Sassy Citizen TV host Joey Muthengi has quit her job at Royal Media Services.
The host of ‘ Day Break’ and ‘ 10 over 10′ handed in her resignation on Wednesday after she was summoned for disciplinary action.
A source told Nairobi News that the former rapper ambushed the team, which comprised of four directors, with a one-week notice.
BETTING ADVERTISEMENT
Trouble for Muthengi started when she did an advertisement with betting company Betin yet RMS has its own, Shabiki.
“The thinking was that she is a Citizen TV brand and should not be promoting a rival company,” explained another source, who requested anonymity because he is not allowed to speak to the media.
The presenter was recently welcomed as Betin brand ambassador after signing a deal that reportedly earned her a six-figure amount.
Earlier in the year, she spent time in Italy shooting adverts with Kenyan footballer McDonald Mariga.
The ads have been running on local and continental TV stations. Muthengi is reportedly leaving soon to Italy for another shoot, our source adds.
Mariga signed a reported Sh8 million year-long deal with Betin in 2017 to feature in the firm’s adverts.
HUSBAND AND WIFE ROLES
In Betin’s latest TV advert, Mariga and Muthengi play the roles of husband and wife. Mariga is continuously distracted by his phone even as Muthengi continuously yearns for his attention.
Visibly disappointed, Muthengi grabs Mariga’s phone to have a look at what is distracting him, only to be met by news that he has won a Sh1 million jackpot.
Muthengi is a media personality and actress and her entry into the Kenyan media industry came through being a radio personality on 98.4 Capital FM from 2009-2013 where she hosted and produced the wildly popular youth show ‘ Hits Not Homework’ .
In June 2016 to Present, she is part of the new re-branded ‘ Power Breakfast’ show where she now co-hosts the daily show with Fred Indimuli and Willis Raburu.
vitu zingine huwa tu upuss. Kwani they have a clause in their contract that says they have to promote RMS’ betting company?
Acha aende. You will never progress if you look behind your shoulder. Who knows maybe better doors lie ahead.
probably conflict of interest?
$80,000 i think ni peanuts kwa uyu mzito for a whole year…he should have negotiated for more
.mimi sijaiweza kueka ‘Hits not homework’ na jina ingine kwa sentence moja isipokuwa Eve D’Souza…mi hushindwa tu…those days ungelenga homework cha ukweli
Obviously shittyzen wasn’t paying her enough if she resigned so fast. Sasa mtu akiwafanyia kazi asikuwe na side projects? That’s bullshyet mayyyyne.
I will miss her forehead
I’m a huge fan of Mansaimo na Kata radio show (Inooro FM 5pm- 7pm) because they see the funny side of everything while informing us what’s going on. [SIZE=1]If someone from Inooro is reading this, can you please get rid of that show that airs just before Mansaimo na Kata show starts? The hosts are too boring. [/SIZE]But I don’t enjoy their shabiki ads. I suffer through them every 5 minutes because those ads pay for that show.
being a kind of a startup most likely kuna shares. pia Joey must be having some shares. otherwise hange ambia hao wazee waende wakajipunyeto that fast.
ION, that kids show on Friday nights was not doing her justice. that’s stuff she left behind at HNH. aachie Raburu who seems to have refused to grow up
@Yunomi ondoa ugichagi hapa
I’m assuming she did this to avoid getting fired. She chose to act first.
Listen to that show and then tell me what you think
Small money
Would the owner of Kenyatalk be okay with @Mundu Mulosi linking a rival website in every other post?
I once saw an article some time back about how Ronaldo/Ronaldinho (can’t recall who exactly) lost his deal with Pepsi coz in one of his many press conferences, there was a can of coke on the table he was using. Maybe they don’t explicitly say it in their contracts nor do we, as consumers, see the big deal from our angle, but it seems like these companies do take this “image” right very seriously.
[ATTACH=full]206842[/ATTACH]
Naikuni fired a guy for wearinf an Emirates Arsenal jersey late in the night during a retreat but after ofdicial duty, kwanza alimlima kofi
She propably has something else already lined up… Won’t be surprised if she’s announced as the new Betin head of marketing.
Joey does not work for Shabiki, she works for Citizen Tv. Assuming the owner of Ktalk had a different site which was let’s say is a blockchain exchange site then Mundu Mulosi who only works on the ktalk site promotes Bitpesa, assuming I was the owner I would have no problem with that because they are 2 separate entities and not related in any way. Would only have a problem if he promoted a similar forum to ktalk and is based in Kenya, but a different site project which he does not even work for sioni shida