Jubilee Development - Cancer Fund Bill by Laikipia Woman Rep. Waruguru

MP proposes free cancer treatment. Bill by Laikipia Woman Rep. Waruguru. Patients to apply for support from board. Fund to be financed by taxpayers. https://t.co/eVR6nZ6rrv
[ATTACH=full]224078[/ATTACH]

Meanwhile NHIF scales up cancer treatment payments.

Nairobi Kenya, Feb 6 – The National Hospital Insurance Fund (NHIF) spent Sh1.36 billion in the financial year 2017/ 2018 as payment towards treatment for cancer, an increase of 11 per cent from Sh1.23 billion spent within the same period in the previous year.

The Fund latest utilization report indicates that in the last five years, NHIF has steadily increased its care benefit packages from two to over ten percent.

Data from Afya Smiles Kenya, a premier health website, estimates the costs of chemotherapy to be between Sh10, 000 and Sh82, 000 per session in a public hospital, and Sh35,000 to Sh500,000 per session in private hospitals.

Currently, the NHIF care package entails up to 10 chemotherapy sessions, oral and injectable anti-cancers drugs, inpatient and outpatient oncology services, 20 sessions for radiotherapy, and up to two sessions for Brachytherapy for advanced cancer, per year.

NHIF covers six sessions for the first line treatment for up to Sh25,000 per session, four sessions for the second and third line treatment for up to Sh150,000 per session and 20 sessions of radiotherapy at Sh3,600 per session.

Biopsy is covered under the surgical package. Radiology is also done during the diagnosis stage, and this includes MRIs, ultrasounds, or CT scan and PET scan, also covered by NHIF.

Data from the Kenya Cancer network estimates that there are 40,000 new cases of cancer each year, with more than 27,000 deaths per year in Kenya.

The network estimates that about 60 percent of those affected by cancer are younger than 70 years old. The leading cancers in women are breast and cervical, while among men, prostate and oesophagal cancers are most prominent.

A 2018 report by the World Health Organisation (WHO) indicates that prostate cancer deaths in Kenya stood at 2,309 or 0.82 percent of total deaths, a death rate of 32.72 per 100,000, ranking the country at number 24 in the world.

Cervical cancer deaths in the country were recorded at 2,706, which is 0.96 percent of total deaths.

The report put the death rate at 23.39 per 100,000, ranking the country at position 19 in the world.

The NHIF Oncology Cancer treatment package is one of the packages which has seen thousands of families save millions of shillings in hospital bills both in Kenya and abroad, given that cancer is one of the most expensive diseases to treat.

Long past due. I fully support. C cancer itatumaliza

This is a nice move but we can barely even pay for HIV treatment and have to rely heavily on donors. Some of who want to pull out based on the argument that we are a rapidly developing country and focus should be placed on other under developed countries.

Sasa kama government imelemewa kusupport HIV, itaweza cancer kweli which is even more expensive?

This are the laws we look forward to this 2019.

Cancer treatment fund by Laikipia women rep Waruguru.

Coffee amendment bill by Moses Kuria.

Loan Base lending rate amendment bill by Moses Kuria to unlock the deadlock as the bank cartels continue to deny loans to businesses under the pretext that the low loan lending rate set by CBK makes it unprofitable to give loans at low rates. However the banks keeps making more record profits annually.

Okay let’s stop both. Wananchi waendee kucomplain.

Long overdue, if managed well, can save many lives

Why don’t they create a Fund for malaria, pneumonia, diarrhoea, neonatal and maternal diseases which kill thousands more people in Kenya than cancer?

Even heart diseases and diabetes cause more deaths than cancer.

What’s the big fuss about cancer? Because the MPigs and other honourables are being irreversibly afflicted?

We don’t need a whole fund for cancer for our mikora waheshimiwas to loot left, right and center. Just mandate NHIF to have mandatory screening on all eligible persons at their nearest health centers for the most common cancers - breast, stomach, oesophageal, cervical, lung, prostate and colon. Easy. Catch them early.

Because its expensive to treat.

Universal healthcare pilot project has started in 4 counties before its implemented to all 47 counties.

Pray cancer doesn’t ever catch anyone you know. Siku hiyo ndio utajua ugonjwa doesn’t know titles, age, social standings etc. Watu wanauza mpaka shamba for cancer treatment.

NHIF yatosha kufanya hii kazi yote.Hakuna funds zingine zahitajika…lakini wakiendelea kununua majumba makubwa makubwa ya kifahari na kwenda kazini kwa helikopta ole wetu tutaendelea kufa kwa magonjwa ambayo yangezuiliwa

Relatively. Endometriosis is expensive to treat. Kidney failure is expensive to treat.

For cancer, you need chemotherapy, radiotherapy and surgery (one or in combination). We have the surgeons at every local hospital, radiotherapy machines were installed at 2 hospitals in each county (this is was a Jubilee looting project) and chemo drugs are cheaper now (ask the Indians).

Our problem is catching cancer at stage 3 or 4, where the 5 year survival rate in 95% of the cases is very poor.

Those diseases you mention mostly afflict the poor, such initiatives are pushed by people who are affected - you will rarely hear of the legislature discussing malaria

@spear, I treat cancer for a living. It is devastating to watch children, men and women wilt away and perish. To watch families do everything they can to save their loved ones. To stay up entire nights stabilising critically ill patients. To watch patients organise harambees, fly to India, come back and still die. This has been the case for the last 20 years that I’ve been in this industry. I am tired of writing " … Carcinoma with Metastasis" as cause of death on these GoK death certificates. I am equally tired of watching thousands of children die of pneumonia because there is no oxygen or antibiotics; or diarrhoea because we do not have fluids. Or hundreds of pregnant women losing their lives to bleeding because there is no blood in the hospital or an ambulance to refer them.

For example, I have a family who in December lost their 36 year old mother to breast cancer, and their 6 year old daughter to kidney cancer. This is after chemo, radio and surgery for the last 3 years at all the best hospitals in Nairobi. The mother to the person who fixes my DSTV has cancer of the cervix stage 4. Was getting treated at AKUH but can not afford treatment any longer.

heart breaking:eek::eek:

And this is why this Cancer Fund bill is necessary for the Public. By the way, MP’s-senators-governors-mca’s-executive are covered by their own insurance. They don’t need this. This is for the general public.

How exactlt is HIV treatment paid for? Coz it looks to me like the one area serikali has a good grip on

I thought that is was NHIF is about…individuals with valid NHIF barely spend anything on communicable illnesses like malaria and pneumonia. Secondly these are diseases that can be handled effectively through primary prevention. Let the cancer fund be.its about time

The government of Kenya foots less than 20% of the total bill. Foreign donors(USAID, WHO, UN etc) foot most of the bill for HIV/AIDS related stuff. I.e. awareness, treatment(ARVs), diagnosis etc. Though there was a weak petition to pull out funding of the same due to the increasing reported fortunes of our economy.