collapsed!

Who is this new port serving? Where are these factories? Who are these importers?

We haven’t even maximized Mombasa… and you want twice Mombasa… built by another nation. Kuuza nchi.

Don’t be a pessimist. Mombasa is fully maxed that’s why people are using Dar port coz of faster offloading. Ships are waiting almost a week to dock.
Lamu port will serve South Sudan and Eithopia (Combined 150M+ population) Let’s have some faith.

:D:D Tutakuwa papa hapa tu.

Mombasa Port is maxed to it’s full potential sio?

99 years. Hambantota Port. Tafakari hayo.

i think when the revolution happens @spear anafa kuchomwa alongside uhuru, ruto na raila…
https://www.nation.co.ke/news/Kenya-SGR-the-most-expensive/1056-5085040-iniobiz/
Kenya is shortly expected to sign a Sh368 billion loan for the construction of the Naivasha-Kisumu leg of the Standard Gauge Railway (SGR), bringing the[COLOR=rgb(184, 49, 47)][SIZE=7] total debt for the project to Sh845 billion and making the cost effectively Sh800 million per kilometre — one of the most expensive projects of its kind in the world.[/SIZE]
President Uhuru Kenyatta and Opposition leader Raila Odinga are in China to persuade that country’s leadership to extend the loan.