Witnessed the signing of a deal to deliver 100,000 affordable housing units to Kenyans financed through a partnership between the Kenya Government and the United Nations Office for Project Services (UNOPS). I’m confident my administration will be able to deliver on our housing commitment without putting undue pressure on the exchequer. We are focusing on financing and investment frameworks that will unlock private sector financing for this program and we believe that we will be able to utilize our labour and create 3 to 5 direct jobs and up to 8 indirect jobs per unit we build.
[ATTACH=full]196614[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]196615[/ATTACH]
itumbi tunataka developments za mrembo alikuwacha akaenda akamuliewangwe na ule msee mwingine, wos happenin?
[SIZE=1][SIZE=2] lakini pole kwa msiba bro, take heart, bishes aint shit, yaani u love a bish mpaka unampelea keki kwa studio on live tv mpaka unaimba naku dance hadi unapiga makofi alafu anakuwacha tu. dust yourself brathe, mungu atakubariki n mwingine mrembo saidii[/SIZE][/SIZE]
Affordable housing ilikua ya slum upgrade ama ya kila mkenya mwenye haezi afford 5m+ apartments along Gitanga Rd?
Does that mean if I live in some shack in my inherited 20x40 in Gilgil I’ll never own a decent house because affordable housing means slum upgrade? What is this stupid sham you’re trying to sell to us?
Look, what Kenyans like me understood when you said “affordable housing” is housing that anyone can afford. Something like prefab structures subsidized by the government and paid by me kwa malipo ya pole pole.
Ama nitoke Gilgil nikuje niishi slum ndo mnihonge na nyumba 2022?
[ATTACH=full]196617[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]196618[/ATTACH]
A guy promises you a 18k laptop fails to deliver now he is promising you a house of 2.5m…
Who is the foolish person here?
There is affordable housing and social housing. This is social housing which is targeted at slum upgrades and that is why UN is involved and taking the lead. Its targeting all the slums in Nairobi. Kibera, Jua Kali, Mahira, Huruma Ex-Grogon, Kahonoki, Kiamutisya, Baba Dogo Kasabuni, Baba Dogo Kariadudu, Gathecha Lucky Summer, Glucola Lucky Summer, Korogocho, Ngunyumu, Muriambogo, and Kabiria.
The UN habitat and Ministry of housing will now undertake a biometric register of all slum structures and people living in them. They will capture their names, details, finger prints, and eye retina and allocate each family a unit. The unit allocated are not transferable, should you not take it up or leave the area, it returns back for reallocation. The units will not be rented out, should that be discovered then the occupants will be evicted and unit reallocated. They slums will be mapped out into zones and grids. They will be moved to a temporary shelter and the slum structures demolished. The build will be tall high rise apartments so that a lot of green spaces for recreation and green parks be made possible. All social structures like shops, hospitals, schools, rescue shelters, police etc will be incorporated in the project. The UN habitat will take the lead to remove the doubt of collusion.
Me.
Boooo! STFU.
Wow.
But then, what was signed was
Umetuangalia hivi ukaona we cannot decipher kizungu mingi, sindio? How can the above quote reconcile with this one?
[ATTACH=full]196628[/ATTACH]
Just watch this space, President Uhuru will end slums in Nairobi first then counties through social housing. Thanks to PS Housing Hinga, wide consultations in the industry local and abroad will make this work despite government providing land only. The build will use prefab technology to put up the structures quickly and on schedule. Chinese and South Korea firms who built even more challenging projects in the last decade will do the same here.
Affordable housing will start in Ngara, Pangani, Syokimau, Race course etc in former county housing projects that have been run down. Those contracts were already tendered and awarded in 2016. Ten local firm including local banks in partnership with foreign firms won them. They will build the structures with their own finances in two format. 70% affordable housing where Ministry of Housing will formulate how its allocated. 30% of the units will be high end housing for the investor who will sell at market prices to recoup his investment and ROI. The government will only lease the land for 99 years. Land costs is usually 30-40% of the cost of real estate development. Therefore government contribution of providing a 99 year lease is adequate. On affordable housing the first 100,000 units will be taken up by national and country government employees. Public Service Commission will take them up on their behalf. This will finally end the civil service housing needs at national and counties. From civil servants to police, prisons officers, KFS officers, KWS, parastatals employees etc. The amount allocated as housing allowance will just be offset in one stroke of a pen saving Treasury a lot of finances. Once all national and civil servants, teachers, nurses, doctors etc on payrolls are housed then on the next phase citizens can now get units if the apply on the national housing scheme.
This has been proposed in decade around the world and those who choose to implement them like the US in York, fail terribly. They are famously known as the projects where social ill thrived most and they dilapidated to oblivion.
Its never a case of housing the poor but rather uplifting the socio economic statues to be able to afford the basic humans need in a thriving economy. All else will follow suit n the private sector will meet the deficiency in housing.
What an elaborate way of telling mwananchi wa kawaida to go f himself.
I’m sure the current slum residents will agree with you once its done. Their current lives is just peach. :D:D
You are one gay SOB kahuhu…saitaaan!!
Most logical question to ask yourself is, these people being kicked out of the slums, where will they go. From the description of things, these houses are not for them.
Hii mambo ya slum italeta shida sana, how will the government demolish structures that are on ‘private’ land without the court objecting?
Well, we usually expect critics to say otherwise and complain while doers build. Housing isn’t instant tea. You start with the most in need and venerable. Since independence we haven’t adequately provided civil servants and officers with good, proper and adequate housing that’s where affordable housing comes in. This how we solve that issue once and for all. Since they are already know, in the system, easily verifiable and paying for the same then let’s start with them. Its builds confidence, momentum and trust in this affordable housing program. After five years we can now start targeting low middle-class areas of pipeline etc and so forth until its done. @KaBuda once said something very important here. How you treat the poor in the society shows how you can be defined as a society. Slum upgrade will correspond with social and economic uplift of a million people in Nairobi. National government has said water will be free, the contractors are to instal solar panels to provide free overhead lighting in the houses and compound. Only the sockets will be linked to a pre-paid meter where tenants will buy units. They will have good schools, hospital, green spaces and shops. For only 1000 rent a month that’s very fair. Social housing projects will be nonprofit. Government will not expect a ROI. The 1 billion rental income will be to maintain the structures and pay back the UN. Over the next 25 years. 30% of the land is to be allocated to investors to build manufacturing plants for jobs. Even 10,000 jobs will change everyone lives there since it creates another 10,000 jobs on the supply chain and 20000 jobs on service sector.
Asante sana…this is the problem that has been ailing Africa miaka nenda miaka rudi…mtu atakula prefabricated building materials? Ama ndizo atavaa?
Improve the economy and infrastructure and minimize theft of public funds and people will sort themselves out…