Islamophobia

https://sinclairdesk.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/07/pexels-monstera-5996991-scaled.jpg
Occupying a terrain covered by objective poverty in addition to being a second-class citizen is a horror faced by the Muslim community in Kenya. This comes after the Kenyan cabinet secretary for education, Professor George Magoha was on record profiling a Muslim journalist for NTV who was wearing a hijab. Professor Magoha said, “First, where are you from (speaking directly to the journalist)” to which the journalist replied, “Nairobi.” Magoha proceeded to say, “Who are you representing, because if you are representing the Al-Shabaab I will not answer you.” He said this while scrutinizing her, looking at her in her hijab.”

[ATTACH=full]453655[/ATTACH]
Professor George Magoha, seen here looking at the journalist before making the Islamophobic comments

Magoha has faced backlash from many Kenyans on his remarks. Most importantly, the Muslim community has raised complaints over the issue. Muslim leaders in Kenya issued a statement calling for his resignation. As well, Garissa Township Member of Parliament, Aden Duale condemned the issue and called for his resignation as well.

This comes a few days after Azimio la Umoja presidential candidate, Raila Odinga, had a meeting with Muslim women in Kenya where issues like profiling and bigotry were raised. Mr. Odinga promised to deal with the profiling of young Muslim men and women in this country who are discriminated against in the issuing of identity cards. Muslims are often told to give their fathers and grandfathers ID to prove that they are Kenyans.
According to the 2019 Census, 85% of Kenyans are Christians and 11% are Muslims. The Kenyan constitution clearly states that Kenya is a secular country where there is no state religion or religious discrimination. However, that is not the reality. The vast Christian majority results in a Christian majority in politics.

Isamophobia has been a thing in the country for a long time. However, what has been here longer than Isamophobia is Islam. Islam came to Kenya before Christianity and colonization. Nobody was forced into Islam as it was done in Christianity. Traders exchanged cultures in the African east coast. This cultural exchange resulted in locals converting into Islam before the 15th century. From the 15th to 19th century, long-distance traders spread Islam to the mainland. However, it remained dominant in the coast and with the Cushite communities of Kenya, especially the Somali. Even as of now, people confuse Islam with Somali. One is a religion one is a group of people.

Islamophobia grew in the entire world after the 9/11 attacks on the United States. These attacks prompted action in many countries and led to an unfair brutal invasion of Ukraine by then president of the US, George W. Bush. Bush goes down with a record of about 1 million. Far from Stalin and Hitler, I don’t think so.

Kenya enacted a few laws after the 9/11. However, that was not the turning point yet. In 2011, Kenya went to an offensive mission against the Al-Shabaab group in Somalia, a group that paid allegiance to Al-Qaeda. In the offensive, they managed to recover the city of Kismayu.

As a form of retreat, the Al-Shabaab attacked the Westgate Mall in 2013, killing 60 individuals. This event was a shock to Kenyans and was, according to Ayisha Kajee, like 9/11 to Kenya. The then Jubilee government did a lot of profiling of Somali and Muslim people in reaction to the attack. There has been more profiling and wrongful arrests.
Kenya thrives on the shoulders of giants. However, a lack of egalitarianism is the beginning of the end. One of my most unpopular statements of all time is that Christianity has, as a religion, resulted in the development of a critical theory (a false one) among its believers whose ultimate result is bigotry. The premise of salvation through Christ alone makes most Christians view themselves as betters to Muslims. I am skeptic of all religions. However, I must point out that most of the bigotry I have seen around the world is from Christians. From Crusades to the KKK to what is now called the Republican Party in the USA.

What is the solution to all this? If Kenya wants to survive as a liberal democracy, it is time to distant ourselves from leaders who have indicated that they are more likely to show bigotry. A secular country needs a secular president. Far-right Christians are the enemy of a thriving democracy. Far-right anything (Muslims, Hindus, Buddhists) promote Bigotry. Look at the state of Israel, or Modi of India. This is an election season. Kenya would do right with leaders in blue.

https://sinclairdesk.com/2022/07/27/hated-and-profiled-the-kenyan-muslim/

Hahahahaa black muslims are a joke. Wannabe sand niggas always tryna squeeze themselves in kwa dini ya wenyewe. Hell, even allah thinks they’re trash.

You a black Christian?

Nah, am 100% Atheist

Correction: 200

I think asking for the Grandparents ID is prudent and very wise.

[ATTACH=full]453656[/ATTACH]

They are not a joke in the sense of being pushovers. This writer chooses his words very carefully, it’s almost scary if you understand all the hidden motives. For example, he says, “In 2011, Kenya went to an offensive mission against the Al-Shabaab group in Somalia.” To an unsuspecting eye it sounds like a credible claim until you realize he’s making a justification for Westgate. That is called defensive jihad, which is grounded in Islamic theology. At some point in future, ji’had turns from defensive to offensive. He’s also low key supporting Raila because Ruto … and “Christian bigotry.” The author’s false claim of Islamophobia is about limiting freedom of speech and making the reader feel shamed into sharia compliance.

https://thumbs.gfycat.com/DarlingRevolvingFlea-size_restricted.gif

It’s better to have a far right Christian, Buddhist or anything but not far right Islam or Muslim. Even the moderate Muslim has very radical views bordering on killing those not belonging to his faith.

I think Islam in Africa should be banned.

Abdilahi tombwa matako na @PHARMACY

True

It’s too late now. It has infected a large part of the continent and is almost at par with Christianity.

there is only one islam.

hii ingine ya moderate na radical sijui mnatoanga wapi.

You can’t really blame them. They are basically mujahideens taking their positions scripturally. These things have to happen bro…. although most people are totally unaware. When I raise these issues I’m called “delusional.” We shall soon see who is delusional. Mtachinjwa kama kuku. I will not be here.

:D:D jana kwanza I watched a Christian propaganda movie inaitwa Left Behind. Pilot alibebwa rapture kwa ndege passengers wakawachwa.

You’re a black atheist?

What a joke. Hiyo ni concept ya wenyewe.

You need to be a traditionalist believing in witchcraft, night runners

Lol

If people really understood the plight of minority communities in Arab/Muslim countries, they would tame the spread.

Sometimes when Muslims complain about the Uyghur Muslims in China, I wonder whether they consider what they do to similar communities in their midst.