Sure most of the population is poor, but I feel like it’s a step above places like Angola, Libya, Iraq, Congo, Pakistan, some South American shitholes etc.
Kama ukona doh, Kenya can be just as accommodating and comfortable as any 2nd world country. Same cannot be said about most 3rd worlds like the ones I mentioned.
If Kenya cannot qualify as 2nd world, then I strongly believe there should be a 4th world tier.
We are definitely a third world country. Juzi niliona watu wakisema kwa news hakuna madawa kwa hospitals. Peasants still share beds in public hospitals too. So yeah…Kenya is still a third world country. To make proper judgment, look at how the bottom 10% are doing, not the top 10%. A herd is only as fast as the slowest sheep.
When assessing human development, don’t use the people in Runda because they are not a representative sample. Instead, use the people in Githurai 45. That’s the population segment that represents Kenya and that’s why politicians go there for maximum votes. You will never find a politician campaigning in Runda/Muthaiga/Karen because the population is tiny and too intelligent to buy into their bullshiett. So yeah, if you want to know how Kenya is doing, ask the average Githurai 45 resident.
It takes $2.2 million to be considered wealthy in the USA.
There are two types of problems; problems that $2.2 million can solve and those that $2.2 million can’t solve.
If the roads are bad, your $2.2 million can’t solve that problem. If there are no hospitals due to insecurity etc, $2.2 million won’t solve that problem. Same goes for piped water etc.
If public hospitals are crap, but there are decent private hospitals, $2.2 million can solve that problem. Same goes for schools etc.
A person in Kenya with $2.2 million lives in a first world country. Why? All problems that cant be solved using his money have been solved by the government e.g roads, security, and reliable electricity. All problems that the government hasn’t solved he can afford to buy them privately e.g healthcare.
Poor people are in a third world country because they cant afford to solve privately the problems that the government hasn’t solved. If a poor person gets sick, he has to queue for ages at a filthy government hospital without drugs and he will potentially share a bed with another sick person.
That’s why I think Kenya is a first world or third world country depending on how much wealth you have. All the problems that would have reminded a wealthy person that he is in a third world country have been solved e.g rough roads, no internet, no piped water, no electricity.
Think about a general in South Sudan or Warlord in Somalia. $2.2 million can’ t buy them out of that mess. That’s why they all bring their families here.
Vile @Condor amesema hapo juu…Tembea Kenya kwa ground…This country is a shithole banae…Umetembelea public hospitals kama mama Lucy kibaki?? Women wakitolewa surgery room kuzaa wanashare bed ya 3by6 watu wanne plus their babies na hiyo pain yote ya CS…Tembea nani
Actually even the people in the slums enjoy many of these conveniences, only at a different level. I am a slumlord somewhere inherited, and I often have to visit.
They have some sort of electricity, water taps where they buy water, private and NGO clinics that charge as little as 100 for encounters with quite good doctors e.t.c.
Most of the slums nowadays also have cabro, so you don’t wade through mud.
In fact, only security is an issue: though even this tends to be tolerable (thanks to local ‘team building’ threats etc) until after 10 pm…
Those with businesses are able to make some sort of comfortable living. Unapata msee ana-make 700 per day, 21k per month, yet rent is only 1500, and there is cheap food around, including scavenged vegetables that cost as little as 20 bob for a tonne.
It is not paradise though, but compared to how we lived in the 80s and 90s, I think we have made some strides.
But for people who work as casual laborers (without their own businesses), the fully jobless ones, or those employed at muhindi places for as little as 7k per month, the going can indeed be quite tough. Still they get to enjoy some conveniences, and there are jobs that many of them won’t accept.
Nonetheless, what remains to make Kenya a non 3rd world country is some sort of social welfare scheme. I know you are mean people, and any idea of giving anyone anything for free apals you, but it is really necessary for some. Beyond the slums, kuna place unaendage unapata wasee wanalala nje. There are people who still eat from bins. e.t.c. If (and I am not supporting Raila, even ruto should consider this) we were to give the poorest 2 million households 6k each, and if each of the households has an average of 5 people, we would have pulled the poorest 10m (20%, pareto principle) out of starvation-level poverty. 6k for 2m people is only 12b per month, 144b per year. A small thing, in a nation running 3.3 trilion shilling budgets.
do you know what it costs to put up those buildings? do you know that without those single room units, those people would have to be living in mabati shanties? do you know that many nations would do anything to have such units for their people?
Life in kenya is becoming good. But we need interventions like soup kitchens for the poorest of the poor [someone is already running a massive one at mombasa at kibarani], homeless shelters, big-scale rehabs e.t.c. Otherwise for the poorest 10%, Kenya is a 4th world country.
The problem is not so much about the buildings, but lack of proper planning.
Hiyo neighborhood utapata hakuna sewer system. Caretaker anangoja rain season afungulie sewage kwa neighborhood kama iko mixed na maji.
Nguo naona wanaanika kwa balcony ukitembea hapo chini unamwagiwa maji. Barabara imejaa matope. Taka taka utapata inatupwa everywhere.
Hakuna street lights.
In fact, hizo buildings zinakaa kama zinaeza collapse. Na sio ati landlord amekosa pesa ya kujenga nyumba decent but ni venye kila bonobo anapenda kutumia shortcuts.
I’ve traveled a lot and the most obvious difference between a developed country and a 3rd world country like Kenya all comes down to planning.