The NASA technical committee has settled on ODM leader Raila Odinga as the presidential candidate and Wiper’s Kalonzo Musyoka as his running mate.
The final decision will however be
made by the four principals, Raila,
Kalonzo, Moses Wetang’ula and
Musalia Mudavadi by consensus.
The principals are expected to meet this afternoon after talks with officials of the Independent Election and Boundaries Commission.
If the four accept the technical
committee’s proposal, the joint
Opposition ticket will be a rematch of the 2013 election, which Jubilee’s Uhuru Kenyatta won handily.
NASA’s National Coordinating
Committee made its decision on
Tuesday, after 60 days of tense
negotiations.
“We are now done. We sat until
12am on Tuesday. But we are happy about our report,” said a member of the committee who sought anonymity because of the sensitivity of the matter.
The committee included economist Dr David Ndii, Nairobi University professor Dr Adams Oloo, Kabarak University law professor Elisha Ongoya, former member of the now- defunct Constitution of Kenya Review
Commission Abubakar Zein and ex- Mumias Sugar Company chairman Dan Ameyo.
The 12-member team was due to
meet the principals last evening to formally present the report, which the four will study.
“We have not seen any report and it will be premature for anyone to make that announcement,” said a source close to Mudavadi.
The principals are expected to
publicly sign the historic agreement at a major political rally in Nairobi’s Uhuru Park grounds on the weekend
of April 15-16.
The report also outlines the
composition and structure of a NASA government should the opposition win the August 8 polls.
Proposes chief minister
Part of the proposals is to create the position of a chief minister,
equivalent to the powerful position of Prime Minister, who will be a first among equals in the NASA Cabinet.
The position, to be occupied by
Mudavadi, will have sweeping powers to whip the Cabinet and will have an expanded mandate to supervise and coordinate government business.
The creation of this position would however neutralise the current powerful position of the National Assembly Majority Leader held by Garissa Township MP Aden Duale.
The principals, however, have created the leeway to adopt the report the way it is, or introduce amendments that will inform the preelection coalition agreement.
http://www.the-star.co.ke/news/2017/04/06/it-is-raila-kalonzo-for-nasa-ticket-technical-panel-decides_c1538762
RWNBP
RAO na mpira…Wacha ningoje maoni ya uthamaki brigade [ATTACH=full]92497[/ATTACH]
ile game ya chelsea imeisha aje
ka-Wiper hakatakubali.
Prime - Minister position creates more powerful than a VP. Or rendering a VP an empty figurehead. Will never happen .
Heheeeheee
Yeap, that’s a pipe dream. The kwesson now is, what to do with Wetangula and Mudamba?
State House bondo, Here comes the monkey seller carrying the ref, nusu mkate pap
That ball is unproportional.
Honestly, is this news? WE KNEW IT WAS GOING TO BE RAILA IN 1900.
I watched Kalonzo on Citizen last evening and the guy has an ace up his sleeve. I think one of his cronies has already registered Nasa as a political party or something like that (which would explain why he says he’ll never leave), or he knows something that we don’t. BUT THE GUY IS GONNA BE ON THE BALLOT FOR THE PRESIDENCY.
But if they maintain that it is Raila, JP will win Eastern by 8.30am - apathy ya Wakamba will be unprecedented, and many will just vote for Uhuruto.
Dont be so sure that Raila will run. He has given hints in the past that he may not. He is a lot smarter than everybody thinks. The more the delay, the higher the chances that he wont run. I think there is a huge standoff behind the scenes. There is no way Kalonzo will be 3rd to MDVD. No way MDVD will be 3rd to Kalonzo. And there is no way NASA wins without all 3. Go figure.
There is a chance of winning if Western forms a united front. The history is not good but there is a chance. And Coast turns out bigger than last time ( thanks to hunting Joho). If so, UK better plan to rig ( Awtoli).
I know I am biased but I see no way Nasa can win. For one, the hardline stances (‘ni mtu wetu ama there’s no Nasa’) of the four just four months to the elections means that whoever is chosen will spark apathy in the fold of the others. Ther’ll be no time to recover. If Kalonzo takes it you can be sure people in Western and Luo Nyanza will stay at home. If Raila takes it, Kambas will either abstain or go JP especially in areas such as Mayakos (you can already see my in-law @kingolonde and the likes of @Soprano and @Some Say here). The only way to energise Western is for Kalonzo and Raila to back Mudavadi, but their own bases will collapse.
If I was in Nasa, I would suggest a very radical thing; a collegiate presidency through an unknown quantity. Wachukue mtu kama Mukhisa and they all back him.
But then I remember the passing cloud that was Moi.
wtf did I just read. what a congregation of losers
Not exactly. See if they all agree on one candidate, they can send Mdvd and Weta to camp in Western for 4 months and not allow them to Nbi. Send them their women there if they must. Have them relentlessly campaign and put a united front. Show the ills of Jubilee plus add propaganda…Panpaper failure, Mumias, etc. MDVDs 500K s votes ensures a run-off. Then last time Jubilee gathered 35% votes in this region. This time somehow reduce it to 10%. Coast voters did not show up as expected 2013. This time use Joho hunting to unite them to show up. Advantage here is that they are mostly NASA voters. These two areas are the key. If you can get other areas eg Kisii to improve, thats extra credit. Plus focus on 1 ill of Jubilee. Corruption. Let it ring on peoples minds everyday. The game will shift to a late charge by NASA.
I think you are being overly optimistic. The way I see it - and I admit I am biased - hii kitu Nasa hawawezi.
Yes I am. But you never know.
If Kalonzo Musyoka is not the NASA flag bearer…aki ya ngaa!!!..ni Uhuru. I have heard such kind of statements from Kamba stronghold bus stations and pubs
?
Boss i thought western was already united in Nasa because Wetas Votes+ Madvds votes and the ones who dont vote for the two will vote for Rao. The challenge is keeping nasa intact and if they do western is locked other than some bukusu who will vote jubilee no matter what.