It’s now just comical…..waiguru, sh8,700 ball point pens and almost 1 million antivirus software

Seriously, is this all a joke or what? But i just love the 8, 700 shillings ball point pen.

Devolution Cabinet Secretary Anne Waiguru is in a spot after fresh revelations that her ministry could have lost up to Sh11 billion due to inflated costs.

The expenses were discovered Tuesday as the Parliamentary Accounts Committee scrutinized the ministry’s thick file of replies to the queries raised in the Auditor-General’s report on the government’s accounts for the 2013/2014 financial year.

The Auditor-General had queried the ministry’s failure to spend the Sh11 billion it had budgeted for in the 2013/2014 financial year.

It had spent Sh8 billion but had not provided payment vouchers and a register of assets.

Here are some of the curious spends by the ministry:

1.Supply and installation of a touch screen in her office at a cost of Sh1.798 million.

2.Computers, a printer, telephone headsets and a water dispenser at a combined cost of Sh1.4 million.

3.Huduma Kenya Secretariat paid Sh174,000 for 20 blue, fine-tipped ball point pens, meaning each was bought at Sh8,700.

4.Bought a photocopier machine at Sh1.4 million.

5.45 external hard disks at Sh11,102 each.

6.A laptop bought for Sh206,000.

7.18 tailor-made clear male and female condom dispensers at Sh25,000 each.

8.Corel Draw software for Sh3.4 million.

9.A computer and personal laptop for Sh1.1 million.

10.Carpets at Sh3.8 million.

11.Anti-virus software that can be bought at Sh75,000 in the open market but supplied to the ministry at Sh973,780

12.Adobe In Design CS6 software at Sh1.9 million while it can be bought at Sh160,000.

13.The directorate also bought a Yamaha Piano for office use at Sh235,500.

14.In one case, the ministry bought one shredder for Sh64,750 and on the same day bought three others for Sh930,000, meaning it paid more than four times the cost of one for the second lot.

15.In November 2013, the Huduma Kenya Secretariat paid Sh242,500 for 100 4GB flash disks, meaning it paid Sh2,425 for a flash disk that ordinarily costs Sh500 on the open market

This is serious looting, wtf!

kama ni ukweli,huyu sweetie aende awe ceo wa brookside

25 Likes

its now clear this ministry and NYS were purposefully created to provide slush funds, if this ministry is like this, I’d dread to go thru. ministries with confidential budgets e.g internal security and defence

Waiguru akitolewa sahii voters watasahau maovu ya Jumbiree. Wacha abaki.

I wish I was the supplier

Waiguru akitolewa sahii voters watasahau maovu ya Jumbiree. Wacha abaki.

So that they continue shafting us nice and proper or what the ferk for?

Unless you’re very lucky/connected. What happens is that most of govt suppliers are well connected or in some cases actually own the companies jointly but secretly with those who call the shots in these ministries.

What hurts me most is that i had a lot of faith in Waiguru when she was appointed and in fact she projected the image of a no nonsense manager with the zeal to perform.
I am still to be convinced that this is taking place under her watch.

Hii antivirus ya 75k ni gani yawa? Bought Bitdefender Total security at 1500 na ilikuwa ya licence tatu… Na hii laptop ya 1m si @Cypher254 tunaweza chezea Shadow of Mordow at Max settings

The problem here is that there is little hope ahead because even if CORD had won, it would just be the same robbery only that the waiguru would now be an Akinyi.

Yet, what makes it even more tragic is that as 2017 nears, there will be political realignment and the same monkeys will create euphoria, Kenyans, as usual will surrender their minds to these euphoric BS, and the same leaders will be back. Plus, I am sensing if people aren’t careful, there will be chaos in 2017 ….what with the kind of BS that these ‘leaders’ are preaching.

Come 2017 and if there will be no strong third force made up of fresh faces , I will spend the election day sleeping or whiling my time in a pub.

I am not under any illusion that a third force is the solution but even if such a force wont deliver, at least we will boast of having brand new thieves.

17 Likes

si hata mimi anipatie order ya kupeleka nyama nys

believe you me you can supply 1kg @ 8k

kweli hata kaspersky 3+1 user ni around 2500 hii ya 75k ni gani, biro pen ya 8k wallahi. kwani hio mdio huchora kenyatta ama moi kwa pesa??

@karl marx right now Kuna Thirdway Alliance kama alternative.

No wonder kuna Aston Martin zina piga lap…

These massive lootings happens in almost all govt. ministries only that hizo zenye Waiguru amesimamia zimemulikwa sana. They should mulika ministry zote and anyone found to have been involved in fraudulent transactions should be sacked and jailed. Maybe they are sensing this is a one term govt. hence the massive looting bila huruma.

please tell us more…

Tsk Tsk. This is serious looting. Anyone can see these figures are ludicrous. Those thieves take us for buffoons with unabashed shamelessness. Hawaogopi, na wanajua common mwananchi kazi yake ni kufuata tribal head. I wonder if in 2017 Kenyans will vote as usual without desire for urgent change.